Sign in

Microsoft

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Microsoft? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Microsoft Reports & Reviews (611)

• Aug 25, 2020

Victim Location 79104
Type of a scam Tech Support

We had a pop-up on our computer on Friday 8/21/2020 that said they were Microsoft. They said an alert had come to them that a company from China had put Child Porn on our computer and they could remove it for $1,000 in gift cards. That's when we knew something wasn't right. Unfortunately the wanted access to our cell phone too. We called the police department and they told us to call the ScamPulse.com who was very helpful in recommending someone to clean our computer.

• Aug 20, 2020

Victim Location 58103
Type of a scam Identity Theft

My mom tried to login to Internet Explorer on her laptop and it said the computer had been locked due to an identity theft virus and someone had been trying to get into websites using her IP address. It said to call 888-304-1236 to get the issue resolved. Upon calling the number, they asked for name and internet provider, which she gave. They, then, said they "checked" and she was hacked by people in China and Russia. They said they would fix the problem in 1hour and she should leave the computer turned on. They, then, asked if she had a credit card and where she does her banking. That's when she hung up and turned off the computer.

• Aug 17, 2020

Victim Location 44846
Type of a scam Tech Support

They said I needed to renew my subscription and to call a phone number.

There is no example as it was on my landline.

• Aug 08, 2020

Victim Location 40214
Type of a scam Tech Support

Calls to land line saying possible computer hijacking and exposure of social security number and told to punch number to speak to Microsoft agent.

• Aug 05, 2020

Victim Location 85701
Type of a scam Tech Support

They called about my computer and owing $99. I said i dont own a computer and they hung up on me.

• Jul 28, 2020

Victim Location 35802
Type of a scam Credit Cards

Dear Customer,

Thanks for using Windows Defender Advanced Threat Protection. This is an important notification. The Subscription has been Auto Renewed for 2 years & Your account has been Pre Authorised for $299.99

It has been auto Renewed as per E-Sign Agreement Singed by You at the TIme of registration. Thank you for the Completion of your 1 year.

We tried to contact you on your registered number for queries but could not get through

Payment Information

Windows Defender Advanced Threat Protection

Fire Wall & Network Protection

$299.00

Total

$299.00

P.S if you did not place this order then Please call us to Support Team on +1

833 320 9885

(claims Department) Kindly ignore if aleardy claimed.

You have 24 hrs to refund this charge from the date of the transaction without being charges.

Our support team will gladly assist you with any questions or requests you may have ? simply contact us through our dedicated channels:

It may take a few hours for this transaction to appear in your account.

Cheers,

The Billing Team

+1 833 320 9885

This Email was sent from a notification-only address that cannot accept incoming email.please do not reply to this message

• Jul 24, 2020

Victim Location 85705
Total money lost $9.99
Type of a scam Other

Microsoft, in partnership with postmates, is advertising a 3 month free membership for postmates as one of their perks for having another subscription through Microsoft. When claimed, you will still receive charges to your account as the free 3 month subscription advertised bt microsoft is a scam. Postmates has not responded to my complaint. When I contacted Microsoft to inform them their customers are being scammed by a perk they are advertising and giving away, they hung up on me.

• Jul 22, 2020

Victim Location 43074
Type of a scam Tech Support

Not sure of actual company name, they claim to be Microsoft. They claim that "our Microsoft License" has been compromised. Requesting payment of 500 dollars. Typical phishing/tech support scam. targeting my elderly parents.

• Jul 16, 2020

Victim Location 78237
Type of a scam Tech Support

They call stating they need to update their Microsoft id. She tried to tell them they do not have a computer and started to curse at her

• Jul 13, 2020

Victim Location 76542
Type of a scam Tech Support

My Internet Connection was hacker saying: "Your Internet Connection was Suspended due to suspicios activities by Hackers. This is Microsoft; please contact us at (888) 524-3645." After calling the number the person identified himself as Jimmy Gyoner and identified himself as a Microsoft Security Analyst. At that point he stated they monitored some suspicious in my computer and wanted to run some test to identify the source of the hackers. I purposely played his game to see whats he was trying to do. I had disconnected all devises to include all hard drives. I asked to verify an alternate number that I can call him and he provided me (209) 322-7151. All this occurred on Saturday, 11 July 2020.

Later during the day I called him at the 209 number and he told me the test will run for 17 hours. Later on the last call, I informed him that I was a former Senior Information Security Specialist with the United States Army and that some of the information he was asking I would not provide to him. This case was reported to Microsoft and it is registered under Case #1007547705. Credit cards identified by the individual where cancelled the same day and all passwords related are being changed accordingly. I tried to contact Advanced Identity Protector to report this incident and they have no contact number available. All their applications are now removed from my PC.

