Sign in

Lights Over America

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Lights Over America? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Lights Over America Reports & Reviews (27)

• Jan 13, 2022

Victim Location 07621
Total money lost $228.30
Type of a scam Online Purchase

Lights Over America claims to be the only lantern festival company in America, has a no refund policy and states refunds will not offered after simply viewing their tickets. Furthermore, LOA’s website has no real pictures of any actual events they hosted, states that there are additional fees above $2000 USD if I choose to dispute them and has rude, defensive and unprofessional content which is alarming to anyone. Finally, their social media has no room for comments, pictures or videos by customers to be viewed by other customers or anyone who can investigate them.

Their website has already been reported to companies who investigate scams, the Texas AG and their vendor eTix has a valid rating on ScamPulse.com as well.

Please consider these risks before purchasing tickets from this vendor.

• Dec 06, 2021

I went to one of their events locally advertised and it was amazing, so beautiful and they don't push mormonism down your throat like the lights fest scam artists do. Great musicians, food, activities and their lanterns don't catch on fire like the others.

• Jan 19, 2022

I believe this post is by someone with Lights Over America. Do not believe a word of what they are saying.
Why would they be posting a positive review on a website dedicated to scams? Also, their anti-Mormon rhetoric matches what is written on their Instagram posts.

• Dec 01, 2021

These people discriminate against pregnant women and then they will argue with you telling you that you should have made them aware that you were pregnant before attempting, their words specifically, to attend an event that you had paid for The most communication I received from this company was when they chose to argue with me over how I was wrong for telling them that I never received any information regarding the event Do yourself a favor and stay away from these people the entire thing is a scam

• Dec 01, 2021

This place will rob you, not communicate with you and then argue with you over social media. The most help and communication I got was when they informed me that I deliberately did not activate my passes. But why did you choose not to activate your passes? That was the help I received after explaining that I never got any email information on this event. Stay far away.

+1
• Nov 03, 2021

Victim Location 92020
Total money lost $170
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I bought tickets to a lantern festival in Austin, TX put on by Lights Over America. The event was cancelled days before the event was scheduled to take place. They had me fill out a form to request a refund, but over two months later, the refund never arrived. I reached out multiple times over the course of two weeks with no response. Because they did not issue the refund as they said they would, I disputed the original charge. Then, they finally decided to reach out and informed me that I now owe over $500 as a dispute fee.

Other resources online (https://www.scampulse.com/lights-over-america-reviews) shared their bad experiences with this company and share reasons why they believe this company is a scam. They tell stories of their events being cancelled last minute or being postponed multiple times, citing bad weather as the reason. When they try to reach out to the company, they respond in a very non-professional manner.

In addition, the social media platforms do not show images of their events, only stock photos of lanterns, which leads me to believe that they do not actually put on these events. Also, they turned off the comment feature on their social media so as not to allow people to question the company or to warn others about the possibility of a scam.

There has since been at least one article written about them because their Colorado event was postponed multiple times and refunds were not allowed https://www.thedenverchannel.com/news/contact-denver7/colorado-mother-worries-sk...

+2
• Nov 11, 2021

Did you pay the collection fee? The same exact thing happened to me

• Oct 25, 2021

I purchased two tickets and a parking pass in may 28th 2020 . Its been a year already and the event was canceled 4 times due to pandemic first and then weather. Its understandable at the beginning , what it is not is that I contacted this company and the person behind customer service or scammer is extremely rude, unprofessional and offensive . They noticed I work for media and decided to revoke my ticket because I was supposed to inform I am a journalist even I was attending as a regular attendee and I paid on my own for ticket like other public local events I like to go .

Every time i tried to get an answer about what I paid they respond in a very offensive way and acting and they are following rule . My question is what rule ? all events I pay for if they are being canceled I have gotten my money back . This is the first time and event is being canceled for time, they do not offer refunds, if I dispute they will charge $500 because they have my card information .

I have reported this to BBB and FTC . I want everyone to be aware this a scam . The are not even registered in the city to do events .

