Sign in  

SECRET SHOPPER

Sharing is caring! Are you having problems with SECRET SHOPPER? Use ScamPulse to file a complaint.

SECRET SHOPPER Reports & Reviews (152)

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA • Jul 01, 2024

Received the bogus crap by mail.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA • Jun 29, 2024

Received fedex envelope from Redegar Construction LLC, in Pittsburgh, PA. Contents included a letter with header: WHOLE FOODS MARKET CUSTOMER SERVICE EVALUATION ASSIGNMENT.

Instructions said to buy a Nordstrom gift card totaling $1300. And to send them pictures of the gift card, after revealing the scratched off PIN number.

Check for $1795 from Clark County Credit Union in Las Vegas, NV.

Credit union explained that it is not a good check.

- Langhorne, PA, USA • Jun 26, 2024

The fraud centers around a customer service evaluation tool, short for a secret shopper for companies. I received personally two different days, two envelopes containing letter heads from Cvs, Walgreens, Whole Foods stating to deposit fraudulent checks into your bank, receive the money when they clear. Go to these places of employment purchase gift cards, evaluate the workers, keep 500.00 for the job. The 2,500 purchase gift cards take a picture of front and bank send the information to a email address they include. When they initially send the check you are instructed to text them at a certain number. In other words the check takes 2 days to clear you receive the funds, you do the task, only the check is fraudulent so than the person bank wants the money back. By that time it is to late they have the gift cards. Did I fall for it NO but I wanted to report it if I could help deter someone else! The thing I don’t like they have access to my address, cell number that’s it that I know of?

- New Carlisle, OH, USA • Jun 11, 2024

I received a fraudulent Cashiers Check in the amount of $1980.25 . With step by step instructions sheet, for a customer service survey assignment. The letter states to fisrt confirm via text i received check but all my personal information and banking named on check with bonus for if completed in 24h time . After i cashing the check i am to go to any retailer that sells apple gift card and purchase 1500 in apple gift cards while not revealing im a "secret shopper" and report back certain details of my shopping experiences buying the cards . Then of course im to email pictures of open cards long with recipes and my report to [email protected] then to immediately text (434)215-1239 to process my bonus. At the bottom of instruction letter it say George Rocks Programme Coordinator the cashiers check said regions bank. I contacted them nd they confirmed that yes the check is in fact fraudulent. I am in the process of also contacting the USPS on account that i received this in the mail. Infact in a priority mail envelope with a clip n ship shipping label. I would like to add that i did not personally lose any money at least not to my knowledge. I hope by reporting this that it at least help even one person from losing anything and i know it long shot to stop the one behind it but hopefully it will at least make it harder for them to get away with it.

- Tampa, FL, USA • Jun 09, 2024

Secret shopper scam. Sent check for $2950.00 for me to cash. I did not. I knew it was a scam..no letterhead on the letter sent. Just a check.

- Mound City, KS, USA • Apr 28, 2024

Was sent a letter and a check to do secret shopping

- Los Alamitos, CA, USA • Apr 15, 2024

I received a email from someone stating they are from Mystery shopper and recieved my application and I will be getting instructions on first assignment as soon as package is dropped off. I got a check with the instructions on what to do today.

Step 1 is to deposit the check of 2,950.00 and I might be able to cash in in 24hrs.

Step 2 as soon as it’s cashed I am to deduct 500 for 1st assignment and if is complete survey within 24hrs of parcel delivery I get additional 100. This is included with my payment to bring it to 600.

Step 3. Bonus if I complete survey within the first 12 to 24 I’ll get another 100. Step 4 eBay cards I’m required to buy gift cards at 2 stores. Etc…

Step 5 after the completion I’m to detail my experience, send pics of the codes on cards by email. And of course don’t tell anyone I’m a mystery shopper.

- Arizona City, AZ, USA • Apr 03, 2024

I was offered a job as a mystery shopper and sent a check for purchases

- Cincinnati, OH, USA • Feb 08, 2024

They sent me a check for $1,985 and told me to buy 3 Walmart money cards and load 1,500 on there and I would be left with $450 Dollars

- Toledo, OH, USA • Nov 22, 2023

Saturday NOV 18,2023. OFFICIAL TEMPORARY CONTRACTS. ( INSTRUCTIONS LETTER). AGENT #I WAS GIVEN (#D0882.

