Sign in

Microsoft

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Microsoft? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Microsoft Reports & Reviews (657)

• Jun 21, 2022

Victim Location 06111
Type of a scam Tech Support

I forgot how I got to the website, but I can see that it is just in Google Chrome so that means that this is a Scam. This scam is about Microsoft Tech Support and are saying that "Your computer is locked." and "Call our Support immediently." I am try to keep you all safe so don't go to these links or reply/answer a call or email.

• Jun 16, 2022

Victim Location 38125
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I was contacted by email about a purchase from Microsoft that I needed to pay an invoice of 359.00 for a purchase of Microsoft defender.

I never ordered anything from Microsoft. I contact Microsoft and changed my password and security codes. Again I never ordered any thing.

• Jun 13, 2022

Victim Location 19120
Type of a scam Tech Support

They contacted me via my email saying that they were micro soft and that they had taken 511.11 dollars out of my bank account to pay for Microsoft defenders anti virus. I was never charged this before, the defenders anti virus seems to come with the computer. I call them 845 789-4427, and told them that I did not need this I already had an anti virus in my computer, and I want to cancel that and get my money back. They directed me, via my computer to their refund page. when I typed in the amount that they would return back to my account, it came out as 5111 they them told me that they sent me 5 thousand ,one hundred and 11 dollars, and that I owed them 4 thousand and six hundred dollars. I told them I would have to call my bank to see if that money was in there, they were trying to get me to go to my bank on line. I told them I have never used my computer or phone to do that , then they said I should go to the bank. I new they had used me to hack my computer and they were trying to scam me and told them so, now I can't use that computer. I feel so stupid, I should have caught on to it. I didn't give them enough info to get to my bank account.

• Jun 05, 2022

Victim Location 62220
Type of a scam Tech Support

Had a error message pop up on computer with a phone number at the bottom of the screen. Called the number to resolve the frozen screen issue and was told to reset IP address, they also attempted to gain access to bank account over the phone.

• May 16, 2022

Victim Location 20011
Type of a scam Tech Support

Turned on computer to play games computer started to freeze and a message popped up to call Microsoft at a 1800 number (this number is showing on my called ID 1-425 496-7080). Contacted Microsoft and was informed that my computer had been hacked. Asked that I put in a code and then another number the computer started switching thing around. She asked me what was happening and had me to click on an icon and letter at the same time it started to bring up different sites she kept asking what did I see. So she had me do it again and said don't touch anything not to use the computer or regular phone and she would call me on my cell phone. She told me my account was hacked and $11,000 purchase for a sex site. She transferred me to fraud line spoke to a gentlemen asked me what type of accounts do I have and how money was in each account. Told me again not use anything computer, phone, don't talk to anybody, don't tell my neighbors and he will call me in the morning. I did check accounts nothing missing now hopefully they didn't succeed. However, my computer still going thru whatever they're trying to access. For the questions below answering "no" only because as I stated nothing missing at the time this scam is being reported and I'm sing my daughter's email address due to the situation.

• May 15, 2022

Victim Location 68506
Type of a scam Tech Support

While I was on my laptop a popup box appeared indicating my PC had been blocked for security reasons. Microsoft Window support phone to call 1-833-377-1905 (Security Helpline).

They loaded the following software on my laptop; Network Security, Support Live24x7, Computer help, Webroot SecureAnywhere, Microsoft Edge, Microsoft 365-en-us and Microsoft Office Home and Student 2019 - en us.

I called and then they said they were Microsoft Tech Support and needed access to my computer to help me. Since I thought they were Microsoft it was legit. They walk me through and then they had access to my computer and my home network.

• May 04, 2022

Victim Location 14712
Total money lost $1,500
Type of a scam Tech Support

I was on my laptop reading an article on facebook when alarms went off saying they were Microsoft and to an 800#. I called they ran through some "troubleshooting" so my computer would be usable again but then they said it was an encryption issue and I needed to buy a card to increase security/fix the issue. I can't believe I fell for it but now I am out $1,500. 1K on MC and $500 checking account. They do not have any of that info I don't believe.

