Sign in

Publishers Clearing House Imposter

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Publishers Clearing House Imposter? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Publishers Clearing House Imposter Reports & Reviews (132)

• Jul 31, 2020

Victim Location 99709
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

The scammer acts like they know you, offer their name (like this is "David, and I know you"), then asks Didn't you know you won in "Publisher's Clearinghouse?" to get you talking and give them information.

• Jul 30, 2020

Victim Location 53225
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Phone call was at 11:46 on July 28. ID of call was Out of Area. The man identified himself as Dave Fyers, and he had a heavy accent. He gave a phone number of 716-630-9198. My 81 year old husband has faithfully sent in the multiple Publishers Clearing House envelopes for years. He received this call telling him he was won 2 million dollars. I only noticed the call because I heard him arguing with the caller. The man told him in order to receive his money he had to send $878.00 and then the prize money would be released. My husband said he would only believe he had won if he was sent a letter. The caller insisted over and over his call was approved by the BBB. I'm amazed my husband stayed on the line with the caller as long as he did. He only hung up once I found out who was calling. I am worried someone more vulnerable will be conned into sending the money. 

• Jul 16, 2020

Victim Location 99006
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

This man claims he is from publisher's clearinging house. He called from two different numbers first one is known AS a scamming number 876-312-9168

Then they called from fremont CA # after being confronted that they were calling from a scamers number. The # is 510-456-0761

They would NOT send a email proving who they were to my email. My grandma is 88 years old .

• Jul 14, 2020

Victim Location 53005
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Received a call from Robert Livingston that I was a 2nd place winner in a Publishers Clearing House sweepstakes. He left a return #. I called him back. He told me I won $2.5 million and a 2020 C class Mercedes. He offered me 3 color choices. He told me my claim number. He asked if I wanted my delivery to be public ( would include TV and radio) or private delivery. He asked questions about my citizenship. He asked the amount in my savings and checking( which I did not give him.) He continually reassured me that this was not a scam. When I asked him for a way to verify what he was telling me, he gave me the following information:

PCH 929-280-2973. Speak with "Dave Sayers" the supposed prize patrol person. At the end he told me there would be a $2500 delivery fee that would be returned to me after the delivery.

• Jun 16, 2020

Victim Location 96813
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Consumer reports having received phone call from 876-353-3144 indicating they were the Publishers Clearing House

• May 29, 2020

Victim Location 53508
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Isaac Miller was the guys name who called me to say I had won 11.8 million dollars and a Mercedes Benz. I would need to pay 3,500.00 to claim my prize. I should meet them at the nearest Walmart to give them the certified money order and then we would go to my bank with the prize check, then continue on to the Mercedes Benz dealer to pick out the car.

• May 12, 2020

Victim Location 99026
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Individual has called me several times saying I won 5 1/2 million dollars and they would like to arrive at my home to present the award to me. They asked for banking information so they could wire the amount to my account. They said Bank of America but I told him we didn't bank with that bank. Asked for my e-mail address [I gave them no information, bank or e-mail] They have called many times I think on my land line and cell phone. They said they were representing Publishers Clearing House and were very convincing. I tried to call back the 876-392-0643 number and there was a male individual that answered on that number. As far as I can recollect I gave them no information but am concerned as to how they got my cell phone number and their calling several

times.

• Apr 30, 2020

Victim Location 53086
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I'm filling this report out for my grandma who doesn't use computers / email. She received a scam phone call stating that she won the Publishers Clearinghouse. The man had my grandma's name, address and phone number. He stated that she supposedly subscribed over 5 years ago and was recently chosen as a winner. It was suggested that she come up with a password / code so that nobody else could accept these winnings. My grandma persistantly told the man that she thought it was a scam and he reassured her that it wasn't. My grandma even told the man that her friend was scammed using a similar strategy in which the man continued to reassure her it was legitimate. One tactic that the man used was to build personal rapport through compliments. The man also wanted my grandma to purchase a $50 VISA gift card at Walmart, CVS or Walgreens. My granparents were supposed to purchase the gift card and would be exchanged for the first payment on the winnings. The man stated his name was Patrick Willson (702) 356-3930 - also offered the name of Charlene Wilson if you needed any questions.

• Apr 23, 2020

Victim Location 83706
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I received a phone call on my land line from a man identifying himself as Mr. Peter Mason from Publisher's Clearing house. He said that I had won 5.5 million dollars (5,000 per week for life) and a 2020 Mercedes car from my entry at Publisher's Clearing house. At first I hung up and then he called me back. I told him that I didn't feel this was official, but he assured me that it was. He asked if I would be home today to receive my prize. He had my address and, obviously, my phone number. He asked my marital status and if I was retired or employed. I answered those two questions but then he asked if I knew what a wire transfer was. At that point I stated that I was certain that this was a scam and I hung up.