+2
• Oct 25, 2021

Victim Location 77536
Total money lost $70
Type of a scam Worthless Problem-solving Service Scam

I purchased two tickets and a parking pass to an event that promotes a sky lantern festival nationwide. I purchased those tickets in may 2020 it was as individual attendee, The event has been canceled 4 times.

First they notify by email , the rest were just in website and social media.

Every time I contacted the company asking for my money or a refund, a very rude , aggressive and offensive person replied my emails acting as a victim and in a very unprofessional way .

They noticed I work for media and after several attempts they decided to revoke my tickets just because I was supposed to inform I work for media and I needed and approval even thought I was attendee as a regular person who goes to a public event .

they have disable for followers to comment or port in facebook and instagram . And all you see in their post in a screen shot of their costumers complains , but act as victims .

They do not offer refunds . and the website doesnt even have an address business or phone number

I found some scam reports of this website and can send all messages i have gotten .

here :

All concerns and bad Reviews Reviews :

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thedenverchannel.com/news/contact-denver7/color... />
Lights Over America 2021 Reports & Reviews - ScamPulse.com

"Lights Over America 2021 Reports & Reviews - ScamPulse.com" https://www.scampulse.com/lights-over-america-reviews

• Oct 14, 2021

Response for lightsoveramericaisascam

Texas AG claim# CGS-290852
FTC report# 136892345

+1
• Oct 01, 2021

Hi, I purchased tickets for the event in July and it was canceled due to rain. I will attach screenshots of the emails I received. They have not responded to any of my requests to change the tickets to another day. I have been very patient, but I'm starting to think it might be a scam. I "gave" them $200 and since then they have ghosted me. There Facebook, Instagram, and other social media networks have the comments off.. (wonder why?)

+2
• Sep 27, 2021

Victim Location 84106
Total money lost $170
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I purchased two tickets in Jan 2020 for May 2020 Lights Over America event in Utah. They have rescheduled the event three times since then. They were supposed to have the event on Sept 2021 and then per usual they cancelled the event a couple days before stating that they would move the event to Oct or Nov 2021 and then when I emailed them about the exact date they did not respond to me. I've had to rearrange my plans three times due to their last minute cancellations. I looked at their website and they moved the event again for a fourth time to April 2022. The tickets are non refundable and when I finally got a response through them it was via my credit card company and the vendor declined to reimburse payment. I understand if something is non refundable but with that is the expectation that I would receive a return service in a timely manner as a customer. I will no longer be living in Utah and their website does not allow you to give someone else your tickets if you cannot attend. They tell you that you should go to another state to attend the event but given that they are very unreliable and untrustworthy I would not be surprised if they were also cancelling the events in other states last minute. This makes me uncomfortable to try and attend another event and then end up paying for flight and hotel for a cancelled event. I shouldn't have to go to another state to attend an event. This company is a scam, they are wasting people's time and money, and they need to be either stopped or sued. This event is lost earnings for me and I should be reimbursed for the money they have taken.

+4
• Sep 25, 2021

Victim Location 80530
Total money lost $490
Type of a scam Other

In July (2021) we were looking for some fun family related things to do with our kids and one thing that my wife has always wanted to do was a lantern festival so we decided to see if we could find any that were coming up. While looking online we came across this site that promises the world and delivers nothing. We purchased 5 tickets (plus s'mores and parking) to an event that was supposed to occur on September 4, 2021 in Colorado Springs. We told the kids about it and naturally they were super excited. We have 3 dogs that would need to be boarded so we could attend and we have to travel a couple of hours to get to the event and even though it says on their site that they do not disclose the actual location until a week before the event we decided to wait it out and figured we would schedule a hotel room and boarding for the dogs when it got closer and after we got additional details about what time and where the event was to be held.

