Sign in

Microsoft

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Microsoft? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Microsoft Reports & Reviews (637)

• Sep 21, 2021

Victim Location 44011
Type of a scam Tech Support

A warning suddenly came up on my computer that seemed to be from Microsoft that said my laptop had been hacked and gave a number to call. The "technician" I got had such a bad accent I could barely understand him, but I figured he was legit because he really seemed to be from Microsoft. He gave his name as Aiden Harper, his ID as 9089733 (or....83, not sure) and his IP address as 192.168.1.100. I downloaded something that gave him remote access to my computer. He poked around after having me press the Windows and R keys, and the Windows and D keys. Eventually, he forwarded my call to another Microsoft "expert" who had me download another program that also gave him remote access. I was starting to get suspicious at this point and said why do I need another download, etc, but I -- stupidly -- allowed things to continue. Loud ringing bells finally went off when he wanted me to log in to my bank account so he could supposedly set up protections for it. I suddenly realized I was being scammed and immediately shut down my computer. I consider my self pretty computer savvy, but they got me good. Everything was very believable. Looking back, what should have tipped me off initially was the supposed alarm that popped up - it had blinking lights, blaring noise, and an annoying, screeching female voice. I couldn't shut it off. (The Geek Squad, where I later took my computer, said I could have just pushed the Power button for a long time. ) I feel violated and hate the guts of these scammers who want to rip off ordinary people who are just trying to live their lives. In fact, I CURSE the rotten bums and hope THEY ROT IN HELL FOREVER!!!

• Jul 29, 2021

Victim Location 43223
Total money lost $800
Type of a scam Tech Support

I'm 67 yrs old. Last Friday, I got a warning on my laptop saying to call Microsoft. I talked to Michael Patel and he said he worked for Microsoft. He asked for remote control of my computer which I gave him. He said to purchase the app to run a virus search i would need to send him $800 in Google Playcards which I bought from Walgreens. He said I would be reimbursed by Microsoft, and through my computer he showed me a certficate. The clerk advised me it was a scam, but I didn't think it was. I called Michael and asked where my refund was as he promised it would come form FedEx. He said I would get it when his supervisor approved it.

• Jul 27, 2021

Victim Location 67205
Type of a scam Tech Support

I was on the computer and a red screen popped up. It said it was an alert from Microsoft with a phone number to call. I called the number, a guy answered named Brian Turner 334.336.2389. I allowed him remote access into my computer, he started clicking around and said that there was a broken down firewall. After he "worked" on my computer he asked me to pay for added protection. He asked me to purchase two $500 Apple gift cards. After I gave him the first two card numbers he had me to get two more $500 gift cards. He told me he was able to get all of the hackers off of my computer and he is going to report this to Homeland Security.

I went ahead and took my computer to a local computer store to take a look at. They were able to delete a bunch a stuff, didn't find any viruses but said they were able to break into my IP firewall.

• Jul 10, 2021

Type of a scam Tech Support

A woman called claiming to be tech support from Microsoft. She used my mother's full name and indicated her location as being Vancouver, B.C. in Canada. She mumbled a name that I could not make out and she would not spell. She indicated the ScamPulse.com number for the business was 710084 before I hung up on the call.

• Jul 01, 2021

Victim Location 63351
Type of a scam Tech Support

A person called claiming they were with Microsoft and needed all of our information (date of birth, full name, address, etc) to verify our identity and to update the subscription. We do not even have a Microsoft account. They targeted a 72 year old woman. Possibly targeting an older generation.

• Jun 16, 2021

Victim Location 70605
Type of a scam Tech Support

2nd part for Liz Network protection 1 $449 10 % $399.00 Dear, If You didn't make this purchase or if you believe an unauthorized person is attempting to access your Microsoft account Call to our customer care representative +1 (888) 236-1178 (Toll Free). You may contact Microsoft for a full refund within 48 Hrs. of a monthly Subscription upgrade or within 72 Hrs. after yearly payment. Partial refunds are available where required by law. Thank you for using our services Microsoft Defender Team Subtotal $449.00 Discounts $50 Total $399.00 Copyright @ Microsoft Corporation, One Microsoft Way, Redmond, WA 98052 USA

Sent from Sherrie Raymond ([email protected])

• Jun 02, 2021

Total money lost $3,500
Type of a scam Tech Support

My email was compromised. These guys reached out as a so called recognized Microsoft affiliate offering firewall security to enhance home security. After getting my email address back (which in hind sight they held for random) and after 3 months of supplying a so called 3 year fire wall program for $999 they started reporting higher level security threats penetrating this so called firewall and a need to work on my computer remotely. End result was wire fraud of $2500 on May 18th that my bank is not able to retrieve as of yet. A scam of the worst kind, out right wire fraud was the goal.

