Sign in

Microsoft

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Microsoft? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Microsoft Reports & Reviews (620)

• Feb 19, 2021

Victim Location 58103
Type of a scam Other

3 differnet screens came on as I was reading some information on my computer along with a dialogue saying computer was compromised & to call a #. I could not do anything with my computer so I called. She said she was from Microsoft & would walk me through a few things - as she asked questions which would cause one to say yes, I tried to say "I do" or "I did" after about 8 questions, she was no longer on the line. I called back to the number & a man answered - asked what company I had called and he asked what company were you calling - he would not give me an answer. The number was 1-888-269-4104.

• Feb 16, 2021

Victim Location 76043
Type of a scam Tech Support

It is a popup that appears when online. I did not respond but feel certain it is fraudulent. It says "Windows Defender Security Online" Access to this computer has been blocked for security reasons. Your computer has alerted us that it has been infected with a trojan spyware. The following data has been compromised: email credentials, banking passwords, facebook login, pictures and documents, windows-defender scan has found potentially unwanted adware on this device that can steal your passwords, online identity, financial information, personal files, pictures or documents. You must contact us immediately so that our engineers can work you through the removal process over the phone. Call Microsoft support immediately to report this threat, prevent identity theft, and unlock access to this device. Closing this window will put your personal information at risk and lead to a suspension of your windows registration. Error # (was listed) Call Microsoft support: +1-844-303-5567 (USA-toll-free)

• Feb 06, 2021

Victim Location 44067
Type of a scam Tech Support

I never order anything like this. I don't even use Microsoft

These people keep sending this email over and over again to me. I'm worrying that they going to take money from credit cards or other accounts of mine.

• Feb 04, 2021

Victim Location 70002
Type of a scam Tech Support

call states that if we didn't want fee to be charged to our acct. would have to submit cancellation form. When you advise you didnt authorize fee they hang up

• Dec 04, 2020

Victim Location 75703
Type of a scam Identity Theft

Caller was on screen and got a flashing warning and he followed through the warnings and made follow up phone calls. Rick Cordy? @ BBVA's ph# (or so he was given and did speak with him) at 315-304-8392.

• Nov 23, 2020

Victim Location 64831
Type of a scam Tech Support

Recieved a call from someone who claimed to be named Alice from Microsoft, telling me they had detected an issue with my computer, and that she was calling to help me repair it.

• Oct 09, 2020

Type of a scam Identity Theft

Found my computer frozen with a Microsoft screen stating that my computer had been hacked and gave me a phone number to call. When I did I was led down a "garden path" allowing them complete access to all my information, including bank accounts. They "claimed" they were hooking me up with my bank (TD) to stop 3 "pending transactions" which added up to my exact funds in Savings and Current Accounts. They directed me to go to my back and withdraw all those funds so it could be placed in a "secure wallet" which they would direct me to.

I went to bank...no pending transactions. Bank helped me in changing all my accounts. Computer person "cleaned" my computer, hopefully they are no longer on. I feel very foolish!

• Aug 25, 2020

Victim Location 79104
Type of a scam Tech Support

We had a pop-up on our computer on Friday 8/21/2020 that said they were Microsoft. They said an alert had come to them that a company from China had put Child Porn on our computer and they could remove it for $1,000 in gift cards. That's when we knew something wasn't right. Unfortunately the wanted access to our cell phone too. We called the police department and they told us to call the ScamPulse.com who was very helpful in recommending someone to clean our computer.

• Aug 20, 2020

Victim Location 58103
Type of a scam Identity Theft

My mom tried to login to Internet Explorer on her laptop and it said the computer had been locked due to an identity theft virus and someone had been trying to get into websites using her IP address. It said to call 888-304-1236 to get the issue resolved. Upon calling the number, they asked for name and internet provider, which she gave. They, then, said they "checked" and she was hacked by people in China and Russia. They said they would fix the problem in 1hour and she should leave the computer turned on. They, then, asked if she had a credit card and where she does her banking. That's when she hung up and turned off the computer.

• Aug 17, 2020

Victim Location 44846
Type of a scam Tech Support

They said I needed to renew my subscription and to call a phone number.

There is no example as it was on my landline.

• Aug 08, 2020

Victim Location 40214
Type of a scam Tech Support

Calls to land line saying possible computer hijacking and exposure of social security number and told to punch number to speak to Microsoft agent.

