Sign in

IRS Impostor

Sharing is caring! Having problems with IRS Impostor? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

IRS Impostor Reports & Reviews (100)

• Aug 16, 2021

Victim Location 99508
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

Third Round of Economic Impact Payments Status Available

Email initiated for : t*****@hotmail.com,

After the last annual calculations of your fiscal activity we have determined that you are eligible to receive a payment of $815.05.

Each week we’re sending the third payments to eligible individuals as we continue to process tax returns. Payments are sent by direct deposit or mail as a check or debit card.

Claim my payment

Note : For security reasons, we will record your ip-address, the date and time. Deliberate wrong inputs are criminally pursued and indicated.

Sincerely,

Internal Revenue Service.

__________________________________________________

The IRS is working with federal agencies to get updated information for recipients to ensure we are sending automatic payments to as many people as possible. More information about when these payments will be made is provided in the news release issued on August 30, 2021.

• Jul 21, 2021

Victim Location 97221
Type of a scam Credit Repair/Debt Relief

The scammer claimed to be the IRS with an Indian accent

• May 11, 2021

Victim Location 96740
Total money lost $1.95
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

I misdialed, thinking I was dialing the IRS to get my AGI (adjusted gross income) to complete my tax return, when in fact I had dialed the scammer. IRS is 800-908-9946 and I misdialed 800-909-9946. A man with an Indian accent took my debit bank card no but not my acct no, as well as my Soc Sec no, mother’s maiden name, address, etc. at the end he put on a Walmart advertisement and then hung up! The same day he withdrew $1.95 with the reference 1 Perk Place. After that I started getting 1 Perk Place email adverts.

• Mar 15, 2021

Victim Location 83704
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

Identified as IRS and threatened to have me arrested or talk to a marshal

• Jan 12, 2021

Victim Location 38138
Type of a scam COVID-19

IRS Two calls from 938-201-1086 to my daughter's cell phone stating "Hi this is the IRS resource center it looks like you have been flagged and your stimulus payment may be in jeopardy if you do not promptly resolve this important matter”. It is a robotic call. When you call the number, they tell you to call a foreign accented man who claims to be a special agent answers the phone, gives you a phony badge number, and tries to bully you into paying some type of fee to get your stimulus payment. He was very hard to understand, so I didn’t catch all of it, but obviously not real.

• Jan 12, 2021

Victim Location 73109
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

I received a call from 405-777-7038 claiming to be the IRS. The number shows up as Potential Spam Caller even though it is a local area code, and when I dial it back it doesn't connect.

• Jan 11, 2021

Victim Location 38125
Type of a scam COVID-19

Text message included a link stating, "Access benefits here" in regards to the stimulus checks saying that the IRS needed to verify my information today in order to guarantee successful payment. It was very believable and looked official. I might have actually fallen for it but I already received my 2nd stimulus check in my bank account.

Victim Location 38104
Type of a scam COVID-19

I got an email saying they were the IRS telling me to check for my stimulus package by giving my name and ss#. It was from a random gmail account. I deleted it immediately

Victim Location 76354
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

I got a call saying they were from the IRS, and that they had a warrant out for my arrest.

Victim Location 21093
Type of a scam Tax Collection

I receive an automated call from someone claiming to be from the IRS stating that I should contact my attorney as criminal charges were going to be filed against me for tax evasion and fraud. I was supposed to call them immediately to prevent this from being worse.

Victim Location 33759
Type of a scam Tax Collection

Received voicemail stating "...Legal enforcement action has been filed against your social security number"

Victim Location 75044
Type of a scam Credit Repair/Debt Relief

Said had to pay them what they said I owed or they would send an arrest warrant for my arrest.

Victim Location 45640
Type of a scam Tax Collection

A man with a foreign (Indian) accent called claiming to be from the IRS regarding my alleged tax evasion. He asked for my name, address, etc. but I didn't give him anything.

Victim Location 44685
Type of a scam Tax Collection

Claim there is an arrest warrant for you and you need to pay so much for tax evasion.

Victim Location 38834
Type of a scam Tax Collection

IRS received legal petition notice concerning a tax fraud against myself. If the matter goes to the Federal claims courthouse or before I get arrested I will need to call 917-504-8559 ASAP. Officer Robert Morris with IRS.

Victim Location 45212
Type of a scam Tax Collection

I received a call for the first time today 1-17-19 around 12:30pmEST and I answered they said they had been trying to get a hold of me for six months and of course they never tried to get a hold of me once, about my back taxes. It was a live call, it was a man and said he was calling from the IRS.

Victim Location 44718
Type of a scam Tax Collection

They call multiple times a day, and say that My family is being investigated for frauding them. (The IRS) I am a single mother and alays file my taxes, and have never had any issues. I traced the phone number to this company, and see that they scam people all over the U.S. The place it traced back to was *** *** *** -NY

Victim Location 38112
Type of a scam Tax Collection

I was contacted by the IRS. They said i was in default and would arrest me if i didn't pay today. I didn't have a card to pay with so they told me to go to walmart and get some Google play cards and call him back after to give him the number on the back. I thought it sounded suspicious but i was scared so i went. The young man at walmart told me something was not right. He called his manager and she told me to call the BBB. I realize it is a scam!!!!!!!!!

Victim Location 76379
Type of a scam Tax Collection

I received a voicemail with only half the message in my voicemail box. "And once again expired after that you will be taken under custody by the local police as there are four serious allegations pressed on your name at this moment. We would request you can get back to us so that we can discuss about this case before taking any legal action against you. The number to reach us is 518-507-5403. I repeat 518-507-5403."

I called the number back because I usually hadn't heard anyone leaving a call back number. I called, and the foreign guy said he was with the IRS. I personally know the IRS will reach out via mail. I just wanted to get this phone number added to the scammer list so others are aware.

Victim Location 26554
Type of a scam Tax Collection

It was an automated call saying it was the IRS Fraud Investigation Department and for me to call immediately because I was in trouble for tax evasion that they knew I had done on purpose and to call immediately.

I did. A man with an accent picked up and identified himself by same department name and then asked how to help

I said he could help first by doing something to prove he was a legitimate agent. He said he wasn't fake. I said ok, but every day you hear about this EXACT scam on social media.

he told me I could come there and suck his *** myself to see that he is real.

I told him I knew it was a scam and I was blocking his number.. Then I hung up. and filed this.

Check fields!

Report IRS Impostor


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

IRS Impostor Contacts

If you know any contact information for IRS Impostor, help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New