Sign in

McAfee IMPOSTER

Sharing is caring! Having problems with McAfee IMPOSTER? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

McAfee IMPOSTER Reports & Reviews (78)

• May 18, 2022

Victim Location 63043
Type of a scam Counterfeit Product

This company claimed to be part of McAffe fraud protection company. I never signed up for this plan and received an email stating I was charged $429.38. The site shows a number to call for "order review". When I called they stepped me through there process at one point I was not able to find the information to click on. After a brief hold they sent me a user name and password. When I put that in my mouse was controlled by someone else and got me to a consent form to cancel the plan. Once that was complete they wanted me so sign into my bank account and except the refund. At this point I knew something was up and told them, I feel someone has control of my computer as they reassured me that was not the case. So I told them before I do that I am restarting my computer. As I tried to do so, I would click to restart it and it would automatically disappear not allowing me to do so, so I told them I am gonna hard boot my computer and they immediately hung up. This is a scam and hope you can get this stopped, Thank you.

• May 02, 2022

Victim Location 06424
Type of a scam Phishing

Received an email disguised as being from McAfee, stating my subscription was ending or may have ended that day. Many grammar/capitalization errors, and the from addresses were funky. Also, two different unsubscribes - on in Las Vegas and one in NJ. Emailed wanted you to click to "protect now," and most likely was phishing for personal info, possibly CC/banking info. I did not click through.

• Apr 28, 2022

Victim Location 83607
Type of a scam Phishing

I received this email this yesterday 27 Apr

I called the number and got a gentle man that wanted me to down load "Any Desk" so he could

Help me cancel the order that was placed by some one in Mt. View, Ca.

He said I could not cancel this order through a McAFee website.

When I refused he told me to go f myself and hung up on me.

Thought you would like know about this scam if you don’t already.

Thank you for choosing McAfee.

Help Desk +1(888) 909-4125

Dear [email protected]

Thank you for choosing McAfee, we are reaching out to remind you that your McAfee Annual Maintenance Service is expired and Auto Renewed today.

We would thank you for the competition of 12 months maintenance plan. We auto renewed your plan and charged $547.98 against your account. We understand that you are busy hence could not get through to you when we tried to contact you.

INFORMATION:

Invoice No. HGTs-HGt1-NQr41685

Order No. HGTs-HGt1-NQr41685

Invoice Date. 4/27/2022

Due date. 4/27/2022

Invoice Amount. $547.98

Support and Billing Team

24*7 Support

(Toll Free) +1(888) 909-4125

For any query/support or to cancel the subscription and to report disputes please call us at our Billing Team ++1(888) 909-4125. Also, in case of any proven dispute you may have your full Refund.

Thank You

McAfee Support

Helpline Number +1(888) 909-4125

• Apr 26, 2022

Victim Location 54931
Type of a scam Fake Invoice/Supplier Bill

I received an email including an attachment claiming to be an invoice for McAfee. I do not have McAfee nor have I purchased their products. I did confirm with McAfee that I do not have an account. Since the email is from a valid QuickBooks address (the address used to send invoices with QuickBooks) I called Intuit. Intuit confirmed that McAfee is not associated with QuckBooks and does not use their service to generate invoices.

• Apr 25, 2022

Victim Location 76309
Type of a scam Phishing

I was tricked into buying giftcards. I did not send them the numbers, I figured it out prior to sending it. I supposedly talking to Garrett Smith and Mark Ferguson who was supposedly with Discover.

• Apr 18, 2022

Victim Location 28748
Type of a scam Online Purchase

Received an email of a purchase for internet protection for $499.99, and that my checking account was the payer. I called my bank and they said that they showed no such charge, so I called the phone no. in the email to cancel the charge. When I called the person on line assured me that the purchase had been completed and that to get refunded I would need to give him control of my computer screen. I thought that his request was legitimate until I noted that the charge showing on my bank online was for a date 2 days in advance. I then received a form filled out for my refund in the amount of $500, and that I should type into the form $500. The amount shown on the form showed $5000, and was supposedly processed. The agent noted the apparent error, while showing me a bank balance that showed that $5000 had been transferred, and that it would have to rectified. He said he was in trouble as well as me for the error. He asked if there was a King Sooner's or Target in my neighborhood where I could purchase a store card for $4500 to rectify my supposed error. I then hung up and tried to reach my bank, being interrupted several times with the agent calling me back. The bank and I closed my checking account and froze all activity on the old account. Very disturbing!

• Apr 14, 2022

Victim Location 91711
Type of a scam Credit Repair/Debt Relief

An email was sent from McAfee, service that I did use several years ago. The mail was billing me for $399.99, I called the scammer number and they asked to access my computer. Their pretext was that they are an actually company that fights scamming. They had be fill out a form online which indicated that I would be refunded $399.99. Unfortunately, I let them access my computer, email, and my online banking. They fraudently moved $10,000 from my savings account to my checking, but were unable to access my checking account. I will never allow anyone to access by online banking account again!! I have changed the passwords to my banking account and will change my password for my email.

Previously, I had identified this same fraudently billing scam as scam on my rocketmail (Yahoo) account, but they sent me another email billing today. Please prevent these scammers from ever running their scams again!

• Mar 16, 2022

Victim Location 40014
Type of a scam Tech Support

Received an email stating that their system has detected 13 viruses on my computer and that it might be at risk. The email also stated that my subscription expired today.

