Sign in

IRS

Sharing is caring! Having problems with IRS? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

IRS Reports & Reviews (5055)

• Apr 15, 2021

Victim Location 61615
Type of a scam Phishing

I received a call from someone claiming to be with SS. They asked me to verify my name and SS number which I did. When the call ended, I noticed the number seemed different, so I called the SS office and they let me know that it was a scam call.

• Apr 13, 2021

Victim Location 78660
Type of a scam Identity Theft

Guy called and said someone was committing fraud with my social. This same guy somehow was trying to log into my apple account? Luckily I have the two part verification set up and it ask me if I was trying to log on from another device which I declined.

• Apr 04, 2021

Victim Location 40324
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

This person messages me everyday and calls me everyday. They also call me very early in the morning as we as messages me in the morning. They will not leave me alone.

• Mar 31, 2021

Victim Location 63026
Type of a scam Identity Theft

Last four digits of my ss number and bank that I use and how many credit cards do I have.

• Mar 19, 2021

Victim Location 44001
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

I answered calls on my cell. phone. Identified themselves as the IRS or US Government. I was approved for an $18,000 Grant. Press one. I refused to press one. I yelled into the phone it is a scam and hung up. The phone number in my caller ID were 440-826-9259 and 440-828-5380. I was expecting a call so I answered. I usually don't answer my phone.

• Mar 17, 2021

Victim Location 79605
Type of a scam Other

Received a call from this number, stating they were the IRS.

• Jan 27, 2021

Victim Location 44143
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

My husband received three strange calls today on his cell phone. The caller stated this is the IRS. They also called yesterday. The message stated someone has stolen or taken over your Social Security number. Someone will come to your front door and arrest you if you do not call this number back. 281-363-5694. We did not call the number back.

• Jan 13, 2021

Victim Location 44128
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

My husband answered a call today on our home phone from the IRS. The caller asked if we would be available today at 2:00 P.M. to take a picture with a number of people that won a check and a car. Did not give the mount of the check. My husband replied yes. I asked if I had to give money down. He said no. Just have your state ID. We do not have the phone number that called. We know if they want money it is a scam. All they wanted was our State ID. We do enter a number of contests.

• Jan 06, 2021

Victim Location 35806
Type of a scam COVID-19

Two calls from 938-201-1086 to my 15 year daughter's cell phone stating "Hi this is Megan with the IRS debt resource center it looks like your tax debt has been flagged eligible for the recent stimulus forgiveness and release legislation; however, your application does need to be completed. If you would like to know more about the IRS back tax settlement program that my affect any text that you may have please give me a call so I can help. My number is 509-204-8319. Again, my name is Megan and my number is 509-204-8319."

• Dec 09, 2020

Victim Location 43232
Type of a scam Phishing

Got a call from this number with a recording stating the call was from irs and my irs account (ssdi) had been breached and to press one for further instructions. i did not press anything other than end, but this is clearly a scam to get personal information to steal money. The irs does not and would not contact anyone this way.

• Dec 03, 2020

Victim Location 80926
Type of a scam Tax Collection

They had called me multiple times the first couple days didn't tell them anything just hung up they kept calling 12 different phone numbers and wanted me to press one acting like a officer saying that the US Marshal would get a hold of me and that my social security number was used in gang activity in another state

• Dec 02, 2020

Victim Location 55126
Type of a scam Tax Collection

robocall, hung up after hearing IRS

• Oct 21, 2020

Victim Location 55044
Type of a scam Tax Collection

Call was answered and a recording claimed that fraud was perpetrated with my Social Security Number, and to avoid "federal prosecution originating in the state of Texas by local Court or Magistrate" that I should act immediately. Then it asked if I wanted to find out more about this to push #1 on my phone. I did that and a person answered. There were sounds of a call center in the back ground and the person answered Internal Revenue Service". This is clearly a scam because it take hours on the phone to talk to anyone at the IRS office. I told him that I knew he was a scam and to never call me again. I then hung up on them.

• Sep 23, 2020

Victim Location 63115
Type of a scam Tax Collection

I received in the mail a request for additional information regarding my 2017 tax returns. They wanted me to fax it to them. They said they were backlogged, but all my taxes were filed on time.

• Sep 11, 2020

Victim Location 27705
Type of a scam Tax Collection

Getting multiple calls every day from different 919-XXX-XXXX numbers (all my local area) claiming my social security number has been compromised. I have blocked every number after receiving, and yet calls from new numbers keep coming.

• Aug 31, 2020

Victim Location 37920
Type of a scam Identity Theft

This was via phone --- requested confirmation of SSN, address, in regard to a $5000 check. He said he was from the IRS..could not understand the name he used. The last part of the voicemail mentioned a business where I was the day before.

The phone number is in my phone log and I still have the message.

• Aug 27, 2020

Victim Location 55374
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

Automated message when I answered the phone claiming that there was an arrest warrant with my social security number out there. I chose to speak with a representative. When he came on the line, I asked for a name and he hung up on me.

• Aug 25, 2020

Victim Location 40502
Total money lost $1,000
Type of a scam Nigerian/Foreign Money Exchange

Scammer told the victim that there was a lot of strange activity in the bank account and ask for a 1000 dollars if not it will get arrested in less than 45 minutes ask to put that amount of money in gift cards and then the scammer started purchasing a lot of items to spend all the money

• Aug 18, 2020

Victim Location 46123
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

Received a Legit looking email from "Invoice from 2020 Coronavirus Tax rebates (38031)"

• Jul 18, 2020

Victim Location 70615
Type of a scam Tax Collection

Called stating IRS, hold for representative . When someone answered the line all he said was, "IRS". No name or representative ID. I hung up and called back and the recording said that there wasn't a voicemail set up.

Check fields!

Report IRS


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

IRS Contacts

If you know any contact information for IRS, help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New