• Mar 07, 2022

Victim Location 37311
Total money lost $4,500
Type of a scam Online Purchase

Error message saying computer infected, call number man identified himself as Donnie Anderson had middle eastern accent. Said he was a Microsoft tech and would clean up viruses and malware and secure my computer for $500 lifetime senior price and took over remote control of my computer Would only accept Zelle Bitcoin or visa vanilla gift card. Once I bought the 1st card the scam began first he said that card was invalid so he'd deposit $500 in my acct then said he'd accidentally deposited $2k instead he showed me a fake screenshot of my acct with an extra $2k. Said I needed to get 4 more cards to pay him back less 1 for the refund he owed me.

I complied, he took pics of the cards front and back. He told me not to open any banking apps that's where the tiny banker trojan virus was. Next day he said he'd paid $3k on my credit card we argued I told him to reverse it he said he couldn't and sent a fake print out of the account so I needed to get 6 cards to pay him back. At this point I felt blackmailed it was either do what this guy said or he'd put all my financial information all over the internet. I was only able to get 5 cards he had told me he was 90% finished with the security and once I got the cards he would finish up. But once he got the card numbers he said he was done for the day. That's when I realized I had been scammed I immediately deleted his remote access both in my computer and phone I changed all passwords and unhooked my computer.. he called several times the next day until I finally blocked him. The night I bought the 5 cards I called and asked CVS to deactivate the 2 visa cards I bought there and that I was scammed they said they couldn't help me and to call the number on the back of the card which I immediately did exactly that and spent 25 minutes giving them all the card numbers and asking them to deactivate the cards I had purchased just a few hours earlier 2 at CVS , 1 at Walgreens and 1 at Dollar general 1 at CVS turned out to be AE. I made it clear I had been scammed and these cards were obtained by fraud but I was told they couldn't deactivate them and the card numbers would be on hold for 7 days pending investigation which was untrue. I checked every card# and they were all used within the first 24 hours. The next day when I called visa again there was no record of the call the night before so I gave the numbers again and was then finally given a dispute number and filed it. I filed fraud claims with local PD, IC3, FTC, my bank, credit cards used and AARP fraud watch. When I turned to the only people that could have stopped the fraud they slammed the door shut instead of stopping the crime that was being committed when they could have..makes you wonder who's side they're on seems to me it's not the victim but the perpetrators. I do not want my name published.

• Mar 01, 2022

Victim Location 79118
Type of a scam Tech Support

Consumer was on her computer doing insurance business. A black screen appeared on the side panel of her monitor with the name Microsoft Edge and a loud beeping noise. She texted her son-in-law who is a tech person. She wanted to get her work finished so she called the number that showed up on the black screen. She spoke to a man who said his name was Ethan Gray. She said he had a very heavy accent. When she called they said they were Microsoft Edge and her computer had a virus. He had her type "netstat" in the Windows bar and a black page came up and had part of her email. He then had her click the windows button and space bar and had her type things in the window a couple of times (windows button and R and windows button and C and hit enter) He asked her to get on her bank site and he would get on the line with her bank but she could not be on that call because the bank did not do three way calls. She hung up. He then popped up a number on the black screen on her computer and sent her the message "Please answer my calls," while she was on the phone with her bank. She replied that she was investigating the call and talking to her bank. He told her not to get on her phone, didn't she know the scammers were listening? She said the word "listening" came up on the black screen on her computer.

He gave her another number to call as well.

• Feb 28, 2022

Type of a scam Identity Theft

The victim tried to enter FaceBook. When she entered it in her url a voice alerted her not to do anything. Team viewer action required came up. Team viewer Germany mbh.

bahnhoffplatz

73033goppingengermany

r.vlmhrb534075

vat #de245838579

This victim was led to believe she had an issue and needed to turn her computer access over. She did that after an hour and a half the caller wanted information to set up billing for security. She new that Microsoft would not do this so she ended the session and checked with her Credit Card Company and filed with the police. Her computer is in a shop hopefully being recovered.