• Mar 11, 2022

Victim Location 10003
Type of a scam Fake Invoice/Supplier Bill

they sent me this, it is a Scam and I did not order anything

• Feb 18, 2022

Victim Location 80017
Type of a scam Counterfeit Product

Mywife ordered some flowers online and dismissed an ad for Norton. After transaction she received email regarding an order..stating that we subscribed to Norton antivirus (a garbage product that I don’t and will never use) When we call support number the scam is to allow them access to your computer so they can install fake cancellation form. Do not..repeat..do not let them install anything on your computer. Contact your bank to see if charges actually exist because in most cases it is fake as well. They tried to strong arm me over the phone to allow them administrator control on my machine…big No! Be on lookout for you have been warned…

• Feb 10, 2022

Victim Location 43147
Type of a scam Tech Support

I received an email from McAfee saying it was time to renew. I called 800-303-6170. I spoke to a man with an Indian accent. He offered me a credit. I followed their instructions for the credit. They asked me to enter $200, and I did. Then he told me that I had transferred $20,000 into my account. I argued with him for an hour. He told me to write a check for $10,000. I asked why. He said because the federal government won't let you write a check for more than $10,000. I told him he was a scam. I went to the bank, and they closed my account.

• Jan 31, 2022

Victim Location 53555
Type of a scam Online Purchase

Got email stating signed up for McAfee protection and charge will come out of online account called cancellation number and had me install any desk so they had access to my computer to cancel the charge

• Jan 26, 2022

Victim Location 96795
Type of a scam Counterfeit Product

I received an email from someone at the above email stating they were from McAfee and that I renewed my subscription. Knowing that I DID NOT sign up for anything I contacted my bank and the sender. They insist I signed up for something that I did not. I cannot attach a photo but can send the photo in a separate email

• Jan 24, 2022

Victim Location 98107
Type of a scam Phishing

Auto renewal for McAfee product indicating withdrawal of money from my bank account with order # M57804CAA. I reported it to my bank, but was unable to reach a McAfee support specialist. I have never purchased their product.

• Jan 24, 2022

Victim Location 48642
Type of a scam Counterfeit Product

Claimed McAfee had been suspended and said to click to update service.

• Jan 24, 2022

Victim Location 97026
Type of a scam Phishing

Attempted Scam

Email subject:

RE: Hi XXXX,Your Mcafee subscription is expired! UbMP

• Jan 20, 2022

Victim Location 44444
Type of a scam Other

McAfee®

Hi ********************,

As per the contract you’ve authorized us to charge $199.99 from your registered account for renewal of this subscription for the next 2 years.

Description

Order Confirmation: #GS76-87654-US49

Product: McAfee Services - Annual Payment

Transaction Date: January.20.2022

Invoice Total: $199.99

If you are unaware of this subscription, requesting to contact our customer support

Regards,

Tina Smith,

If you have any questions or concerns.

Contact us (801) 610 6428

• Jan 19, 2022

Victim Location 38076
Type of a scam Tech Support

We don't have McAfee on our computer we use another security program. This is the second of these we have gotten in 6 months.

Beware, make sure you don't have credit card info floating around.

• Jan 18, 2022

Victim Location 32547
Type of a scam Tech Support

I received this email at 1:00am saying they were going to charge my account Debit that is on file with Mcafee. First off i do not use this product and 2nd they said they were going to charge 278.87 within 24 hrs. If i dispute i need to call the number 185O-666-4O63 which is our local number (area) and the address wasn't given except for California and the email address was a gmail account. So i knew this wasn't right so i called the number. I man answered with a foreign accent and all i said was cancel the account linked to the email you sent me the dumb receipt. He said he couldn't cancel anything without me providing banking or credit card info. BOOM! so i hung up and did not provide him anything. This needs to be looked into because this is absolutely wrong. They need to be stopped.

thank you, *******

• Jan 13, 2022

Initial means of contact Not applicable

Suspicious Email

Got this email:

Subject:
Your McAfee Security has been renewed.
From:
"McAfee Billing "
Date:
12/15/2021, 11:33 AM
To:

Dear Charles

HELPDESK: 18445081396

INVOICE DATE: Dec/15/2021

INVOICE NO: 402-7392539-3701010

PAYMENT MODE AUTO DEBITED: ACCOUNT / CARD

Invoiced for 1-year plan towards your computer protection & security license renewal key.

License Validity: Dec/16/2021 – Dec/15/2022

Description

McAfee Total Security Family (10 Devices)

Items
Rate
Qty
Amount
Security License Key
$114.99
1
$114.99
Internet Protection Plan & Security
$124.99
1
$124.99
Service
$119.99
1
$119.99
Subtotal
$359.97
Tax (11%)
$39.60
Total

Paid Amount
$399.57

Your subscriptions have been activated. It may take a few hours for this transaction to appear in your account. You previously paid for a basic plan of McAfee Total Security Services. If you don't wish to renew or pay $399.57, please follow the steps below to cancel your Subscriptions/Plan.

Call us on 18445081396 (Toll free) and speak to an agent for the refund. It might take up to 48 hrs for the refund to reflect on your account.

Thank You,

Billing Team

Helpline Number: 18445081396

Check fields!

Report McAfee IMPOSTER


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit

McAfee IMPOSTER Contacts

McAfee IMPOSTER associated photos:


Phone:


E-mails:

Sign in to see


If you know any contact information for McAfee IMPOSTER, help other victims by adding it!

Add new contacts
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New