• May 10, 2021

Victim Location 44109
Type of a scam Credit Cards

I received an unauthorized charge on my credit card of $499 for Microsoft. I do not have a Microsoft account. I never made this purchase. I reported this to my bank and the Credit Bureau.

• May 10, 2021

Victim Location 77901
Type of a scam Tech Support

Called and said computer needed update or it would crash

they asked for money card, open checking accounts and PayPal accounts.

• May 08, 2021

Total money lost $500
Type of a scam Tech Support

My FB account was hacked - I received a video from an unknown porn website, so I went to my laptop to change my FB password. I was met by a screen full of large flashing warnings and notifications that my computer had been locked due to suspicious activity and I was to call Microsoft at the number on screen to get help. I called the number and the scam was on.

They were able to gain access to my computer remotely, with my help, and appeared to be doing all kinds of diagnostics to help sort the problem and delete unauthorized programs. The man I spoke with was very convincing and seemed very interested in helping me…ha! He then told me I needed to go to Walmart and purchase 5 $100 Steam Cards, Google Play Cards, or to Best Buy for their GC. Stupidly I complied. I read off the numbers on the back of the cards after removing the silver protection strip to the scammer. He appeared to continue “fixing” my computer and “rebuilding my firewall.” He then told me I needed to go purchase another $500 worth of gift cards to use for a test to ensure the system was operating correctly again. He said to keep the receipt so I could be reimbursed for this second $500. I texted by BF to ask if he could help me purchase the second gift cards…he drove to my house right away and told me to hang up and that this was a scam. I didn’t believe him at first because I honestly thought I was talking to a representative of Microsoft. It finally dawned on me that he was right and I disconnected the call. I was on the line with the scammer for 3 hours, even while I did the Walmart run!! How could I be so stupid!!

• Apr 29, 2021

Victim Location 57702
Type of a scam Tech Support

Classic "Important message, your computer has been locked up, your IP address was used without your knowledge or your consent to visit websites that contain identity theft virus. To unlock the computer please call Support immediately. Please do not try to shut off your computer as that may lead to Data loss & Identity Fraud. The lock is designed to protect you, please call support immedietaly."

• Apr 21, 2021

Victim Location 44870
Type of a scam Tech Support

He locked my computer told me to call this # which had Microsoft name with it. I had all these alert screens. I called and he start telling my IP number had been hacked. He go on and when it started not sounding right I told him I had to get my son on the line. When my son get on there and asked him why I had to pay 199.99 he goes off. He called my son a piece of [censored]. He then hung up. Then my son after thinking about it was able to tell me how to get this off my computer and it worked.. I have called Microsoft and told them.

• Apr 07, 2021

Victim Location 67901
Type of a scam Tech Support

I was doing homework and all of a sudden I get this multiple pops up that wouldn't stop popping up. They looked like virus alerts. I took photos but there on my phone, and I'm writing this on my computer. I'll give a description. It looks legit like actually from Microsoft Support. And to call the Microsoft number immediately. It says something about that I had a Pornographic spyware and an alert from it. And then another pop up that said "Your PC has a trojan! Payment information is leaked, you must resolve it!" It said "Call Microsoft support: +1(888) 316 5563 (USA-Toll Free). The alert said "Threat detected -Pornographic Spyware. App: Ads.financetrack(1).exe." Then it locked my computer so it wouldn't prevent it to become worse? There was a voice message thing and it made me think it was legit. I called it because I was confused because and thought maybe I downloaded a file with a virus? Because I don't watch any porn and it made me feel confused. I called the person and he was claiming he was from Microsoft. His voice sounded like one of those scammers and I was about to hang up but I gave it a try. He tells me that my ip address was used by hackers to go on illegal sites and that the hackers are making it worse and told me he can get rid of the hackers. I was super confused and he was shouting and saying that "Do you not what a hacker is? There people who get in jail for 20 years!" It kind of made me scared for a split second. One of the tactics he used was giving me his personal information to trust him. He told me his name which was Michael and that he is here to help. His phone number is +1(352) 329-7030 and it said it was from Silver Springs, Florida. And he was saying that "I am your friend, I am like your brother" Another tactic to make you trust them. I don't realize it after it happened. Scammers usually convince you to trust them and give you there personal information to gain trust. And it worked on me sadly. Usually an actual technician wouldn't say that. I will give all of the details in this because this is important on what he did to avoid others getting scammed. He told me to go on Quick Assist (I have a windows 10 HP laptop) And to enter the code so he can have remote access to my laptop to "fix the problem." That wasn't it, but we will get to that part later. I was watching the screen and he took control over it and went on "Command Prompt." I'm not sure what he was doing but it was like scanning files and bytes like 1(File) 328,000 bytes. I don't know if he had control over it now and if he now has my data or my pc. Because then later the connection was lost and it ended. He said that he took it away temporarily the hackers from getting in. He told me to go the store and get a google play card for 200$ to resolve the problem. I looked on the internet about this alert and I noticed it was a scam and I got nervous because I gave him remote access to my computer temporarily. I then said I didn't have the cards to the scammer and he got frustrated. I was trying to trick him to see if he could my screen by saying this. Me: "Can you see my screen, do you need me to give you access to it so you can fix it?" Him: "Yes, Go on quick assist" Me: "But I can't I have a black screen." Him: "Exactly, give me the code and I'll fix it." I acted naïve and said "Are the hackers going to go in my laptop now?" And he said "Your not listening, I already did that." and then he just got more frustrated and impatient. And kept calling me about the cards but I didn't respond. And then afterwards I look to check my pc and it said I never had a virus or nothing. I did a scan, and I restarted it and used System Restore. I disconnected my wifi and now it's a day later and I'm just sharing my experience with this. I'm gonna use the conversation I used like this so it's easier. I went to my mom and told her about it and she didn't believe it and that she doesn't care. I told the scammer "My mom doesn't believe me." and he said "Tell her I am actually from Microsoft." Me: "But she won't get the card" Him: Well what about your school work? How are you gonna play your games and do school? Tell her that." I feel like that was important to mention because he was using those tactics I'm not sure what tactic is it called but it was one. So if you get any pops up saying to call a number, there is a way to get them off and I forgot what because I used the internet to find out how. You usually force quit it and it goes back to normal but for me I had to do all that stuff like system restore because I gave remote access. If it says to call that number, do NOT. If the person uses those tactics, hang up and force quit those pops up because you do not actually have them. If your still unsure, perform a virus scan on your computer. I did that, and I actually didn't have any of that.