• Feb 02, 2022

Victim Location 46148
Type of a scam Tech Support

My computer froze while searching a website with a warning message that it had been compromised and required a phone call to Microsoft immediately. Foolishly I called the number and connected with a technician. While following the steps he requested I saw that it was opening stored files with attached passwords. As he continued to keep me on the line it finally dawned on me that I was being scammed and I hung up. My computer is completely locked up and I froze my banking and resetting my passwords out of caution. Not sure what damage has been done yet.

• Jan 27, 2022

Type of a scam Phishing

Received an email that my password was set to expire today. Very official looking as they also advised they would not be responsible for any loss. good replication of their logo, too.

However, there were red flags that this was a scam. The email did not match their url. Microsoft does not advise of this information in that way. So I reported to our I.T. service provider, reported on scamtracker, blocked the email and deleted.

• Jan 20, 2022

Victim Location 60487
Type of a scam Identity Theft

these scamers are using emails on metv i was looking at some infomation and they locked on this email stating that my laptop is frozen and do not turn off contact microsoft which was them.they are using an i 800 # i dont have i turn off my laptop twice and restarted it to clear them they call me back twice trying to get me to talk tothem i just hung up on them the person that tried make with me is using this name MILL VALLE TELEPHONE # 415 322 7455 contact me on 1/19/22 on the telephone no con tact since i hung up on them.

• Dec 20, 2021

Victim Location 77571
Type of a scam Counterfeit Product

I received an E-mail from Windows Defender Order (Microsoft Accounts).

It stated that my subscription of Defender Premium protection plus subscription was coming up for renewal and they were going to charge $399.99 (auto pay enabled).

It had a customer ID in the letter and a due date.

• Dec 13, 2021

Victim Location 36582
Type of a scam Tech Support

On 12/11/21 early in the morning I was searching the web for some deals at the stores I shop to make my shopping easily at when my laptop begin sounding that it had been blocked and don't attempt to shut down my computer but call the number it was providing to Microsoft for help and my computer would be unlocked when I called a guy answered he sounded foreign I had a hard time understanding him so I hung up and he called back and the name on the caller ID was KAUNAKAKAI HI and the phone number 18086427676 he begin to tell me my computer, TV and phone was hacked and I was being watched and shouldn't attempt to use my phone or computer for 4 hours he asked for my name and zipcode he said that myinformation was being used in illegal acts that could get me in trouble but he was notifying the police and making out a report he ask for the number of my bank so nobody could get into my account I told him I would go personally to do this he said no I would have to do call for you so I can make out the report but he wanted me to use the automotive reporter so I began to get suspicious and hung up the phone he called back and told me not to hang up because he was connected to Microsoft and every time I hang up he had to make a report so I hung up about 2more times and he called back I didn't think Microsoft would be that interested in me I told him something was was wrong with the phone he gave me his personal line as2537507326 and his name as Kelvin Baker badge MS106080 and my case number as********* I went to my bank and told them about the occurrence and was told I did right I also froze my credit card as a precaution

• Nov 30, 2021

Type of a scam Tech Support

As a soon to be new grandmother few weeks ago, I was looking through YouTube sites about how to make a baby quilt when suddenly,as I clicked on a baby quilt, this message took over my computer. It made a blaring noise noise telling me that my computer had a virus disabling it, a warning not to shut off the computer, and a phone number to call. claiming to be microsoft.

I called the number and when someone answered he directed me to press the control button and another button (which probably did nothing) and then to shut off my computer. The horrible noise finally stopped. then he went on to say they could fix it for a one time payment and after some discussion back and forth I asked how much? he said, $199.I also asked if I could think about it and call back he said "no, it's a one time offer". When he prompted me what my decision was; yes or no. After a little thought, I am retired, don't use the computer much and it's just a little tablet that only cost about that much. I said, No. Any doubts were confirmed when he said, "[censored] off"

I said, "Excuse me!" and he repeated, "[censored] off". I hung up. My computer is fine.

