Sign in

Publishers Clearing House Imposter

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Publishers Clearing House Imposter? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Publishers Clearing House Imposter Reports & Reviews (140)

• Sep 28, 2020

Victim Location 76306
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

A male identifying himself as David Goodman from Publisher's Clearing House called Saturday morning 8.26.2020 at 10:30. He told me I had won the PCH sweepstakes prize of 3.5 million dollars plus a 2020 Mercedes-Benz (pearl white). Prizes would be delivered to me either privately or if I chose, publicly with balloons and announcer on camera at 3:30 Saturday afternoon. [ I chose the publicity with balloons, lots of balloons. ]

Caller then informed me I would have to pay the taxes on my winnings before prizes could be awarded. He stated on that amount, taxes would be about $10,000 to $20,000. Caller told me to go to my bank and open a new account into which my winnings could be deposited in order for taxes to be withdrawn. He gave me a code number and a 4 digit PIN and told me to keep all of this to myself and not to tell anyone about it.

I told caller I would have to go to bank which closes at noon on Saturdays and it would take at least an hour to do that. Caller said " Go ahead and do that, I'll stay on the line until you return." I told the caller "no, you call me back in an hour." He agreed and I hung up.

Seven minutes later, David Goodman called again and asked if I had opened the new account yet. I just told him no, the bank was closed and it would not be open until Monday. Caller then told me he had to work on Sunday and he would check back with me then. I said that would be fine and we hung up.

No call on Sunday.

10:00 Monday morning, David Goodman called again and asked if I had opened the new account yet. I told him no because I needed a ride to bank. Caller called back 3 times after that but we did not answer.

• Sep 21, 2020

Victim Location 52002
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

David Howard from PCH called at 915 am confirmation number 771490882US

ID number 1137711045 US

Is this legit?

• Sep 14, 2020

Victim Location 76384
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I got a phone call saying that I won $2 Million dollars and a new car. They asked me to pay $95 to have the money shipped to me.

• Sep 14, 2020

Victim Location 81503
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Said my boyfriend won 5 million dollars and a new car

• Sep 14, 2020

Victim Location 76306
Total money lost $250
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I got a call from someone claiming to be with Publishers Clearing House saying I had won $2.5 Million and a brand new truck, I told them I didn't want it. He called me back several times and insisted it wasn't a scam. I called the number back to see if it was a valid number and the same guy picked up and said it was working number and I could trust him. He told me I needed to pay $1000 to get my prize, and I told him I couldn't pay that. He asked how much I could pay and I said $250. He told me he had a meeting and agreed that if I payed $250 and was serious about wanting the prize they would take it. I went to the store to buy the gift card he told me to, when the cashier scanned the gift card an alert popped up on the register that said ScamPulse.com was warning people about scams using cards like these, I told the guy one the phone, but he swore on this wife and kids that he was legitimate.

• Aug 31, 2020

Victim Location 76308
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

PCH called and said that I won a lot of money and when I told them I didnt enter anything and she said that if I shop at walmart, walgreen or target those are whe entered me and they wanted to deliver my prize but they needed my address and they gave me a phone number when I asked and it was too many numbers and when I asked where they were calling from and she said wichita falls and I would need to pay for the delivery $600

• Aug 15, 2020

Victim Location 81301
Total money lost $2,000
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

a man calls my aging father, sometimes claiming to be Bob, claiming that my father has won a cash prize from publishers clearinghouse. he tells him he needs to go to Wells Fargo Bank and send him $400 for him to deliver the prize. the last time my father fell for it, and the scammer managed to obtain my fathers bank account number and filched $2000 from his account.

the bank helped my father block the caller and changed their account, then notified publishers clearinghouse. the police were notified, as well as publishers clearing house, who obviously denied that they need to be paid to deliver a cash prize. that ended the calls for a while, though my father never recovered his money.

Now the man is calling again. we are concerned that my aged father is going to give away an account number. this time the scammer is calling from a number 876-512-5813, again claiming that my father won a prize and needs to send money so that he can bring my father his prize.

• Aug 03, 2020

Victim Location 76301
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I got a call from someone saying they were with Publishers Clearing House, and that I won $2 Million Dollars and a new car. I asked how I could get it, and I needed to pay $2,500 to get it.

• Jul 31, 2020

Victim Location 99709
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

The scammer acts like they know you, offer their name (like this is "David, and I know you"), then asks Didn't you know you won in "Publisher's Clearinghouse?" to get you talking and give them information.

• Jul 30, 2020

Victim Location 53225
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Phone call was at 11:46 on July 28. ID of call was Out of Area. The man identified himself as Dave Fyers, and he had a heavy accent. He gave a phone number of 716-630-9198. My 81 year old husband has faithfully sent in the multiple Publishers Clearing House envelopes for years. He received this call telling him he was won 2 million dollars. I only noticed the call because I heard him arguing with the caller. The man told him in order to receive his money he had to send $878.00 and then the prize money would be released. My husband said he would only believe he had won if he was sent a letter. The caller insisted over and over his call was approved by the BBB. I'm amazed my husband stayed on the line with the caller as long as he did. He only hung up once I found out who was calling. I am worried someone more vulnerable will be conned into sending the money. 

