Sign in

Spectrum

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Spectrum? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Spectrum Reports & Reviews (72)

• Sep 29, 2022

Victim Location 43055
Type of a scam Phishing

People claiming to be from Spectrum have called multiple times this week and today wanted to help my husband buy a phone. Then I got scam alert from Norton saying that someone had tried to open a SmartPay Leasing account in my name. We have already been scammed three times by Spectrum trying to purchase phones on our accounts. They just keep calling multiple times a day.

• Sep 28, 2022

Scammer's phone 833 299-2004
Scammer's website The Prize Hut
Scammer's address ?
Scammer's email ?
Country United States
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes
Initial means of contact Not applicable

Scammer's phone 888-739-9054
Scammer's website ?
Scammer's address ?
Scammer's email ?
Country United States
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes
Initial means of contact Website

Prizehut/Fitnesshub/Spectrum Scam
a page popped up from Spectrum(who is my internet provider) that I had been chosen as a "winner" of prizes listed below. Just click on the one I wanted. I chose the tv. I only had to pay $1.95 shipping charge. I thought I read the fine print but evidently not. My bank account was charged $1.95 AND a separate charge of $99.95 twice. I called the number on my statement 833-299-2004, which asked me to furnish my cell phone, name, email address and they would look up my account (which I did not say I wanted to sign up for an account) The person’s name was Erica that was hard to understand, who agreed to cancel my "subscription" and any future charges, as well as 20% of the $99.95. I told her that I did not agree to any charges or subscription. She told me that I should of read the terms, which I did. I kept trying to explain to her that I did not agree to anything except a 1.95 shipping fee and I want all my money back. She then agreed to give me 50% back and that was all. And said that if I didn’t like that offer, she would hang up on me and wouldn’t give me anything back. She told me that in the future, not to give out my banking information, so this wouldn’t happen again. I asked for the name of the company she represented and got Prizehut which lead my to your website. HELP! I would like my $201.85 back. I hope Someone can help me with this problem. Thank you.

• Sep 23, 2022

Victim Location 43215
Type of a scam Phishing

I received a call this morning on my landline from a man who said he was with Spectrum. He had a foreign accent. He said he wanted to upgrade my box but would have to pay a $99.99 deposit. He said I could pay with a check or money order. He told me to turn my TV off, then turn it on. I reported the call to Spectrum.

• Sep 23, 2022

Victim Location 43230
Type of a scam Counterfeit Product

Scammer asked if we were happy with our internet provider (the callers company). When I answered no, was asked for my home address and he pulled up my account. The scam: they will provide extra services for two years at reduced rates since I’m loyal customer. Needed credit card info to process.

• Sep 22, 2022

Victim Location 90804
Type of a scam Utility

I am now a former Spectrum customer and wanted to share my experience on 9/18/2022.

I called Spectrum in August and September of 2022 to make sure that my Internet will be transferred smoothly from my former place to my new place without any issues. I was told that I just needed to bring my equipment to my new place and hook it in without any issues.

When I connected the modem & router at my new place, I wasn’t able to connect to the Internet so I called Spectrum customer service. The first woman I spoke with, Trish, spent one full hour trying to sell me on cable TV and cell phone services after I repeatedly told her no and that I only wanted help with my Internet since I was in the middle of a move (with movers!). She told me she heard me but that I need to tell her what I watched on TV and who my cell phone providers were. I told her that I already had this conversation with former agents and I’m not interested and she said “well, you haven’t talked to me yet.” The way she tried to sell me products was so frustrating because she wouldn’t listen to me and kept asking how much I was paying for my cell phone and what I was watching. I told her repeatedly that I was in the middle of a move and I only wanted help with my Internet set up. Because of her, I spent a total of 2.5 hours on the phone during my move.

Before she transferred me to another agent, she snuck in one free week of cable television and directly asked for the last 4 digits of my IMEI on my phone to get me “better cell phone service” to transfer my cell phone providers. She didn’t even ask if I wanted the free week of cable and just added it to my account. I said no, please do not add anything and she said okay and transferred me to another agent.