THERE WAS A LETTER WITH CASHIER'S CHECK FOR $4,770.50 TO BE A SECRET SHOPPER TO BUY 4,000 DOLLARS WORTH

WALMART OR APPLE GIFT CARDS FOR 500.00 EACH CARD 2 PER STORE MY PAYMENT UPFRONT OF $ 700.00 WAS INCLUDED I DEPOSITED THE CASHIER'S CHECK @MY A.T.M AND IT POSTED TODAY AS OF NOV 21 , 2023 I WENT TO THE A.T.M AND WITHDREW 400.00 WAS MY PAYMENT INCLUDED SO NOW I AM OVER DRAFTED OF 841.00 AS 311.00 OVER DRAFTED ALREADY WITH MY BANK SO I WAS HAPPY TO BE POSITIVE AND I CAN GET THE THING WE NEED FOR THANKSGIVING DINNER WHICH WILL NOT BE HAPPENING  NOW THANK SCAM MAN BETHOUGHT IT WAS GOING TO B E A NICE LAST THANKSGIVING TO GIVE TO MY PARTNER OF 10 YEARS IN POOR HEALTH..

I HOPE THE MONEY HE WAS TRYING TO GET FROM ME THAT HE GETS HURT WITH IT ....I'M SORRY.

I WAS MAKING A PURCHASE FOR MY THANKSGIVING TRIMMINGS ONLINE AND MY CARD WAS DECLINED I WAS ABLE TO PAY ON MY BED I WAS ALREADY LATE ON MY PAYMENT SO I HAD TOO THEY WEREN'T PLAYIN I THOUGHT I DID ENOUGH RESEARCH APPARENTLY THEY OUT SMARTED ME I WILL. LEARN FROM MY MISTAKE....****** *** ** *** **** **** ** ***** ***** ** **** *** *** ** ** ******* WE OVER DRAFTED 841.00 NOW I'M

CONTACTING UNIFY CREDIT UNION TODAY WHEN THEY OPEN TO TALK TO THE C.E.O THE CASHIERS CHECK CAME FROM THEM SO THEY GOING FIX MY BANK YOU SHOULD HAVE BETTER SECURITY MEASURES

I THOUGHT IT WAS LEGIT I DO SECRET SHOPPING AND IN HOME SURVEYS ALL THE TIME CAUSE THAT'S HOW I MAKE LIL MONEY TO GET BY THOUGH SWAGBUCKS ITS AN APP **** ** **** * ****** **** ***** *********

- Port Arthur, TX, USA • Nov 18, 2023

They tried to get me to cash a 2400 check from New World Recycling Center in Columbus Ohio and buy gift cards. They wanted me to scratch the card and send pictures of the cards and receipts so they could steal the money. Luckily I'm not that naive.

+2
- Gaston, SC, USA • Oct 23, 2023

I clicked on an ad for a part time position performing secret-shopper type tasks that was advertised on the Nextdoor IOS app several weeks ago and was presented with a what looked like a Google Doc from forms.zohopublic.com for something called 'H Edge Group.' Today, I received two Priority Mail envelopes with identical cashier's checks and instruction sheet in them. The checks have my name to pay to the order of, the remitter is listed as 'MRP AD GROUP LLC' and are dated 10/18/2023. Both checks have the same check number and are from Suncoast Credit Union for $1862.00 The instruction sheet has 'Attn: Customer Service Evaluator (CSE)' and 'Approved Survey Number 0666860 Oct 2023' at the top and congratulates me for receiving my first assignment. It asks me to text 305-565-5671 with my name and survey number to confirm receipt of the package (check and letter). It says to cash the check at my bank or credit union and deduct my commission of $325 and that there will be a bonus of $150 if deposited within 24 hours. It asks me to go to either CVS, Walmart, 7Eleven, Dollar General, Family Dollar, Speedway, or Kroger and to purchase three ONE VANILLA or VANILLA VISA GIFT CARDs for $500 each, totaling $1500. It advises me to use my debit card to avoid moving funds around. Once purchased, it says to open the pack, remove the label and capture clear images of the front and back of the cards then email the images and report details to [email protected] but not to register the card. It says to keep the cards because they will be used for my next assignment. The details to be included with the images are: Store Name/Address; Date/Time of Visit; Name of Cashier; How long it took to check out; Customer Service Professionalism on Scale of 1 to 10; Captures images of cards (front and back); Picture of receipt for proof of purchase. Then it says to also send the photos of the cards via text message to 305-565-5671. The signature is typed 'Kate Matheson - Client Services Representative - (C)2023 MS Personnel Agency. I wanted to check and see if this is a scam or a real opportunity?

+4

I recently received a text from and a mysterious letter from someone claim to be a secret shopper Head of recruitment they sent me a package in the mail in the amount of $2,950 they sent multiple text messages instructing me to cash the cashier check that reads out First Foundation Bank the check says it’s from 18101 Von Karman ave suite 750 Irvine ca 92612 they text me from a 886-631-5556 number email name was [email protected] they instructed me to go and purchase EBay gift cards in the amount of 2,000 and that they would pay me a total of $600 for completing my assignment I’m concerned about my personal privacy they have my name my email address and my phone number.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

I applied for a secret shopper and was sent this in the mail they text me to let them know when it’s done

She took a survey online and it asked it she would be willing to become a secret shopper she checked yes and received a letter and check in the mail from Pinnacle Financial Strategies. The check was for $2463 dollars. She was given directions to deposit the check into her bank account and withdraw $2000. After she had done this she was to text and also email the number and e-mail provided in the letter. Next she was to go to 2 seperate Wal-mart Stores and buy a total of 4 Apple gift cards of $500 each and send a picture of the number on the back to the contact person. She was told to keep the $436 as payment for the job. She was also told to purchase a $20 cashiers check at her bank for the National Kidney Foundation and to text for further instructions on what to do with the check.

