Sign in

Paypal Imposter

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Paypal Imposter? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Paypal Imposter Reports & Reviews (52)

• Jun 05, 2021

Victim Location 11972
Type of a scam Other

Trying to sell on fb marketplace, was contacted to purchase my item through PayPal. They listed the name as ******** ******** item was to be shipped to ***** ****** ** **** ** ** ** **** *****. Shipped out item, was scammed out of 2 500$ payments. The PayPal account was so real, I questioned it but still trusted. Asked to send overpayments through zelle after the fact. Message me throughout the entire process.

• May 31, 2021

Victim Location 98407
Type of a scam Phishing

To my knowledge I do not have a PayPal account. I cancelled my subscription/membership at least 10 years ago.

the below email is the third I've received: I have not called the phone number listed. Also I turned them into Apple.

"Good morning,

Dear Respected Sir/Madam,

Your PayPal Account logged from another device.

IP Address of Device: 851.74.635.98

Order Confirmation (JHGJYHC656SHJ)

Registration Payment Transaction ID: - (65169XCS95965SC)

You have sent a payment of $256.98 from Your PayPal Account if you want to cancel this payment Or Approve This Payment Kindly Call us on +1 (620) 712-3190

As a security measure, we routinely monitor account activity to prevent fraudulent use of our customer’s accounts.

We noticed some unusual activity on your PayPal account and are concerned about potential unauthorized access. Your PayPal account is being charged with $256.98

We want to confirm that this Purchase is made by you or not and if you want to cancel this payment or Approve

This Payment Kindly Call US on +1 (620) 712-3190 with your account until you take action.

Your PayPal account is being charged with $680.60 We Want to confirm that this Purchase is made by you or not and if you want to cancel this payment or approve This Payment Kindly call us on +1 (620) 712-3190 going on?

We noticed some unusual activity on your PayPal account and are concerned about potential unauthorized account access.

What do I need to do?

If you need help or have any questions, call us at +1 (620) 712-3190

Sincerely,

PayPal

Toll free +1 (620) 712-3190U.S. (corporate headquarters)

Address - 31 San Jose California U.S. 97523"

• May 03, 2021

Victim Location 44112
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I have received several of these emails about things that I haven't ordered and that I owed 199.99 by a certain date.

• Apr 29, 2021

Victim Location 06708
Type of a scam Identity Theft

I got an email that said if I did not make this purchase to call this number I called the number the man told me not to call my bank that they will not help me I have to go through him he told me to download an app and then when I read the agreement and didn’t want to agree to it because it said that they will be recording all of my personal information from my phone he demanded I believe what he says and not what I’m reading!! I called my bank!!

• Apr 26, 2021

Victim Location 84657
Type of a scam Tech Support

Got an email that was supposed to be from PayPal Email ID PP843. The email stated that my PayPal order for an iPhone 12 was confirmed (with Transaction ID -6xsdres548fds21587) and that I'd sent a payment of $894.99 USD through PayPal to [email protected] and that the phone was being sent from ebay to Amanda Fayette , Bentley Park, Queensland 4869, Australia. They also stated that I could view the transaction details by logging in to the PayPal account link provided. Then they gave the statement that "if this wasn't you, Please call immediately at the link for 1-833-368-5296 to report this incident and block this transaction." However, the information and links were NOT from PayPal. When I went online, and checked my own PayPal account, there was NO charge for an iPhone.

• Apr 20, 2021

Victim Location 35079
Total money lost $2,000
Type of a scam Phishing

I received an email from whom I thought was PalPal stating there was a charge of $897.44 on my account and if I didn’t make a purchase in that amount to call the number in the email. I panicked and called it. Long story short they said they would help me fill out a form so they could put money back in my checking account that was taken for the purchase. Was asked to put the amount of $897 on the form when I looked over the form it seemed as though I made a mistake and put 8974 in other words taken over $8000 to replace the money. I felt terrible that it was going to go against them and they would be held accountable for the money and they would probably lose their jobs. I actually did what I was told to do by getting the first $2000 at target in gift cards. I know I am a fool for believing them. They also retrieved the email so I don’t have a copy

• Feb 19, 2021

Victim Location 39213
Type of a scam Phishing

I was calling to get an update on a dispute that I have tried to settle for over two weeks. The man asked me to download an app called AnyDesk, which screen records your info via phone. He asked me to add $2,499 to my cash app to verify my identity for a refund of $37.78 from an ordered that I never received. I added it and quickly cashed out and disabled my cards and changed all of my pins and passwords across every app that holds my personal information. He became angry when I asked him to verify his name so I could report him for his rude demeanor. He told me that if I didn’t go through with it, that he would permanently close my PayPal account, freeze my bank account and send me a $500 bill to reinstate everything for use. These people are sick and should be in jail. My money is supposed to go back into my account on Tuesday. I just pray that it does.

• Feb 05, 2021

Victim Location 72855
Type of a scam Other

PayPal money that belongs to me and I told them to send me a check and they said they would send it only if I give them my Gmail password I refused now they refuse to give me my money

• Jan 29, 2021

Victim Location 55428
Type of a scam Phishing

I received an email from Marcus Alexander regarding PayPal membership with PayPal Gifts. I needed to call them or my membership will automatically be charged. I do not have a PayPal account and never have. I called their number. I was asked fir a reference number. I then was told my personal Visa was charged 721.00. I must have been hacked. I said I would check with my bank and call back. I called my bank. There was no charge for 721.00. Their policy is to call me asking if a charge like that went on my account becaus my charge history shows I don’t make large purchases. Thanks so much for my banks policy. I feel confident I won’t ever have an unauthorized charge.