After being transferred to multiple agents, they all told me that my Internet was removed and that cable was added. Additionally, I received equipment for cable tv the following day and had to make an extra trip to the store to return it. Because of Trish, the last agent I spoke with couldn’t even put me back into my former internet plan of $39.99 500 mbps (to match frontier when I first called in August to potentially cancel and switch providers) bc my account had too many pending transactions. Now I have to either call back the following day or wait for the last agent that I spoke with to call me back. He never called me back. The leadership team who was supposed to return my call regarding this issue (Ashland? 407-942-8620) also never returned my phone call after discussing with him that I needed an answer whether he can place me back onto my former plan or I’ll just switch (which I should've done in hindsight). He reassured that he’ll call me back asap on 9/21 to see if he can add me back onto my former plan but the investigation into the customer representatives who committed fraud will take 3-5 days. He never called me back or returned my phone call when I called him.

This has been the worst customer experience of my life and felt like Trish, and all the customer service representatives, failed me and we're only interested in their own commission. Be sure to never give them your actual cell phone provider or any personal information because Trish kept prolonging the conversation and trying to get more and more information just to transfer my services without my permission.

I’m now with Frontier. No hassle and straight forward service. They also an offer 500 mbps for $39.99 and $100 Visa gift card if you sign up.

• Sep 22, 2022

Victim Location 54947
Type of a scam Utility

Automated call that said from Spectrum, press one, for money saving promotion. Pressed one, an offshore voice told me Spectrum was running a promo for their existing customers, asked my zip code, then told me I could save $16.85 per month for one year. They knew I used auto payment & the exact amount of my bill. They also new the last 4 digits of the credit card used for the payment. To get the deal I had to pay my current bill right away. I agreed to this, & they transferred me to someone else to process my current payment, his name was Jake. I gave him the credit card number, he said it would process under promo name of Quaertech. If I had questions I could call Jake back at 915-615-7563 x8041.

My credit card (Capital One) declined the transaction and Jake called me back & wanted me to call my credit card company and approve the transaction. I said no & told him I thought this was a scam and hung-up.

The credit card company said they tried to process the card 3 times. They canceled the card & are issuing a new one.

• Sep 21, 2022

Victim Location 36574
Type of a scam Tech Support

09/10/2022 I called Spectrum to order a PPV. I got a rep or so i thought, he was a foreign man and after giving him my ph # for which my account was under he pulled up all my info & I went ahead and confirmed who i was and what i wanted, he informed me it would cost $101.12 up front, it seemed high to me, but we ordered from dish before so didnt think nothing of it prior to getting spectrum and it was 75.00. After giving him all the cc info he had me on hold for quite some time, came back and said to verify the # on the text i got & it was a text from spectrum again or so ii thought and i gave it to him like a dummy, its seems this person somehow intercepted my call to spectrum. after giving the code i was on hold again, then we got disconnected. When i called back i got an English speaking rep told her the situation & she informed me i was scammed somehow they spoofed the phone call & they no longer have you order PPV over the phone anymore, On my bank account it reads the money was taken from my account under this name & # WPY*SAT LINKS 916-246-6063 looked it up https://satlinksint.com/ funny how after i filed a complaint with bbb i get a call from a foreign guy named Michael Emerson informs me hes the MGR for Spectrum & calling about my ScamPulse.com complaint, when it had nothing to do with the true Spectrum company. He says it was all a misunderstanding & refunding the money back onto the card, I had the card already cut off & the fraud dept was notified prior to him calling me, and for the last 2 days this whoever they are tried hitting the card 20x for various amounts. Thankfully none went through & the account is being watched by the fraud dept. All of this Makes me want to cancel my spectrum account. the #s I get called from are 707-613-2427, 707-345-1078,855-707-732, & 315-320-3526

• Sep 02, 2022

Victim Location 36832
Type of a scam Phishing

someone from the number above called to say that they were calling from Spectrum and asked for last for digits of my SS I did not give it to them becuase I knew it was a scam when she asked for it. Say they could save anyone over 50 on their bill

• Aug 22, 2022

Victim Location 45338
Type of a scam Phishing

The phone number appeared on caller iD as Spectrum

The person had a strong accent and hard to understand

He had my husbands birthdate and asked for me to verify our spectrum account number so that he

Could lower our bill $100 per month. That it was a promotional discount.