• Apr 21, 2020

Victim Location 55303
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Received a letter and a check telling me that I had won second place in Publishers Clearing House Sweepstakes. The check looks real, and was made out for $5,950 supposedly for fees towards the $450,000 prize. We were to call them to claim the remaining amount. The postmark was from New York, NY on April 17th

• Apr 02, 2020

Victim Location 54155
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

They call and ask how old you are and have you call this number 202 241 0901 and his name is Micheal Benjamin and would like you to go to Walmart and purchase a one vanilla pre paid master card gray in color. Some guy calls you first then gives you this number so you call it and then get this pre paid card so they can give you a new car and 3.5 million dollars in a check. They will come to your house and deliver them. We called publishers clearing house and they said it was a scam we don’t call you we just show up.

• Mar 26, 2020

Victim Location 54138
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I received a phone call that I let go to voice mail.  in the message, the caller states I have won $11,000,000 and $5,000/week for life from publishers clearing house. Then said I must pay a 1% registration tax payment to Federal Trade Commission at 516-441-8845. I did not respond.

Caller ID as Frank Goodman @ 516-441-8845

• Mar 26, 2020

Victim Location 83709
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Received a call from someone who identified himself as David Parker and was calling from Publisher’s Clearing House to congratulate me on winning $5.5 million and $10,000 a week for life and a Mercedes Class C sedan. He asked if I wanted a public or private announcement of my winnings. I told him private, then he told me that they would take the taxes out of my winnings so I would need to contact their claims department to make the arrangements.

He gave me numbers for all the different phone information I would need to claim my prize. Then said I needed to call immediately and then call him back and left his number. I called ScamPulse.com and confirmed my suspicion that this was a scam.

• Mar 17, 2020

Victim Location 96789
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I received a letter containing check for $8897.50 with a telephone number to call Glen Smith. He said I was supposed to deposit the check and call him. He would then tell me how much the service fee I owed was to access my winnings. The check did not come from him, but the company he represented.

• Jan 10, 2020

Victim Location 99780
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

James McCarthy contacted me claiming he represented PCH and that I was the 2nd Place winner, with a prize of 2.5 million dollars, $5,000 a week for life, and a 2020 Mercedes, shell gas for a year, licensed and insured by AllState. He informed me I would need to pay processing fee of $499.32. After I would be issued a check from Bank of America, with a 32% income tax with the IRS. All I had to do was visit the post office and send a money order. I listened and told James it was the most put together scams I had ever heard, and the line went dead.

• Nov 28, 2019

Victim Location 54470
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

A man named "Mark Gold" called my cell phone and said I won $1.5 million and a new car. He said all I had to do is pay $55.00 for shipping & handling and then all I had to do is go to Walmart, buy gift card and send the money to wells fargo and then he would meet me at my home.

• Nov 16, 2019

Victim Location 67203
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I received a letter in the mail informing me that I had won 2nd prize in the Publishers Clearing House Sweepstakes for $450,000. With the first initial check along with the letter. But it made me suspicious because they did not want me to tell any 3 rd party until I contacted them. So I Googled Publishers Clearinghouse and found out that they do not send out letters to your door. They only show up at your door with flowers and the great big check. So if you get a letter claiming you won, Report it to the BBB.

• Oct 12, 2019

Victim Location 85234
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Received call from a John Cooper ID Badge #JC2525 who passed me to a Bob Chase stating I had won $785000 and $7000/wk for life

and that money would come from Bank of America (asked if I had an account with Bank of America)

In addition they said I won a 2019 Mercedes Benz Convertible which would be delivered to me via UPS Package Code 990085

When I said this sounded like a scam they hung up

• Oct 11, 2019

Victim Location 65791
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

"David Brown" called and said that I had won the publisher's clearing house contest. He called my wife's cell phone. And he texted that number too. He provided his badge number, a confirmation code, a tracking number, and a call back number. He went through the entire speech, 3.5 million dollars, I could pick out the type of Mercedes I wanted. He asked if I wanted the presentation to be public or private and he said it should private so no one would rob me.

• Sep 26, 2019

Victim Location 29340
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

“Carter Benjamin”called claiming to be from the confirmation office of the Publishers clearing house saying I won $2.8 million and a new Mercedes Benze. he said all I needed to pay was taxes. I needed to go to Walmart or a bank or something and get a gift card for $348 dollars and give him the number.

Check fields!

Report Publishers Clearing House Imposter


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Publishers Clearing House Imposter Contacts

If you know any contact information for Publishers Clearing House Imposter, help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New