Sign in

Microsoft Imposter

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Microsoft Imposter? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Microsoft Imposter Reports & Reviews (244)

• Aug 03, 2022

Victim Location 54220
Type of a scam Tech Support

If you get a message on your computer from Microsoft about your system being hacked and gives you a number to call to clear it, do not call it. They ask for your banking information and the minute they did that, I called my bank and had to freeze my account and open a new one. The minute Jacob Miller found out we were talking to our bank, he hung up.

• Feb 08, 2022

Victim Location 21774
Type of a scam Tech Support

While attending a class via Zoom, a message popped up telling me that my computer has spyware and to call immediately to resolve. I was warned not to shut off the computer or exit the warning, as the computer will be unusable.

This happened to me in February 2020 and I fell for it. Less money today, but more knowledge. I know this was another scam,

I have pictures and a recorded video, but all are too large to attach.

• Jan 22, 2022

just got a text stating Dear customer, thank you for your subscription. "MICROSOFT office business 365" is active on you account USD-299 has been debited from your account and will reflect on your banks statement within 48 hours. If you fifn't place this order. Please call us back on 1-562-571-6926. microsoft you really need to figure out ways to stop these imposters

• Jan 20, 2022

Victim Location 40229
Type of a scam Tech Support

I was using my laptop and a computer service was helping me with a problem. After we were finished, I checked me email and found a thank for a payment for a payment for Windows Defender Advanced Threat Protection for $349.99. I did not authorize this, download it or do anything with Microsoft.

• Jan 11, 2022

Victim Location 31204
Type of a scam Online Purchase

On Jan 6,2022 I received an email from Micro-Soft Surface Pro. There was no return email address, company name nor address but a phone #434-403-2459. There was an invoice #517870 with a price if 4,063. I called the phone # and gave rep invoice # as he requested. I told him that I had not requested a purchase and didnt know what this item was. He said it was a laptop, I said I already have a laptop and order another. He said let me check your info, he confirmed my name and address which he gave to me. He said oh but I see the billing address is different from the shipping address. So I asked for shipping address, he it's to he shipped to a friend of yours in Mexico. I said I don't have any friends in Mexico he replied are you sure. I said yes and this is a a scam, so I'm going to report this to my local BBB. He said they can't help you, you just need to give me a little info so I can cancel this,l order and get this scammer on alert. So I said no, you just need to cancel this order and I am reporting this to BBB. Again he said they won't be able to help you only I can. So I said I don't know who you are you may be a scammer. Somewhere here I asked what form of payment did the person use, he said you won't be charged until you receive it, we have three forms of payment for you debit, credit card and check. But I am not paying for anything. He said that's why I need more info to cancel this order. I said no and that I was ending this call and reporting this issue. Oh I did ask him for his name he said my name is Bruce Willis my # is 6241, and I am a level 7 Microsoft technician. I hung up after that.

• Jan 05, 2022

Victim Location 80947
Type of a scam Tech Support

They pretend they are from windows support.

• Jan 05, 2022

Victim Location 38118
Type of a scam Tech Support

My computer gave message that it was locked until I called 850-696-0724. Upon placing call I was instructed that they needed access to my computer in which I was told that my ip address had been hacked and it would cost me $200 to $400 to clear the hack and restore security to my computer,

• Dec 08, 2021

Victim Location 44026
Type of a scam Tech Support

I received a email mail on my phone from Microsoft Accounts. Thank you for your renewal of services. If you did not make a purchase or want to cancel call 845-377-9352. I called the number. Showed on my phone as a New York number. A woman answered. Made it seem like I ordered one year of Microsoft Windows Protection for $399.99. The date was July 12, 2021. She wanted me to type in quick assist for access to my computer. I must have turned on something. She gave me a six digit code. I entered the code. My computer tried to load. I started to feel funny about it. My computer was very slow. I did not give her access to my computer. I shut it down. I told her I would call back. I hung up. She tried to call me back.

• Oct 26, 2021

Victim Location 53583
Type of a scam Phishing

I received this text and I don’t use Microsoft: Dear customer, thank you for your subscription. "MICR0-S0FT office business 365" is active on your account, USD-299 has been debited from your account and will reflect on your bank statement within 48 hours. If you didn't place this order, Please call us back on 1-925-270-0168.Please confirm if this is legit. I have not called the number listed in the text.

+6
• Oct 19, 2021

Victim Location 92672
Type of a scam Tech Support

A notice popped up on my computer saying not to shut it down and that it had been hacked and to immediately call Microsoft tech support. A recording with a women's voice kept repeating for me to not turn off my computer but to call the number (that was on the screen) I called and the man on the phone introduced himself as Rick (he later said his last name was Keller) and I had to have him confirm that he was with Microsoft tech support (he seemed slightly caught off guard/unprofessional which was a red flag but I was so panicked that I ignored this) He took me through some prompts which gave him access to control my computer (he never let me know that this is what would happen when he took me through the prompts. I just thought he was helping me unfreeze my computer) He told me that my IP number had been hacked and he showed me how many times it had been hacked and showed me that someone had tried to use it in Alaska at the same time as me (I'm in California) and that's what prompted the alert. He proceeded to show me a page with all of the information that had been leaked including my credit card password and I could see sites I had recently visited. He told me to encrypt my IP address again I would need to pay large amounts ($189 for a year of protection up to $899 for a lifetime of protection) I was seriously considering doing it for a minute but I asked a lot of further questions (mainly out of curiosity) and I got a sinking feeling I should ask around before I did anything further. So, big mistake allowing him to have access to my computer. Apparently he could have installed all sorts of things and I might have to delete my Windows 10 and all of it's content and reinstall but even that isn't a guarantee that all of the potential malware is removed. But, grateful I didn't pay him anything. Lesson learned and I hope this helps others from making the same mistake.

