Sign in

IRS

Sharing is caring! Having problems with IRS? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

IRS Reports & Reviews (5065)

• Jul 19, 2021

Victim Location 67202
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

My 92 year old grandmother received a call from the IRS. They asked for her social security number, which she gave them. I called her bank to let them know. I also called our local ScamPulse.com office and was given additional advice including freezing her credit bureau reports and alerting social security administration.

• Jul 14, 2021

Victim Location 46016
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

I hung up and blocked number. It sounds very legit what they are saying tho k personally know was suspicious. Want others to be aware so wonf give personal information out to these people, especially social security numbers.

• Jun 22, 2021

Victim Location 75707
Type of a scam Tax Collection

I was trying to find info on how to get a hold of the irs to verify my identy. An I found a site that said call the irs buy I've Bern doing that so I went into messages to see if anyone else had any ideas. There was someone that wrote they had been trying to get the irs also an they finally got a number an it was the one I put above. I called it an he said he was an irs trouble shooter an in complaint dept. I ask him how I could be sure he was really with its an he said he was on line helping someone could I call back. He said sure or he'd call me back I said ok an I told him I needed his badge number or some proof he was with its he said ok. But never heard back I have the text where we talked.

• Jun 22, 2021

Victim Location 75707
Type of a scam Tax Collection

I was trying to find info on how to get a hold of the irs to verify my identy. An I found a site that said call the irs buy I've Bern doing that so I went into messages to see if anyone else had any ideas. There was someone that wrote they had been trying to get the irs also an they finally got a number an it was the one I put above. I called it an he said he was an irs trouble shooter an in complaint dept. I ask him how I could be sure he was really with its an he said he was on line helping someone could I call back. He said sure or he'd call me back I said ok an I told him I needed his badge number or some proof he was with its he said ok. But never heard back I have the text where we talked.

• Jun 04, 2021

Victim Location 95829
Type of a scam Tax Collection

They call you and there is a recording that says you can be arrested for issues regarding taxes. When they come in the line and you start asking questions they get annoyed and ask why you are calling them. Then when you point out that they are a scam they disconnect.

• Apr 15, 2021

Victim Location 61615
Type of a scam Phishing

I received a call from someone claiming to be with SS. They asked me to verify my name and SS number which I did. When the call ended, I noticed the number seemed different, so I called the SS office and they let me know that it was a scam call.

• Apr 13, 2021

Victim Location 78660
Type of a scam Identity Theft

Guy called and said someone was committing fraud with my social. This same guy somehow was trying to log into my apple account? Luckily I have the two part verification set up and it ask me if I was trying to log on from another device which I declined.

• Apr 04, 2021

Victim Location 40324
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

This person messages me everyday and calls me everyday. They also call me very early in the morning as we as messages me in the morning. They will not leave me alone.

• Mar 31, 2021

Victim Location 63026
Type of a scam Identity Theft

Last four digits of my ss number and bank that I use and how many credit cards do I have.

• Mar 20, 2021

Victim Location 33442
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

Yesterday I answer a call where a robot was speaking telling me that my social security had been canceled and that I had to talk to a consultant.

Then answer a lady who says she has the name Moore. She tells me that my social security has been canceled because they detected criminal activity under my number and that the police are looking for me.

I told her I don’t speak English very well and she start to ask me about personal questions and them I’m start to thinking this is so strange... and I just tell her

You know what? I’ll prefer go and fix this in person, so will do an appointment...

in the end, I just I hung the call.

• Mar 19, 2021

Victim Location 44001
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

I answered calls on my cell. phone. Identified themselves as the IRS or US Government. I was approved for an $18,000 Grant. Press one. I refused to press one. I yelled into the phone it is a scam and hung up. The phone number in my caller ID were 440-826-9259 and 440-828-5380. I was expecting a call so I answered. I usually don't answer my phone.

• Mar 17, 2021

Victim Location 79605
Type of a scam Other

Received a call from this number, stating they were the IRS.

• Mar 13, 2021

Victim Location 99929
Type of a scam COVID-19

Received a text message claiming the IRS has held my stimulus payment pending further verification. Verify identity here: stimulus-claim.com

I did not reply

• Mar 11, 2021

Victim Location 71105
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

Call pretending to be IRS and suspending Social Security # if they do not pay..

• Mar 10, 2021

Victim Location 45459
Type of a scam Phishing

Received a phone call from 646-993-1064 stating that I would be arrested for drug trafficking and money laundering. Scam artist indicated that they have papers indicating that I was guilty. They knew my address, old last name...

• Jan 27, 2021

Victim Location 44143
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

My husband received three strange calls today on his cell phone. The caller stated this is the IRS. They also called yesterday. The message stated someone has stolen or taken over your Social Security number. Someone will come to your front door and arrest you if you do not call this number back. 281-363-5694. We did not call the number back.

• Jan 13, 2021

Victim Location 44128
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

My husband answered a call today on our home phone from the IRS. The caller asked if we would be available today at 2:00 P.M. to take a picture with a number of people that won a check and a car. Did not give the mount of the check. My husband replied yes. I asked if I had to give money down. He said no. Just have your state ID. We do not have the phone number that called. We know if they want money it is a scam. All they wanted was our State ID. We do enter a number of contests.

• Jan 06, 2021

Victim Location 35806
Type of a scam COVID-19

Two calls from 938-201-1086 to my 15 year daughter's cell phone stating "Hi this is Megan with the IRS debt resource center it looks like your tax debt has been flagged eligible for the recent stimulus forgiveness and release legislation; however, your application does need to be completed. If you would like to know more about the IRS back tax settlement program that my affect any text that you may have please give me a call so I can help. My number is 509-204-8319. Again, my name is Megan and my number is 509-204-8319."

• Jan 05, 2021

Victim Location 38109
Total money lost $4.95
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

I just called this number to get information about my stimulus check. The guy pretended to be a its agent and he asked me to verify all of my information. And so I did. I provided him with card info, email, and address information. Throughout the call my card was charged for 4.95 with something called phi body shapers and the guy gave me a number that didn't work to call about it. He rushed me off the phone as I told him about the card charge. And now every time I call they hand up the phone.

• Dec 09, 2020

Victim Location 43232
Type of a scam Phishing

Got a call from this number with a recording stating the call was from irs and my irs account (ssdi) had been breached and to press one for further instructions. i did not press anything other than end, but this is clearly a scam to get personal information to steal money. The irs does not and would not contact anyone this way.

Check fields!

Report IRS


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

IRS Contacts

If you know any contact information for IRS, help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New