• Aug 06, 2020

Victim Location 44333
Type of a scam Other

Entered By ScamPulse.com staff MW (8/6/20)

I received a call from a company stating that I need to cancel my subscription or I would be charged $300 dollars. I do not own a computer nor have internet at home.

• Aug 05, 2020

Victim Location 85701
Type of a scam Tech Support

They called about my computer and owing $99. I said i dont own a computer and they hung up on me.

• Jul 28, 2020

Victim Location 35802
Type of a scam Credit Cards

Dear Customer,

Thanks for using Windows Defender Advanced Threat Protection. This is an important notification. The Subscription has been Auto Renewed for 2 years & Your account has been Pre Authorised for $299.99

It has been auto Renewed as per E-Sign Agreement Singed by You at the TIme of registration. Thank you for the Completion of your 1 year.

We tried to contact you on your registered number for queries but could not get through

Payment Information

Windows Defender Advanced Threat Protection

Fire Wall & Network Protection

$299.00

Total

$299.00

P.S if you did not place this order then Please call us to Support Team on +1

833 320 9885

(claims Department) Kindly ignore if aleardy claimed.

You have 24 hrs to refund this charge from the date of the transaction without being charges.

Our support team will gladly assist you with any questions or requests you may have ? simply contact us through our dedicated channels:

It may take a few hours for this transaction to appear in your account.

Cheers,

The Billing Team

+1 833 320 9885

This Email was sent from a notification-only address that cannot accept incoming email.please do not reply to this message

• Jul 24, 2020

Victim Location 85705
Total money lost $9.99
Type of a scam Other

Microsoft, in partnership with postmates, is advertising a 3 month free membership for postmates as one of their perks for having another subscription through Microsoft. When claimed, you will still receive charges to your account as the free 3 month subscription advertised bt microsoft is a scam. Postmates has not responded to my complaint. When I contacted Microsoft to inform them their customers are being scammed by a perk they are advertising and giving away, they hung up on me.

• Jul 22, 2020

Victim Location 43074
Type of a scam Tech Support

Not sure of actual company name, they claim to be Microsoft. They claim that "our Microsoft License" has been compromised. Requesting payment of 500 dollars. Typical phishing/tech support scam. targeting my elderly parents.

• Jul 16, 2020

Victim Location 78237
Type of a scam Tech Support

They call stating they need to update their Microsoft id. She tried to tell them they do not have a computer and started to curse at her

• Jul 13, 2020

Victim Location 76542
Type of a scam Tech Support

My Internet Connection was hacker saying: "Your Internet Connection was Suspended due to suspicios activities by Hackers. This is Microsoft; please contact us at (888) 524-3645." After calling the number the person identified himself as Jimmy Gyoner and identified himself as a Microsoft Security Analyst. At that point he stated they monitored some suspicious in my computer and wanted to run some test to identify the source of the hackers. I purposely played his game to see whats he was trying to do. I had disconnected all devises to include all hard drives. I asked to verify an alternate number that I can call him and he provided me (209) 322-7151. All this occurred on Saturday, 11 July 2020.

Later during the day I called him at the 209 number and he told me the test will run for 17 hours. Later on the last call, I informed him that I was a former Senior Information Security Specialist with the United States Army and that some of the information he was asking I would not provide to him. This case was reported to Microsoft and it is registered under Case #1007547705. Credit cards identified by the individual where cancelled the same day and all passwords related are being changed accordingly. I tried to contact Advanced Identity Protector to report this incident and they have no contact number available. All their applications are now removed from my PC.

• Jul 06, 2020

Victim Location 63459
Total money lost $8,500
Type of a scam Tech Support

My computer was acting up and then a message came on the blank screen that said I had a virus and criminal activity on my computer. It gave me a number to call Microsoft for assistance. I called, and the first gentleman told me that someone from China had accessed my bank account through hacking into my computer and had taken 4 different amounts from my account. He transferred me to a manager who wanted me to take some money out of my bank to help cover the cost of the amounts taken and they would put it back after they had cut off access to the hackers. I took $8500 out of savings and checking as he requested, put it pre-paid gift cards, and gave them the numbers. Then I tried to contact them again, and couldn't reach anyone. I spoke to the ScamPulse.com and discovered I'd been scammed.

• Jul 01, 2020

Victim Location 76082
Type of a scam Tech Support

Claimed to be calling from Microsoft about something on my computer being hacked at the fault of Microsoft and I was entitled to $300 compensation

Check fields!

Report Microsoft


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Microsoft Contacts

If you know any contact information for Microsoft, help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New