I am not sure what he wants with this info other than to record my voice and do crimes with it.

Please beware

• Aug 05, 2022

Spectrum Ebay scam

I returned a call that had left a message on my phone as being from Spectrum Internet regarding lowering my bill for low income households. While I waited for a live person to answer there was a recording "Thank you for calling Spectrum...". Sounded legit. Long story short, I only gave my address and he responded with my name..( no, I did
not give my SS or any other info).then approved me for lower rates, but I needed to pay with an Ebay gift card. I immediately knew better and told him"never mind, Im not interested" and hung up.

• Aug 02, 2022

Victim Location 76310
Total money lost $540
Type of a scam Phishing

I was texted by this company right after I had upgraded my services with Spectrum. They said there was a promotion to save me half price for two years if I paid 6 months in advance. They said the promotion was with EBAy so I had to use Ebay cards to pay to get promotion. They emailed me an invoice with the number to call when I paid. I did as they said and thought all was fine. Today they texted me that there was a problem with Ebay cards and that I needed to get them again and after I paid they would refund my money. That is when I finally became suspicious and called Spectrum back at the number on my bill and found this was a scam.

• Jul 30, 2022

They had my email and they sent me a bill from spectrum and then they took the money from the bill and said they will give me 50% off because I'm in a low income house and I had to pay 5 months in advance so I gave him $320 card from eBay and then the next day they said they will fight in with CVS so I had to go do it Walgreens and they're going to refund my 320 from the other day it was all a fraud and then when I went on Google to complain to eBay they had their number as the eBay number and they tried to get the rest of the money out of my chime card

• Jul 21, 2022

Victim Location 63301
Type of a scam Online Purchase

We received an email offering us a 50% discount on our cable services for 2 years. They wanted us to go to Walgreens and purchase 3 ebay gift cards for $365.00. I called the ScamPulse.com to get guidance.

• Jul 18, 2022

Victim Location 01507
Type of a scam Phishing

Assume this was a phishing scam. We were left a message that we were entitled to a 50% discount on our account. Instructed to call 833-623-1802 between 8-5 PST. I called Spectrum and confirm they were not offering this discount. I did not call the potential scammer. I expect that they would have wanted me to provide my account number and other information and I would not want to give them this information unless I knew for sure they were part of Spectrum.

+1
• Jul 15, 2022

Victim Location 45419
Type of a scam Phishing

I received a text message that read: "It is SPECTRUM and services have been suspended. To restore service, visit www.spectrum.net/support/myaccount/pay-my-bill. STOP to unsubscribe."

I called Spectrum and confirmed that my account was in good standing. Additionally, Spectrum confirmed they see no system text messages initiated on my account.

• Jul 15, 2022

Victim Location 53149
Total money lost $50
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I called Spectrum Cable yesterday and changed my service so that I am paying about $50 less a month. It is 3 days into the new billing cycle but I still pay for the whole month at the higher rater. How is that legal? They are collecting for services not provided.

Why is this not prorated?

• Jun 29, 2022

Victim Location 54157
Type of a scam Utility

Someone called my number saying they were with Spectrum and wanted to lower my Spectrum bill. They offered to give me better Wi-Fi and were going to send me a new router.

• Jun 28, 2022

Victim Location 53209
Type of a scam Phishing

Scammers called promising 50% off my Spectrum bill.

• Jun 22, 2022

Victim Location 44866
Type of a scam Phishing

They asked for what I was paying spectrum and they could lower my bill and then wanted the birth date of the person on the bill then the security code on the bill and then the social security number of that person on the bill. I said no way this is a scam and hung up.

+1
• Jun 17, 2022

1-800-501-2841

Foreign caller saying from Spectrum offering to lower my monthly bill by 50% for two years if I pay for the first 6 months ($600) upfront.
I called Spectrum and no such thing is available. SCAM!

+2
Check fields!

Report Spectrum


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit

Spectrum Contacts

Phone:


If you know any contact information for Spectrum, help other victims by adding it!

Add new contacts
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New