We got down to a few days before the event and after several attempts at getting in contact with the company (if you can call it that) we finally received an email with excuses as to why the event cannot occur and that they were rescheduling it for sometime in October / November / the winter months. I again attempted to contact the company via email and via their website to get additional information since we have to travel and book a hotel / boarding for the dogs, and have yet to hear back from them. It started to feel like a scam at this point and we were obviously concerned that we were taken advantage of. A few weeks went by and then a week or two ago there was a local news story from a news station out of Denver (Denver 7 News) about someone else who felt like they were scammed.

Their website has now been updated with a date next year for the Colorado Springs event, yet I have not received any additional communication, etc. from this supposed company. I started looking into their Facebook posts and all they ever post is how others are trying to scam them out of money and how horrible everyone else is to them / their competition is corrupt, etc. They claim they cannot respond to all of the emails they get, not my problem, you are a business and are obligated to maintain communication with your customers once you have taken their money. They are incredibly unprofessional on their Facebook page which leads even more credence to it being a scam. This is a scam and I would urge anyone who might be reading this to avoid this business at all costs. I was able to reverse the charges through my bank (almost $500), who also felt like it was a scam after their own investigation.

It's real unfortunate that there are those out there who are willing to lie and steal from other people and then try to play the role of a victim on their own Facebook page. Avoid them.

Read there posts for yourself at: https://www.facebook.com/lightsoveramericatour

Denver 7 News Article: https://www.thedenverchannel.com/news/contact-denver7/colorado-mother-worries-sk...

+5
• Sep 23, 2021

Victim Location 85743
Total money lost $500
Type of a scam Online Purchase

We had bought tickets from Lights Over America to go to their Lantern Festival. We spent $500 for a VIP package back in 2019. They canceled the show twice and now again for the third time. They don’t offer ANY refund even if they are the ones canceling the festival. They always say they have to cancel due to weather. They are taking money from vendors and individuals, and offer no refunds for any circumstance. This is a scam, people should not purchase anything from this website or Company. This company and website need to be shut down. They are stealing money with fake events.

+6
• Sep 14, 2021

This is the complaint I have filed with the FTC:

Lights Over America is a company that sells tickets to dozens of lantern festivals across the US each year that never occur. They are rescheduled every 4-6 months for eternity. I purchased 4 tickets on 5/1/2020 for a 9/2020 event in Colorado Springs: https://www.lightsoveramerica.events/events/colorado-springs-2021/

Received communication 9/17/2020 that event was rescheduled due to "outdoor gathering restrictions," new date was 5/22/2021. Received communication 5/11/2021 that event was rescheduled for "wind," new date was 9/4/2021. Never received location of event, was told it would go out 1 week prior "to keep competitors away." On 9/4/2021 saw an Instagram post that event was cancelled for "weather." https://www.instagram.com/lightsoveramericatour/ The cancellation post was deleted a few days later.

Did not receive any communication about the last cancellation or new date. The owner has all comments are turned off on Facebook and Instagram. I e-mailed the company 9/4 and 9/13 asking for information, no response. Just found this website, seems the events never happen. https://www.scampulse.com/lights-over-america-reviews

It's possible this company changes its name and has formerly gone by The Lights Fest and Light the Night or Light the Night Festivals. The Light the Night website is clearly almost identical: https://www.lightthenightevents.com/ and The Lights Fest website is very close: https://thelightsfest.com/

They have 17k Instagram followers and 22k Facebook followers, but keep comments closed while the owner rants about competitors, infringement, lawsuits, and refund scams.

https://www.facebook.com/lightsoveramericatour

+9
• Aug 24, 2021

Hi Gigi6578,
If you put on a festival then prove it. Open up your website and social media pages for comments and reviews. Hard to believe in 2021, there's not one picture or video to show this. The pictures you do show are all the same stock photos. I've made no false claims. I got my money back. The message I posted was from y'all and the complaint from the Texas AG office is legit. You should know, you have it. Frauds.

+7
• Aug 19, 2021

Response to Lammo84: I was able to get my money back thru my bank by disputing the charges. I provided the bank with numerous messages from LOA detailing how unprofessional they are along with their bogus threats to ruin my credit. The message I posted on July 22 says all you need to know about LOA. I'll post my claim number filed to the Texas AG office for reference in case others would like to also file a claim with their state.

