Sign in

Advance America

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Advance America? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Advance America Reports & Reviews (159)

• Apr 21, 2021

Victim Location 47150
Type of a scam Other

This "company" reached out to me via email stating that I owed a collector an unspecified amount of money and that there were lawyers involved. They gave me an attorney's name that I researched and could not find anything to support that this individual is an attorney. They then stated that I have until Friday to pay $950 or my assets will be frozen.

In response I asked them to provide actual proof and that I have a lawyer of my own that I am ready to utilize.

• Dec 22, 2020

Victim Location 72227
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

I was contacted by email by a guy named (aka) Kevin Johnson. I never replies to him or called them but they've offered me a 5000$ loan and so I checked him out. The form he sent said Better Business Bureau accredited but they're not. They list that address and thats also a no go. Then on the bottom left of the document is some sort of business license for Oregon. None of which checked out. Not trying the phone number.

• Oct 22, 2020

Victim Location 30032
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

I was told that I was approved for a loan for 5000 and that I had to pay a $155.00 wire transfer fee to a $bethparri by cash app

• Sep 23, 2020

Victim Location 34957
Type of a scam Debt Collections

I have been receiving these calls since 2009. I get them about every 8 months. They claim that Advance America has me in collections and that the cops are coming for me and that I am going to court. After 11 years, you would think that that would have happened already. lol

Anyway, a few years ago, my attorney had me call Advance America to find out if possibly someone had opened an account in my name. I had taken a payday loan from them, but had paid it back in full. AA said that they had had a disgruntled employee who had taken some people's files and sold them. So it is just a scam.

The calls used to really bother me, but now I like to mess with them. lol

• Sep 02, 2020

Victim Location 32922
Type of a scam Phishing

received two texts from 70780, requesting I log on to to there link because of payment, phone number is real and address for Advance America, but website link is not legit, went down and asked them directly and they said it isn't theirs. when you google "message from 70780" 1st link is sketchy website suggesting it is advance america. I do not owe any money to advance America either. picture included

• Aug 28, 2020

Victim Location 43085
Type of a scam Online Purchase

On approximately August 18,2020, I applied for a payday loan with Advance America. Shortly thereafter I received an email that I had been approved for up to $5000. On August 28,2020, I called the phone number given to me in the email, to "Craig." " Craig" who had a very middle eastern accent, told me that he needed my bank account number and my password to verify my account and deposit my loan.

Since I had recently been scammed by someone with a heavy middle eastern accent whose name was "Austen," who worked for Lending Tree, and got about $900 from me, I was very suspicious and hung up the phone.

Maybe "Craig" was on the up and up, but I was not about to give him the benefit of the doubt.

• Aug 03, 2020

Victim Location 23228
Total money lost $215
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

Told me I was approved for a loan but, I had to send $100 for insurance to Brian Passmore and $115 for fees to Ernestine Hollimon through cash app. I was told numerous times, that it would be delivered to my checking account in 10 minutes. That never happen. When I wanted to cancel, he told me I would have to send $50 for the cancellation fee. But, nothing was done and they delivered nothing on their end. I am still waiting on my refund. They refused to send it through cash app. They wanted me to send them my credit card information to get my refund. Made no sense. These scammers need to stop targeting desperate people. I just wanted to tell my story so it wouldn't happen to no one else.

• Jul 30, 2020

Victim Location 43228
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

I'd applied for a loan online. I was offered a $5000 loan by Advance America if I would buy a $200 gift card at CVS.

• Jul 24, 2020

Victim Location 52501
Total money lost $450
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

I got a texted saying I was approved for a loan of 10,000, I only wanted to borrow 3,000, before I could even respond to the text a gentleman named Alex Mathews from Advance America called me back, he asked for my bank account and said he was depositing the 3,000 in my account, then I’m on hold and Alex comes back on the phone and says I have to put 251$ upfront in a prepaid Walmart gift card, he promised once I gave him the 251$ Because I explained to him 250$ was all the money I had, I’d get that back with the 3,000 because of the hardship of COVID 19 I believed him, He called me 3 times to see if I had the Walmart card yet, I finally did and after I gave it to him he said I’d have my loan and the 251$ in my account in 20 minutes, well 20 minutes turned into 4 hrs and by then I knew something wasn’t right because he kept saying I’d have the money in another 20 minutes, I got upset after; hrs and no money in my account and all Alex Mathews kept saying was be patient Mam just 20 more minutes, I have numerous texts from him if needed I’m just attaching my approved loan one, but I also have texts throughout the entire day dealing with him and the loan I thought was legit, I even have ones where he starts he’s refunding my money in 48 hrs ,and that was a week ago and no refund and now he’s taken money out of my checking and I’m 250$ overdrawn on my account because of him, I called this number that text my phone and it said it was Advance America and still does... I’m not sure I’m going to recoup from this, I just don’t know what to do

• Jul 08, 2020

Victim Location 95492
Total money lost $100
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

Offered 9000, but said I had to have a cash app account but I needed to send them 400 4 separate transactions of 100 each to verify my account. I sent the first 100 and then was questioning the others. Asked for 100 back Pete Wilson says he sent back. But did not get it. Marie Maxwell was initiated the emails. And said Pete was manager.