• Jan 08, 2021

Victim Location 72727
Total money lost $500
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I received an email from PayPal stating that my account was limited. So I googled PayPal customer service to make sure that it was legitimate; and called the number.

The scammer said that my account was indeed locked and that I needed to purchase PlayStation cards to unlock the account.

He said I had to purchase large amounts because there was a certain level I had to hit in order to clear out and restart my account.

He got me for $500. And as an older person that’s not money I have to spare.

• Nov 14, 2020

I got scanned for $400.00 by this imposter

• Nov 03, 2020

Victim Location 27606
Type of a scam Phishing

The email said I had purchased $500 in bitcoin. When I called the number on the email to protest, they told me I had taken out a $5000 loan with Paypal and this, as well as 2 other purchases, were made against that loan. To fix the error I was told to go to Target and buy 3 $150 Google Play cards so they could "verify my identity" as the person who owned this particular Paypal account. By this time I was sensing something wasn't right. So, I put in a call to the Paypal phone number on their website and was told that it was a scam.

• Nov 01, 2020

Victim Location 94541
Type of a scam Phishing

Attempts to get me to open my PayPal by claiming it had been suspended.

• Oct 08, 2020

Victim Location 96701
Type of a scam Credit Cards

Scammer claimed there was a $399 charge to my pay pal card (which I do not have one) that was successfully charged. If that is incorrect for me to call 833 4730147 right away.

• Sep 30, 2020

Victim Location 98027
Type of a scam Phishing

I got an email that LOOKED exactly like it was from Paypal. It said that I had reached my account limit and that they needed to confirm my identity before they could remove the limits from my account. Then a red lettered warning popped up saying that this is a dangerous site that was trying to scam me. So I got out of it right away and came to the ScamPulse.com page to report it.

I think it was my viral protecting program, which is McAfee , that warned me.

• Sep 18, 2020

Victim Location 54956
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I have received several emails from PayPal stating that I owe PayPal money for items that I did not purchase. These items cost hundreds of dollars, being shipped to people I do not know. I have never used PayPal, so I don't know how they got my information, including my email address..

• Aug 21, 2020

Victim Location 53224
Total money lost $75
Type of a scam Bank/Credit Card Company Imposter Scam

Dear PayPal, as of yesterday I Connie would like to let you know that I received my bicycle seat yesterday that I ordered through you. With that said, I call your toll-free number to talk with your customer service to repay the $25.25.

And your customer service man name mark told me to go and buy a Google Play Card for $25.00 at Walgreen Store in order

to pay you back for the $ 25.25 order. He told us to stay on the phone while driving to Walgreens so we can get the right type of card. We proceeded and did what he asked while he was on the phone and we drove to Walgreen and purchased the one cards. But he then told us to give him the numbers on back of the google play cards that he requested us to buy. After that he told us the server ran out of time and that the card we just purchase could no longer be used because it needed two cards to work. But the only way he could give us our money back is to go and purchase one more card of the amount of $50 so he could override the server which we did. And then he said the server needed two cards and this is the only way to get our money back. So, we tried to pay back $25.25 and he took $75 from us by requesting to buy two google play cards $25 and $50. We have the two cards and proof of purchase. We would like this money to be refunded to us. This is the number who the representative said they was PayPal 1 850-204-4159 at 4:07 pm and at one point we lost connection and they call back at 1-805-420-2240 at 4:37pm

Victim Location 53144
Type of a scam Bank/Credit Card Company Imposter Scam

requesting email address and access code to PayPal using a facsimile of PayPal site and request to update file.

Victim Location 83704
Type of a scam Phishing

I use Paypal for some small purchases and feel comfortable using their. This e-mail was addressed to me and made it through Outlook's normal junk e-mail filter. It says that there has been suspicious activity on my account and that they have suspended use until that is resolved. The next page begins to ask for my basic information; name address telephone number, etc. That is when I got concerned and through my other browser, signed to my Paypal account. There is no problem with my account. This scam impressed me. The site sure looked real. . .

Victim Location 54896
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I ordered several items on line the First week of November. Unfortunately I do not specically know which site I ordered from that contaned a paypal pop-up. I had already submitted my credit card inrormation on the site from a reputable business. After doing that a paypal popup came up and it stated I had to submit my information and credit card through them. I just thought that was how the business accepted payment and submitted it. A few days later I recieved an email from "pay-pal" informing me they were charging me $348.99 for a charge I made to Micro security. I had never heard of this company. I had not ordered anything that would be that much money. I immediately emailed that I had not authorized the charge. I also called a phone number contained in the email indicating the charge would go through in 10 days unless I notified them not to. When I called there was a person with a heavy middle-eastern accent that answered. I could barely hear what he was saying with the amount of other people talking in the background. I knew he and his company were a fraud and told him I was going to contact Law enforcement. He hung up when I said that.

Check fields!

Report Paypal Imposter


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Paypal Imposter Contacts

If you know any contact information for Paypal Imposter, help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New