• Jul 16, 2020

Victim Location 99006
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

This man claims he is from publisher's clearinging house. He called from two different numbers first one is known AS a scamming number 876-312-9168

Then they called from fremont CA # after being confronted that they were calling from a scamers number. The # is 510-456-0761

They would NOT send a email proving who they were to my email. My grandma is 88 years old .

• Jul 14, 2020

Victim Location 53005
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Received a call from Robert Livingston that I was a 2nd place winner in a Publishers Clearing House sweepstakes. He left a return #. I called him back. He told me I won $2.5 million and a 2020 C class Mercedes. He offered me 3 color choices. He told me my claim number. He asked if I wanted my delivery to be public ( would include TV and radio) or private delivery. He asked questions about my citizenship. He asked the amount in my savings and checking( which I did not give him.) He continually reassured me that this was not a scam. When I asked him for a way to verify what he was telling me, he gave me the following information:

PCH 929-280-2973. Speak with "Dave Sayers" the supposed prize patrol person. At the end he told me there would be a $2500 delivery fee that would be returned to me after the delivery.

• Jun 16, 2020

Victim Location 96813
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Consumer reports having received phone call from 876-353-3144 indicating they were the Publishers Clearing House

• May 29, 2020

Victim Location 53508
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Isaac Miller was the guys name who called me to say I had won 11.8 million dollars and a Mercedes Benz. I would need to pay 3,500.00 to claim my prize. I should meet them at the nearest Walmart to give them the certified money order and then we would go to my bank with the prize check, then continue on to the Mercedes Benz dealer to pick out the car.

• May 12, 2020

Victim Location 99026
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Individual has called me several times saying I won 5 1/2 million dollars and they would like to arrive at my home to present the award to me. They asked for banking information so they could wire the amount to my account. They said Bank of America but I told him we didn't bank with that bank. Asked for my e-mail address [I gave them no information, bank or e-mail] They have called many times I think on my land line and cell phone. They said they were representing Publishers Clearing House and were very convincing. I tried to call back the 876-392-0643 number and there was a male individual that answered on that number. As far as I can recollect I gave them no information but am concerned as to how they got my cell phone number and their calling several

times.

• Apr 30, 2020

Victim Location 53086
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I'm filling this report out for my grandma who doesn't use computers / email. She received a scam phone call stating that she won the Publishers Clearinghouse. The man had my grandma's name, address and phone number. He stated that she supposedly subscribed over 5 years ago and was recently chosen as a winner. It was suggested that she come up with a password / code so that nobody else could accept these winnings. My grandma persistantly told the man that she thought it was a scam and he reassured her that it wasn't. My grandma even told the man that her friend was scammed using a similar strategy in which the man continued to reassure her it was legitimate. One tactic that the man used was to build personal rapport through compliments. The man also wanted my grandma to purchase a $50 VISA gift card at Walmart, CVS or Walgreens. My granparents were supposed to purchase the gift card and would be exchanged for the first payment on the winnings. The man stated his name was Patrick Willson (702) 356-3930 - also offered the name of Charlene Wilson if you needed any questions.

• Apr 23, 2020

Victim Location 83706
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I received a phone call on my land line from a man identifying himself as Mr. Peter Mason from Publisher's Clearing house. He said that I had won 5.5 million dollars (5,000 per week for life) and a 2020 Mercedes car from my entry at Publisher's Clearing house. At first I hung up and then he called me back. I told him that I didn't feel this was official, but he assured me that it was. He asked if I would be home today to receive my prize. He had my address and, obviously, my phone number. He asked my marital status and if I was retired or employed. I answered those two questions but then he asked if I knew what a wire transfer was. At that point I stated that I was certain that this was a scam and I hung up.

• Apr 21, 2020

Victim Location 55303
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Received a letter and a check telling me that I had won second place in Publishers Clearing House Sweepstakes. The check looks real, and was made out for $5,950 supposedly for fees towards the $450,000 prize. We were to call them to claim the remaining amount. The postmark was from New York, NY on April 17th

• Apr 02, 2020

Victim Location 54155
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

They call and ask how old you are and have you call this number 202 241 0901 and his name is Micheal Benjamin and would like you to go to Walmart and purchase a one vanilla pre paid master card gray in color. Some guy calls you first then gives you this number so you call it and then get this pre paid card so they can give you a new car and 3.5 million dollars in a check. They will come to your house and deliver them. We called publishers clearing house and they said it was a scam we don’t call you we just show up.

• Mar 26, 2020

Victim Location 54138
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I received a phone call that I let go to voice mail.  in the message, the caller states I have won $11,000,000 and $5,000/week for life from publishers clearing house. Then said I must pay a 1% registration tax payment to Federal Trade Commission at 516-441-8845. I did not respond.

Caller ID as Frank Goodman @ 516-441-8845

Check fields!

Report Publishers Clearing House Imposter


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Publishers Clearing House Imposter Contacts

If you know any contact information for Publishers Clearing House Imposter, help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New