• Jun 09, 2020

Victim Location 71292
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

he told me he was a senior officer with advance american i gave him my info, after i did that something didn't seem right so i call a advance america and they told me they don't offer a high amount so right then i called my back change everything. the terry calls me and says i need you to cash app me the funds that were sent to you. i told him they weren't in there and i need to cancel it. the next morning there were funds in the account. he then calls and says i need the funds back i told him my bank was handling it. he cuss me out and said that he was going to put a red flag on my social security number so i call the ss office and filed a fraud on my social.he hasn't called back and i have been keeping a eye on my account.

Victim Location 44137
Type of a scam Debt Collections

I received a collection call from Advance America. Collecting on a pay day loan. Case number B16099-3492. I do owe on some pay day loans. I am skeptical about the calls. Caller said they would take my stimulus check. They were collecting $318. He asked are you ready to settle the debt. I know I have until the end of April to make payment. The phone number in my caller ID was 800-301-0689. I gave my debit card number. I am going to call my credit union right away. He also called from a cell phone number. I do not have that number. I thought it may have been legitimate because he had the last four digits of my Social Security number.

Victim Location 32526
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

Scammer said I owed a loan from 2016 from Advance America. Totally unreal I spoke with advance and they stated.

Victim Location 27870
Type of a scam Government Grant

Ive been told i had been talking to the college funds for free. I was told what to say... I spoke to 3 different supervicers..

That ask the same questions... I have a disability but im not stupid. They told me what to say so i would be guaranteed the 6000$ now they sent a agreement to fill out that makes it look like a pay day loan...i also told there was no payback yet they have me down as paying 153$ for 36 months...i wasnt told this....i may be a little slow thinking but my i never wanted to want to use no gov program...they are for the needy...i never ask for this. I am despertly needed but you will not help me low income, disabled,and in need of money to pay my bills...i got behind because of hardship...i do need help but not this way..

Victim Location 98271
Type of a scam Phishing

They contacted me about a loan I applied for online and asked me for my username and password for my bank account but when I said no they got upset and told me to send them the money that will be deposited into my card via gift card

Victim Location 28432
Total money lost $7,000
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

I was scammed out of 7000.00 because they told me I had been approved for a personal loan for 5000.00. I had to keep buying cards for google play and such. They told me when I purchased them I would get my loan., which was a lie. I just got tired of buying them because I knew then I was being scammed. I told them no more. Then they got angry and kept calling me and being very aggressive trying to get me to keep on. I just stopped talking with them. I know enough now to be careful in what I do.

Victim Location 98065
Type of a scam Fake Check/Money Order

Recieved a text message stating I had been approved for a loan and needed to call the loan manager Jerry Adam's to finalize the loan. I have been struggling Financially and had been applying for loans at this time so immediately felt relieved to be approved. I called the number provided and the automated message sounded legit and then used the extension provided. The number rang andvt bgg en went to voicemail with instructions and that Jerry would get back to me. When he did call back is when I first got suspicious because he said his name is jerry Adam's but his accent was middle eastern. But moving on we agreed on terms which was $3000 paying $137 a month for 24months without any advance fee, handover of my car title, or anything up front from me. He then sends me paper work to sign and instructions to send it back to him with copies of my drivers license and pay stubs. Later that day he calls me back. Saying everything is set up he just needs my bank account number to set up the money transfer, he then called and asked for my online banking username and po password so that he could deposit the money into it. A little while goes by and he calls asking about my credit score and if I know why it's so low. I explain and he responds saying vfc that if he transfers the whole 3000 at once that the FTC will put a hold on the funds and eventually deny the transfer. So he wanted to sent me a smaller check close to but not exactly 1000 and then have be refund the money back to him using monogram. He says this will show the FTC that we are doing business together. After I refund the money he would then transfer me the full 3000. He did in fact deposit a check for $726 into my account. But me being already suspicious had been checking things out. The check he deposited came from a Automobile Club of Southern California. I immediately c as called my bank and had them freeze my account and deny the check.

Victim Location 60487
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

The gentlemen called and had you sign papers for a loan. He asked for your bank acct.#. He also asked for your user id and password to your acct. He then said he was going to wire money to your account as a test and would want you to send it back as a form of a target / Walmart gift card. After signing the agreement and gearing this I wanted it stopped. The victim hasn’t lost money yet, but thinks he will.

Victim Location 49423
Type of a scam Identity Theft

Company called and said they would check to see if I qualify for a loan. Asked for last four of social security, which I gave them. Company emailed me asking for bank account number and routing number and said the loan had been approved. Gave loan number 8847653.

Victim Location 02128
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

I was desperate for a loan, because I need to move, and pay off some bills. I applied to so many agencies, who sent my application to several lenders. I’m in bad shape financially (short sale on house a few years back, plus I’m disabled, and while I was waiting for a decision, I fell behind. There are also Medical bills, I haven’t paid off yet...all of this dragged my fico way down), so no one was willing to give me a loan, especially on a fixed, monthly income. I get a text the next day, saying they could approve a loan for $3k - $5k. I told them what I needed, they asked some legitimate questions, and directed me to their online form. I filled it out. The next day, they deposited a check into my account for over $900. They said they wanted to make a smaller deposit, to help my credit, and they would take it right back, making it look like I paid a lender. Well, my bank saw the check and knew it was fraudulent. They contacted me right away. Now I have to put a fraud alert on all three credit reporting agencies, which involves using office equipment I don’t have, go to my bank and change all of my account numbers, and my online profile. What a pain in the neck! And they’re still trying to contact me. The company called me again (with the number (321) 292-7713)

Check fields!

Report Advance America


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Advance America Contacts

If you know any contact information for Advance America, help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New