• Mar 25, 2021

Victim Location 32086
Type of a scam Tech Support

Microsoft-Logo

Limitation Alert

Hi [email protected],

We have found instances of child pornography accessed from your IP address & MAC Address.

This is violation of Information Technology Act of 1996. For now we are Cancelling your Windows. License, which means stopping all windows activities & Updates on your computer.

IP ******** *************

MAC Address:A0:95:6D:C7

If this was not You and would like to Reinstate the Windows License, Please call MS Support Team at 1-833-220-3676 for further help.

Microsoft Support

1-833-220-3676

• Mar 15, 2021

Victim Location 45844
Type of a scam Tech Support

I got a text message from Microsoft saying my account would be charged and to call 888-418-7093. I called. It was a foreign guy. I tried to get his name and where he was calling from but I couldn't understand him.

• Mar 08, 2021

Victim Location 79109
Type of a scam Tech Support

Asked Do I have Microsoft 6 push #1 because someone was trying to steal my identity.

• Feb 19, 2021

Victim Location 58103
Type of a scam Other

3 differnet screens came on as I was reading some information on my computer along with a dialogue saying computer was compromised & to call a #. I could not do anything with my computer so I called. She said she was from Microsoft & would walk me through a few things - as she asked questions which would cause one to say yes, I tried to say "I do" or "I did" after about 8 questions, she was no longer on the line. I called back to the number & a man answered - asked what company I had called and he asked what company were you calling - he would not give me an answer. The number was 1-888-269-4104.

• Feb 16, 2021

Victim Location 76043
Type of a scam Tech Support

It is a popup that appears when online. I did not respond but feel certain it is fraudulent. It says "Windows Defender Security Online" Access to this computer has been blocked for security reasons. Your computer has alerted us that it has been infected with a trojan spyware. The following data has been compromised: email credentials, banking passwords, facebook login, pictures and documents, windows-defender scan has found potentially unwanted adware on this device that can steal your passwords, online identity, financial information, personal files, pictures or documents. You must contact us immediately so that our engineers can work you through the removal process over the phone. Call Microsoft support immediately to report this threat, prevent identity theft, and unlock access to this device. Closing this window will put your personal information at risk and lead to a suspension of your windows registration. Error # (was listed) Call Microsoft support: +1-844-303-5567 (USA-toll-free)

• Feb 06, 2021

Victim Location 44067
Type of a scam Tech Support

I never order anything like this. I don't even use Microsoft

These people keep sending this email over and over again to me. I'm worrying that they going to take money from credit cards or other accounts of mine.

• Feb 04, 2021

Victim Location 70002
Type of a scam Tech Support

call states that if we didn't want fee to be charged to our acct. would have to submit cancellation form. When you advise you didnt authorize fee they hang up

Check fields!

Report Microsoft


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Microsoft Contacts

If you know any contact information for Microsoft, help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New