This was a scam targeting grandmothers as it was linked to sewing baby quilts.

• Nov 22, 2021

Victim Location 44320
Type of a scam Tech Support

My father-in-law clicked on a message saying his computer was infected and proceeded to then be coerced by Nancy claiming to be from Microsoft to withdraw $4000 dollars from his personal account believing it to be a mistaken transfer that is owed back. The kicker being he was then to take this Monday and purchase gift cards with it to share with the scammer.

• Nov 03, 2021

Victim Location 65109
Type of a scam Tech Support

They sent me an email saying that I made a recent purchase, which I didn't. They asked me to contact them.

• Oct 28, 2021

Victim Location 47807
Type of a scam Tech Support

A pop-up came up on my sister’s laptop, notifying her that there was a virus. The pop-up blocked her from using her laptop and looked like her computer format. She was told to call a number that the pop-up gave her. A man by the name Jack Perkins claimed to be with Microsoft. She gave him remote control of her laptop in which she could see everything he was doing to the laptop. It seemed very suspicious. She gave him her debit card information as he said he was going to install virus protection on her laptop.

• Sep 23, 2021

Victim Location 25313
Total money lost $2,000
Type of a scam Tech Support

I am a victim of a gift card scam. First I received a pop up alert on my computer on September 2,2021, telling me to call this certain number which I did. I do not recall exactly what the alert said but it was something like a virus alert or infection or whatever and I needed to call this certain number within a certain amount of time and do not shut down the computer. I did call this number and told whoever answered the phone there was this alert on my computer. Next thing I knew I received a phone call from this person named Rose McGrath, who alleged she works for Microsoft. I have a letter sent to my e-mail from what appeared to be from Microsoft, which I can send to you if you need it. Since I thought she was really working for microsoft, I gave her remote access to my computer. The letter I have in my possession said I had a security breach. She gained access to my bank account. She insisted I purchase gift cards from certain local businesses--Kroger, Lowes, CVS, Dollar General, Office Max, etc. I still have the gift cards. She had me scratch off the back of the cards and read back the codes to her which I did. What did seem odd was she remained on the phone (cell) while i went to purchase these cards from the establishments. I was not aware of scams going on and did not think it would happen to me till it was too late. Some of the places I purchased them from did tell me there was a scam going on and trying to protect me I guess, ask if I was being scammed. I said I did not think so. This alleged Microsoft person said if they asked what I was getting the cards for tell them it was wedding gifts, birthday gifts or whatever. I kept the phone numbers on my cell phone and will gladly provide them to you. Who knows they may be spoof numbers. She was calling me every day up till September 10 or 11. 2021. After that and I guess when the damage was done, I never heard beep from her. I tried calling back to her and no one answered the phone. The gift cards were Apple gift cards, Sephora gift cards and Target gift cards, and 1 Nike gift card--each card was $500 denomination.

This is in addition to the previous report I just sent in to you. I forgot to add that I tried to contact two of the gift card companies--Apple and Sephora--Apple seemed to be helpful somewhat--I scanned to them copies of the codes of the back of the cards and they checked and they had no balance on any of them and said there was nothing they could do to assist me in recovering any of the money spent on them. Sephora more or less said if you did not purchase them from The Sephora store they were not going to help whatsoever--they said I purchased them from a third party so to speak. I have not reached out to Target yet. I suppose they will tell me the same in that they will not help. Let me know if you need the phone numbers on my caller ID that this scammer called me from. I will gladly provide them to you. This individual may have a co-conspirator named David Chin

Check fields!

Report Microsoft


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit

Microsoft Contacts

If you know any contact information for Microsoft, help other victims by adding it!

Add new contacts
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New