• Sep 14, 2021

Victim Location 87556
Type of a scam Tech Support

I was prompted by a pop up that said it was from Microsoft. The message indicated that my laptop had been hacked. I proceeded to call the number that was on the pop up message. From there they indicated that they were with Microsoft and had me run commands on my laptop and said that my identity had been stolen. They then asked me to provide my financial institution phone number and they would connect me to them. Then they proceeded to tell me that there was a pending charge on my credit card that would be taken out with 3 hours if I didn't go purchase prepaid credit cards. I got off the phone with this so called Microsoft/credit card representative and called my credit card on my own. They guaranteed me that there were no pending charges on my card. Please be vigilant about scams like this. They almost got me. If in doubt please reach out to your financial institution on your own, do not trust this number. Please don't fall for this scam as they are very convincing.

• Sep 02, 2021

Victim Location 83001
Total money lost $399.99
Type of a scam Tech Support

i had a contract with the company and at that time bob helped me with the computer... after using 2 years of services one day john dale called me and told me that my firewall is getting breached.. i trusted him and he told me to take my computer to local store or microsoft store.. as i am an old man i told him i can not take my computer so he offered the help and asked me to pay 399.99 on paypal. i payed him that money and again after 6 months he tries contacting me and left me a voicemail that somebody is trying to get in my computer.. i didnt trusted him.. and i told him that i have already payed so much money and i cannot afford more... dont talk to him as he a scammer and he is taking payments on paypal so report his paypal also... 315 636 5324

• Aug 17, 2021

Victim Location 88231
Type of a scam Tech Support

Locked my computer wanted info to unlock threatening to lock computer permanently due to Unauthorized activity

• Aug 11, 2021

Victim Location 76309
Type of a scam Fake Invoice/Supplier Bill

I received an email about a Windows Defender program purchase. The email says to call if I didn't purchase. I called the phone number and they told me to download a program to get a refund and uninstall the program. After I was finished, they said to call back with the new code and remote number. I stopped half way through the download and unplugged it from the internet. I did not call them back as requested.

Victim Location 85375
Type of a scam Tech Support

Microsoft warning that my computer had been hacked and to call the Microsoft 1-800 number which I did. The Tech stated all my TVs and cell phones had been hacked. Also, said my bank account had a debit 3000.00 to pay for a PornHub subscription at 4:44 am today.

Pretended to call the 1-800 number of my bank and insisted on finding out the exact balance of my checking acct. which at that point I hung up and had my husband call our bank to investigate any withdrawals from our account. NONE OF WHAT THIS PERSON SAID IS TRUE.

ITS ALL SCAM.

The Microsoft Tech's name was Stella Proper with employee # stmi9115r.

Private Microsoft phone number: 276-243-2689

Victim Location 88011
Type of a scam Tech Support

Warning signal on computer that my computer is being compromised by an outside source. Do not turn off computer or your computer will be hacked, call number on screen. Connected to technician who said the IP address in uncrypted and allowing for all my passwords and user names to be viewed. Wanted $699 to fix problem.

Victim Location 53210
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I was contacted about an online purchase in which I did not make. I sent a reply letting the bogus business know I was sending their attempt to collect money from me to ScamPulse.com

+1

Victim Location 53032
Type of a scam Tech Support

A customer stated they had a suspicious pop up on their computer while they were looking at banking information. They stated they did not download the program that popped up, but thought the phone number was suspicious. The phone number claimed to be "Microsoft Tech Support". When I called the number, there was no identification for Microsoft and when I asked what company the man worked for he said they work with all kinds like Dell and HP, but never once did he identify himself as a Microsoft employee. When I asked if this was a scam, he said no, I'm wrong, they are computer help support.

Victim Location 22405
Type of a scam Tech Support

I received an email from Alec Debuono at [email protected] claiming that my subscription for Microsoft security had expired and would be automatically renewed for $470.00 from my bank account. The number to call was listed as 844 300 7335. I spoke with a representative who said he worked for Vision ID Services at 1109 Hammer Road in Houston, Texas 77293 but I have no idea if this is accurate. He wanted me to pay and I refused. He wanted to access my computer remotely to remove the software and I refused.

Victim Location 22405
Type of a scam Tech Support

I received an email from Alec Debuono at [email protected] claiming that my subscription for Microsoft security had expired and would be automatically renewed for $470.00 from my bank account. The number to call was listed as 844 300 7335. I spoke with a representative who said he worked for Vision ID Services at 1109 Hammer Road in Houston, Texas 77293 but I have no idea if this is accurate. He wanted me to pay and I refused. He wanted to access my computer remotely to remove the software and I refused.

Check fields!

Report Microsoft Imposter


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit

Microsoft Imposter Contacts

If you know any contact information for Microsoft Imposter, help other victims by adding it!

Add new contacts
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New