• Jul 06, 2020

Victim Location 63459
Total money lost $8,500
Type of a scam Tech Support

My computer was acting up and then a message came on the blank screen that said I had a virus and criminal activity on my computer. It gave me a number to call Microsoft for assistance. I called, and the first gentleman told me that someone from China had accessed my bank account through hacking into my computer and had taken 4 different amounts from my account. He transferred me to a manager who wanted me to take some money out of my bank to help cover the cost of the amounts taken and they would put it back after they had cut off access to the hackers. I took $8500 out of savings and checking as he requested, put it pre-paid gift cards, and gave them the numbers. Then I tried to contact them again, and couldn't reach anyone. I spoke to the ScamPulse.com and discovered I'd been scammed.

• Jul 01, 2020

Victim Location 76082
Type of a scam Tech Support

Claimed to be calling from Microsoft about something on my computer being hacked at the fault of Microsoft and I was entitled to $300 compensation

• Jun 18, 2020

Victim Location 38654
Type of a scam Other

I was told it was for a firewall service that I would be charged if I didn't call to cancel. Dummy me called since it was 499.00 and after a very long process and giving them access to my computer (which I am still scared that they have) they asked me to log into my banking account. I said NO! I would log in from another computer. After providing copy of my driver's license and giving them my credit card information they issued an e-check (as they called) it. It was made dout for 1,000.00! they wanted me to send them 500.00 because they said the company would not allow them to issue a check for less than 1,000.00. I told them no and that I wanted access back to my computer and that I was going to report them to Microsoft and hung up. I have copies of the original email sent, the completed refund form and a copy of the check. If you notice the email acutally says Microsoft, but in small print the check says Microassit! I don't know how to contact Microsoft directly but I am contacting my bank to cancel my credit card.

• Jun 07, 2020

Victim Location 89506
Type of a scam Tech Support

Alert message popped up on computer screen identifying itself as microsoft and it Informed me to call their number immediately due to virus attack? I was unable to close out any windows that I had open. The screen was frozen. When I called they had remote access into computer and said I had a virus and they will help fix the problem and then informed me that in order to prevent the computer to crash I need to purchase security for $300. I declined the offer even when they said they can give a $100 dollar discount at which I said no and then they offered to accept payments. After stating that they cleaned up the computer for free the phone conversation ended. I was told to wait for them to finish and and I should be able to log back in after the restart. I could not log in with my password, called them back and was just told they could not help. Took computer into local store for help and had to have it swiped clean. Fortunately had important documents already backed up on a hard drive. Cost was $100 for the tech support at the local computer store.

• Jun 05, 2020

Victim Location 27045
Total money lost $181
Type of a scam Phishing

"Sam" came into her PC and it went black. He called her & she has talked to him several times because she wanted to get her PC working again with security. She didn't give him any information, but he bought 2 game cards from Amazon (she heard him doing this on the phone) and they were sent to her for $181. Amazon would not let her return them to Amazon. She hasn't called the CC company yet. This began last Friday, May 29 and she just received the game cards today. Yesterday she got a call from Quick Silver Capitol One about a $99.99 cent potential fraudulent purchase.

• May 03, 2020

Victim Location 45840
Type of a scam Tech Support

I received two emails from someone with an outlook address. Claiming my IP address on my computer has violated the Information Technology Act of 1996. They put Blacklist in the header. Thing is they have the wrong IP address. Second they typed I would lose my Windows license and all activities if I do not call this number that was in the email. It is synced with my phone so the second email shows a Mac address which I do not have anything with a Mac number. Thought I better let you know someone is doing this during the COVID 19.

• May 01, 2020

Victim Location 70126
Type of a scam Identity Theft

I was locked out of my computer. I was in the process of searching the web for a trimmer part when all of a sudden I got a message from Firefox security and my computer was locked. There was a number listed to call for assistance. I called for assistance and was directed to go to several web locations: helpme.com, fastsupport.com. I followed directions even to the point of giving access to my computer. I thought I was talking with Microsoft. It was not until I noticed some of my desktop icons were moved. The service was taking a while to correct when I started feeling uncertain about my assistance. I informed her (Natashia) that I had to end the assistance and asked for a return number. The return number given was 1-888-919-0525. When I called continuously I got a busy signal. The Icons were documents that included social security numbers of myself and my husband. At least 3 of the icons had either tax or 401K scripted. I am horrified at this point that I allowed his to happen. I need to know if there is anything I can get help with, what steps do I take next.

• Apr 28, 2020

Victim Location 95370
Type of a scam Tech Support

they were trying to gain remote acess to my computer.

• Feb 26, 2020

Victim Location 85730
Type of a scam Phishing

Claimed that I bought computer software and they took $299 from my bank account. They were rude and called back to back for two days. When i asked for a refund he asked for all my banking information.

• Feb 21, 2020

Victim Location 85701
Type of a scam Phishing

Calling pretending to be Microsoft and saying they overcharged me and they owe me a refund. They asked for a paypal account and after they know you don't have one they ask for banking information. Claim that I had this coverage before.

Check fields!

Report Microsoft


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Microsoft Contacts

If you know any contact information for Microsoft, help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New