Sign in

Centerpoint Energy - Imposter

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Centerpoint Energy - Imposter? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Centerpoint Energy - Imposter Reports & Reviews (81)

• Aug 05, 2022

Victim Location 77066
Type of a scam Utility

I was called to my cell phone by a spanish representative claiming that my Centerpoint Gas utility will be shut off if I don't call this number: 281-559-6840. I called the number and immediately I was asked to provide information that matched the number I was dialing from. I didn't provide any info as I told them that they had called me and if they have my information, then they can let me know why my gas would be shut off. They started to demand my information and when I told them I wouldn't give it to them as I suspected that this was a fraudulent call, they proceeded to say 'we're going to shut if too' and hung up on me.

• Aug 04, 2022

Victim Location 77523
Type of a scam Utility

Said our electric service would be disconnected if didn’t provide a $389.00 deposit for a smart meter. When I questioned him about it being my first notice he told me to stop crying like a baby and pay deposit. I hung up knowing it was a scam

• Aug 02, 2022

Victim Location 77433
Type of a scam Utility

They called me with a phone number screen "Public Service". A robot voice proceeded to say center point energy was calling to let me know my utilities would be cut of in 30-45minutes unless I spoke to someone. (I already knew it was a scam). I selected the optio to speak to a person because I felt like wasting their time and cussing them out. I got a bunch of static like someone had a phone in their pocket. I was then transferred to a hold service with piano music before the call hung up on me. I'm not sure anything can be done with the limited information I have but I am reporting it anyway.

• Jul 05, 2022

Victim Location 77381
Type of a scam Utility

A call that our service would be interrupted due to a past due amount on our Centerpoint Energy account.

• Jun 30, 2022

Victim Location 77433
Type of a scam Utility

They called and told me they were calling from Centerpoint Energy and they were going to disconnect my service due to non-payment. They asked me for my address information so they could look up my account, then proceeded to tell me that I owed money and my service would be disconnected due to nonpayment and I needed to do an express pay to prevent disconnection. I told them I have auto pay and the payments are taken out automatically. He said let me check then said no i am not enrolled into autopay and asked me for a confirmation of payment, I told him I don't get confirmation numbers the money is taken directly out of my bank. I told him I was not going to pay anything over the phone and I was not going to give him credit card information and he got mad and said he didn't want any information. I asked him for an extension number and he said 147 then hung up. I called the number and it says its disconnected.

• Jun 29, 2022

Victim Location 77545
Type of a scam Debt Collections

Seeking payment by falsely stating service termination within 30-45 minutes. The incoming call appeared to be from Centerpoint Energy because Centerpoint Energy's telephone number was displayed on my phone screen by the caller. The nationality was of a foreigner.

• Jun 25, 2022

Victim Location 77433
Total money lost $300
Type of a scam Utility

Got a call from “Centerpoint Energy” saying my electricity would be turned off due to missed payment(s). Asked to make payment thru Zelle.

• Jun 23, 2022

Victim Location 78039
Type of a scam Utility

Received a call about disconnection of service within 30 - 45 minutes at home we sold in February 2022 if amount due isn't paid immediately. When I stated we transferred service to new owner in February, I was told the account is still in my name and I need to pay $285. I then hung up suspecting it was a scam.

• Jun 22, 2022

Victim Location 77095
Type of a scam Debt Collections

Claimed to be from centerpoint energy, even insured no personal information was needed from me, that I just needed to log in to my bank and initiate a transfer to pay my delinquency or my services would be shut off in a couple of hours. Obviously this is concerning in this Houston heat. I ended the phone call but I feel sorry for those that don't realize this is a total scam. My caller ID showed it as Center point ener. and if you google the phone number used it actually pulls up as "centerpoint energy" located in downtown. Google needs to shut down that business listing as it has clearly been set up by the scammers themselves so when people google the number it all looks legit. If you read the reviews for this business with this phone number everyone else has clearly received the same exact scam call. Google needs to take it down so at least less people fall victim to it

• Jun 22, 2022

Victim Location 77064
Type of a scam Utility

Automated call notifying of utility being disconnected within the day. Selected option to speak with representative and provided home address. Discussed that I would pay on the website and the agent said it would be delayed to pay online. The agent then asked who I banked with and I disconnected the line.

