Sign in

IRS

Sharing is caring! Having problems with IRS? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

IRS Reports & Reviews (5036)

• Jul 18, 2020

Victim Location 70615
Type of a scam Tax Collection

Called stating IRS, hold for representative . When someone answered the line all he said was, "IRS". No name or representative ID. I hung up and called back and the recording said that there wasn't a voicemail set up.

• Jun 29, 2020

Victim Location 78261
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

person claimed to be social security administration and tried to get my personal details saying if I don't call them they will suspend my social security funds. I don't receive any funds. They tried to get my social again and I told them to remove me from their list. The guy was with a foreign accent and laughed and just quickly hung up. It was clearly someone trying to steal my identity and funds.

• Jun 26, 2020

Victim Location 79605
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

I receive from George Penn, said he was with the IRS and my social security number was used by someone stopped on the El Paso border with drugs and they were using my social security number to wire money. I then was transferred to speak with Michelle Anderson who was with the attorney general office. She told me I would need to go to my banks and take out all funds except $200 and secure the money with the government to clear my name. And I would have to get a new social security number. They gave me a case # DC68489720 and Warrant ID WI639846.

• May 04, 2020

Victim Location 86403
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

attached letter claiming to be IRS - entered by Mohave County ScamPulse.com staff

• Apr 28, 2020

Victim Location 75791
Type of a scam COVID-19

I got a text with a link to see the status of my stimulus payment.

• Apr 28, 2020

Victim Location 75762
Type of a scam Government Grant

I got a text to click for my stimulus check. I heard it's a scam, but wanted to report it.

• Feb 28, 2020

Victim Location 79605
Type of a scam Tax Collection

Received a call where the caller said they were the IRS and I owed money. They said if I didn't pay within 2 weeks, I'd go to jail.

• Feb 07, 2020

Victim Location 78412
Type of a scam Phishing

Once I called him on it he hung up

• Feb 07, 2020

Victim Location 47203
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Roberto Rios called from 347-329-1403 and said I had won 96000 thru American Sweepstakes he provided me with a 5 digit Claim number and wanted me to call 888-600-6078 and they would give me a 3 digit claim number and then I needed to call him back. He then said I needed to pay 4750 dollars for the insurance and processing to get it here. I told him I didn't have that kind of money I'm a senior systems on limited income. He then said they have some companies that help sponsor for this and Coke would pay 4050. So then I only had to pay 700 of it. And He said I needed to contact the Financial institution at 866-978-6383 Speak to Craig Patterson I called him and he said it was an amount of 95000. But you have to pay the 4750 to pay for the insurance and I would have to fill out 2 forms so they could get the money delivered to me. I told him I don't even have 400 and they have called now 2 days row and about 5 times yesterday and 2 times this morning. He was asking how close I was to getting the 700 I told him I didn't even have a 100 he said he could wait a couple days for me to get it together. I was positive it was a scam. And they said they would have to ship it in. It was a scam.

• Dec 30, 2019

Victim Location 85716
Type of a scam Tax Collection

Fake IRS call.

• Dec 19, 2019

Victim Location 66846
Type of a scam Phishing

I received a phone call from a number in Wilmington, PA. They left the following voicemail on my phone. It was an automated message. "This is a notice from Social Security Administration. The reason of this call is to inform you our department has decided to suspend your Social Security number and file a lawsuit against you as we have received suspicious activity on your number. To get more information please call our department number 215-418-7396 I repeat 215-488-7396 thank you."

• Nov 22, 2019

Victim Location 61874
Type of a scam Tax Collection

I received a phone call at 10:49 A.M. (Central-Standard Time) from a person claiming to be an IRS Agent named Stephen Jordan. He provided me with his Identification number, which is IRM 2215 and my case number: CP069T. He said that my taxes were being investigated from the years 2014-2016 and that there were three counts (Count 1, Count 2, Count 3) of the tax code that I had violated in the amount of $4,969.00. He informed me that the call was being recorded and that anything that I say on the phone call would and could be used against me in court. He said that there was a warrant out for my arrest, that all of my accounts were frozen, and that my wages would be garnished if I did not comply. He said that the IRS has made repeated efforts to contact me and that since I have not been able to be contacted, he was calling me directly. I informed him that I was on the IRS website and that the website specifically states that any attempts to communicate with taxpayers would be made via certified US mail. He said that if I did not immediately comply that I would be subject to the full consequences of the law. He asked me if I had completed my tax returns myself or if I have them completed by an accountant. I shared with him that I had an accountant but did not provide any sensitive information. He asked if I wanted to settle my claim and I refused, referring back the IRS website. He wished me luck and informed me that the police would be coming to get me.

• Nov 14, 2019

Victim Location 46151
Type of a scam Tax Collection

Had a voicemail this morning. It was a robo-call.

It was abbreviated, but I heard IRS...criminal issue associated with your SSN ...please call before it goes to the state courthouse.

Later this evening from them, so I answered. It was an Indian-sounding man who stated he was with the IRS. I asked who I was speaking to, and he said "I don't know". You don't know who I'm talking to? "No", then he hung up.

• Oct 28, 2019

Victim Location 65757
Type of a scam Phishing

I'm getting a bunch of robocalls saying that the IRS has been hacked and then I'm put on hold. I've hung up. I got two calls two days in a row. I'm now getting calls the IRS is going to sue me because I never called them back. 

• Oct 23, 2019

Victim Location 75703
Type of a scam Identity Theft

received a call stating that I needed to call back immediately due to fraudulent activity on my Social Security number and that if I do not call back that legal actions would be taken

• Oct 14, 2019

Victim Location 44109
Type of a scam Phishing

There is a short recording- we are calling you because of a social security number and a letter is going to be coming my way.

• Oct 04, 2019

Victim Location 82009
Type of a scam Tax Collection

Received recorded call from above number; out of Texas; relating criminal charges were pending as a result of non-payment. I did not call number back.

• Oct 02, 2019

Victim Location 35769
Type of a scam Identity Theft

I got a call earlier this morning. I answered and they were claiming to be the IRS. They threaten to cancel my SSN and asked me what it was. They also knew my banking information. 

• Oct 02, 2019

Victim Location 77659
Type of a scam Identity Theft

Some women call me, it ws a recording, telling me my Social Security has been Compromise. If I want to stay out of jail to give her a call. Well, she scare me. So, I call her back to see what was going on. She told me I had 10 Bank Account in my name, in different states. They found a car that was registered or purchase in my name. It had drugs in it. IF I DON"T CALL THEM THE MINUTE I DON"T GET THIS MESSAGE, THE POLICE IS GOING TO ARREST ME! They scare me pretty bad so, before I call them and I call a friend, She told me she got the same message. She told me it was a scam. On the Channel 6 News, the lady from the ScamPulse.com was on there, informing the consumer on this very scam.

• Sep 24, 2019

Victim Location 65706
Type of a scam Phishing

I missed the initial phone call, called back and when they answered they said they were the IRS.

Check fields!

Report IRS


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

IRS Contacts

If you know any contact information for IRS, help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New