- Bristow, VA, USA

Basic scam: scammer offers job (in this case: secret shopper), scammer sends check with convoluted instructions. The check will never clear, it will bounce and you will owe your bank of you get this far AND start the assignment.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

Though it was scam...did not fall for it...just wanted to warn others...

- Jackson, MS, USA

This has been reported but more content was located evidencing "Hello, Whole Foods Market is conducting a massive survey project in your neighborhood. This project takes place every week, and we pick shoppers to act as store evaluators. Each activity will pay you $400. Every assignment takes 20-30 minutes of shopping time in addition to time to review your report. Process your application by clicking the link https://bit.ly/3CvPM3T HR: Project Manager Edward R. Donald/Ben Williams sent November 13 at 7:49 PM number 1-************ and other contact number ************. This is connected to the Customer Service Evaluation Tool (CSET) assignment. Fraud

Customer Service Evaluation Too (CSET) alerted by text, received by postal service. How they obtained the P.O. Box unknown? They requested to send results to [email protected]. The number used to text was 623-606-1592. Initially, it was a job offer from Whole Foods to become a researcher for the company which provided the information possibly over to the [email protected]/networker company. The check of $1500.35 is sent in the mail which has been found to be a counterfeit due to fonts within the printing of the expected value. First a confirmation has to be made that the check has been received by texting Full Name, Amount received, Bank name of the check, Phone number , and estimation of time to complete the evaluation. The directions are provided to deduct self payment $400.00 for conducting the evaluation. In completing the assignment within 6 hours $250 bonus and within 12 hrs. $150 bonus earned. One - Two stores are to be surveyed to complete the $1,100 Vanilla Gift Card or Foot Locker Gift Card Purchases. According to investigation, again, the check didn't clear. Any store listed is to be evaluated with the gift cards in request. A list of stores were provided. Only pick $500 X 2 & $100 X 1 = $1, 100. They requested a capture of the purchase by images of front and back with receipt(s). The store name, address, date, and time of visit, name of cashier, request if the store rep. thanked upon completion of purchase, experience of the staff in the store, how long it took to check out . The reps. from the impostures names were to be Ben Williams and Edward R. Donald. As of most recent contact with the Foot Locker company the $100 is retained. The $1000 is missing from the Vanilla gift cards.

The scamer began with a text which states "Hello Applicant, this is to inform you that your assignment package/payment has been delivered to you provided address in/at your mail box. Kindly read the instruction attached carefully and proceed to complete the survey. If your package has not yet been delivered, kindly check again with the next 48 hours. It is important you confirm receipt of the package by sending an SMS to this number with your full name of the bank that issued the check, your phone number, and an estimated time to complete your evaluation. When I obtained my mail, a check for $1500.35 was enclosed with the Customer Service Evaluation Tool (CSET). When I copied the check for reference for a situation such as this one, I noticed that artifical was imprinted on the check. Although the check did not process, I submitted it to the bank. Still expecting it to be a valid Secret Shopper opportunity. However, as I read through the expected listing of what to do to observe customer service behavior there were still some concerns. When I completed the process of the Tool's request and validated a report to the email server [email protected], I was told to immediately (red flag) after the assignment is completed, to text 623-606-1592 to process a bonus for $250 or $150. The money was still on the gift cards purchased as of 2/4/23 but on 2/5/23, the amount was stolen $1000.00. I have a copy of the Tool sent. The request for two $500 Vanilla Gift Cards and $100 Foot Locker Gift Card. Why these specifically was the question? But they are using people and stealing in day light. They need to be caught. They have emailed me twice on 2/5/23 to inform that I did not complete the process. They said in the email "I needed to scratch off the PIN# on the Foot Locker card." Since the money has been stolen, I will not becaue I am fully aware of the scam now. The first text came to my business line and then switched to my personal number. Years ago I signed up to Secret Shopper on Careerbuilder.com and recently I signed up for an opportunity to complete surveys with Whole Foods. That is why I made the connection that this could be related and realized caputring the image of receipts were too much. Also, when they asked me to separate the pictures and resend, that was a red flag.

Check fields!

Report SECRET SHOPPER


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo, document or video
Submit

SECRET SHOPPER Contacts

SECRET SHOPPER associated photos:


Phone:


Website:

www.secretshopper.com

This website was reported to be associated with SECRET SHOPPER.



Social networks:

If you know any contact information for SECRET SHOPPER, help other victims by adding it!

Add new contacts
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New