• Jun 22, 2022

Victim Location 77479
Type of a scam Utility

Received a call saying my electric bill was past due and would be turned off in nexgt 45-60 min. Press 1 to speak to an agent about delinquent account. I hung up knowing my account was not past due.

• Jun 16, 2022

Victim Location 77054
Type of a scam Utility

Scrammer used the utility number to call. Call says that my electricity was going to be disconnected today, press one to speak to someone. I pressed one. The person came on to say that my electricity was going to be disconnected. I told them that I paid my bill and the person wanted to know how could I verify that and I told them because I see the payment from my account. They immediately hung up. I called Center Point to verify that it was not them that called me. The recording on their website told me that there were scrammers and I actually spoke to a person who told me the same thing. They will never call but send a notice out if I was going to be disconnected.

• Jun 15, 2022

Victim Location 77018
Type of a scam Utility

an automated voice called and said that centerpoint energy would shut off our power in 45 minutes if i did not speak to a representative by pressing 1. i did not press 1, and instead googled the incident, finding that on centerpoint's website they would never threaten immediate power cut via phone call. their website directed me here.

• Jun 10, 2022

Victim Location 77025
Type of a scam Utility

We were called by an automated number claiming to be Centerpoint Energy stating they were about to shut off our electricity service in 45 mins if we did not pay an extra fee.

+1
• Jun 10, 2022

Victim Location 77025
Total money lost $1,200
Type of a scam Utility

Scammer called from “Centerpoint” and said my electricity was past due and that my electricity would be turned off if I didn’t make a payment within the hour

+1
• Jun 07, 2022

Victim Location 77339
Type of a scam Other

I was called by what I thought was Centerpoint Energy and was told they were disconnecting my service. I argued with the guy enough he hung up so I then called Centerpoint.

John at Centerpoint told me they are aware of scams where the scammer uses their (Centerpoint) phone number.

• May 31, 2022

Victim Location 77429
Total money lost $728.60
Type of a scam Utility

The scammer called from CenterPoint Energy with my mother's name and address stating the bill was delinquent and would be shut off if not paid in 30 minutes. My mother was in the hospital so I thought maybe she did not pay her bill. I paid it using Zelle but they somehow charged me $225.60, $228.60 and $274.40 - a total of $728.60.

The bank could not help me retrieve or cancel these payments, neither could Zelle.

I work hard for what money I do make, there are horrible scammers in this world.

BEWARE

+1
• May 31, 2022

Victim Location 77007
Type of a scam Debt Collections

Got a call from what appears to be Center Point 713.659.2111 to my personal cell saying my gas would be shut off in next 60-90minutes due to non-payment. I followed the prompt to speak to representative "press 1". he picked up and said "thank you for calling center point, how may I help you". I explained they had called me & that I simply pressed the prompt. he said my gas would be shut off in 60-90 minutes due to my payment not being received. I said I did not receive a new invoice & he then disconnected the call. I then logged into Center Point site to report & request a password reset. I also checked my bank as I have bill pay set up with them. neither show a balance due to Center Point. Obviously this was a scam, but wanted to report as it came from a Center Point phone number.

+1
• May 25, 2022

Victim Location 77083
Type of a scam Utility

They called me saying they were going to shut off my gas service if I didn't pay. I told them that my balance was zero but they insisted that I had a balance that I went to the store and bought a prepaid card.

+1
• May 24, 2022

Victim Location 77007
Type of a scam Utility

I received a call to my mobile device and the Caller ID stated it was Centerpoint Energy and the phone number matched one of the contact numbers for Centerpoint. When I answered the call it was an automated message stating that my service was going to be cut of in the next hour and to press the "1" to be directed to a billing agent. I hung up the phone at this point and called the center point number and verified by account was in good standing.

Check fields!

Report Centerpoint Energy - Imposter


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit

Centerpoint Energy - Imposter Contacts

Phone:


If you know any contact information for Centerpoint Energy - Imposter, help other victims by adding it!

Add new contacts
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New