+8
• Nov 05, 2021

Im having an issue as well. Im in CA. Who do i contact, they are claiming to send me to collections ect...Help needed if you wouldnt mind :)

• Oct 07, 2021

Hey mbnvds,
Can you provide the claim number you filed? I'd like to use it as reference in my state.

Thanks

• Aug 22, 2021

Michael, why don't you tell these people that you tried to blackmail the company to give you a refund, disputed your charge trying a pull a refund scam, and did not file any report. You told the employee that you wouldn't falsly report them if they gave you a refund. The company makes it known they don't give refunds which you agreed to. Sky Lanterns cannot be legally released in wind speeds higher than they're allowed or it becomes an illegal release. Sky Lanterns do not take flight in rain because they're made from rice paper, therefore a Sky Lantern Festival cannot go on it rain and winds. You're defaming the company with lies which you will be held accountable for and the company is releasing all the conversation, including your blackmail attempts on the website for everyone to view. For coming on here further lying, there will be a defamation of character lawsuit filed against you. If you do not want to abide by a company's terms you shouldn't agree to them, then try to blackmail while also trying to pull a refund scam. Oh and also demanding to sell them on top of the rest.

• Aug 16, 2021

The lights fest is the scam company. Search up the lights fest scam on Facebook and on Google. This company is the only honest one still running. Festivals aren't party planners and weather does stop these types of festivals so y'all sound entitled because your event got rescheduled. How about us who actually got scammed with false refund promises for events they never had a permit for in Colorado. Y'all don't know the difference between a festival and a party. Y'all go to a club on the weekend and you pay for entry, you're not paying the club to hold a party for you. This reads the same. Y'all just cry babies because weather stopped your festival. I seen the posts from they have up showing a person trying to blackmail them, another claiming its a scam over tornadoes going through Colorado. There's two comments on here by the same person.

+2
• Aug 04, 2021

This was on their site July 7th, 2021. I don’t know of many companies that act this way… Seems extremely childish and unprofessional.

+13
• Jul 22, 2021

Here's a message from Lights Over America admitting that they do not put on events and also stating they are not party planners. They do charge the consumer a fee to enter an event for which they admit they do not put on. If it doesn't show, their words exactly go: WE OFFER NO SERVICES. YOU PAID FOR AN ENTRY PASS WHICH YOU DID RECEIVE, YOU DIDN'T HIRE US TO HOLD THE EVENT FOR YOU, IF THAT WERE THE CASE YOU'D OWE THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS AT PURCHASE. WE'RE NOT PARTY PLANNERS AND OFFER NO PARTY PLANNING SERVICES.

This seems to contradict everything on their website.

+18
• Jul 11, 2021

Scam company claiming that they have 40% off tickets until next week that stays permanently on the site just to get sales. When you purchase tickets, you’re sent an email to “activate” and you do not get ticket or location info. Has fake events in cities that never end up happening. Has gone under a different name like Light the Night. Has a fake Facebook and Instagram with some Likes but no comments are allowed. Lost hundreds of dollars to this scam company. They try scare tactics by saying they’ll charge thousands of dollars if you dispute or try to get a refund. Beware!

+23
• Jul 07, 2021

We also did not receive goods/ services for what we paid for. Didn't receive tickets, a refund and they have gone out the way to respond to me via personal email that we no longer have the opportunity to sell the tickets thru their 'fan2fan exchange' because we called them out for being scammers. They literally have taken our money, given us nothing and now refuse to resell our tickets [we never received them]. It's theft. Going thru the process of filing a claim to the Texas AG as well as my bank.

+22
• Aug 17, 2021

What's has been the recourse for you? They've cancel on the Chicago event twice now

Check fields!

Report Lights Over America


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit

Lights Over America Contacts

Website:

www.lightsoveramerica.events

This website was reported to be associated with Lights Over America.



If you know any contact information for Lights Over America, help other victims by adding it!

Add new contacts
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New