Sign in

Idaho Power Imposter

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Idaho Power Imposter ? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Idaho Power Imposter Reports & Reviews (35)

• Jul 14, 2020

Victim Location 83642
Type of a scam Utility

I received a call from 208-388-2323, Recording stated they were Idaho Power, and my power is to be shut off, press *1* for assistance.

I pressed *1* because I needed a distraction from work and thought it would be fun to mess with someone...

Someone came on the line but then the call disconnected before I could answer. (Darn!)

Both the recording and the person that answered after pressing *1*, sounded Asian in speech. Not American.

Nothing transpired, call seemed to have dropped connection. However, I worry about older folks with less cognitive abilities, and others that could be targeted, and scammed by this type of call. This is why I am reporting it.

• Jun 02, 2020

Victim Location 83687
Type of a scam Utility

Claimed to be Idaho Power demanding payment within 30 minutes of the phone call or to disconnect my service. Spam call wanting my credit card information.

• May 30, 2020

Victim Location 83338
Type of a scam Phishing

Overdue power bill balance

• May 30, 2020

Victim Location 83672
Type of a scam Utility

Got an automated message saying that power would be shut off within 30 minutes if I did not pay my bill, phone number is an actual number for Idaho power but my bill is not overdue

• May 30, 2020

Victim Location 83706
Type of a scam Debt Collections

I have now received 2 scam phone calls, which have actually been coming from Idaho Power's phone number, 208-388-2323. Both times a voicemail was left by an automated recording stating I will be receiving a disconnection of service today within 30 minutes due to non-payment. I called Idaho Power yesterday and confirmed that my account is current, and not about to be disconnected, and that it was a scam. Since the same thing happened today, I felt I should report it.

• May 30, 2020

Victim Location 83466
Type of a scam Utility

Phone call that my power would be disconnected in 30 minutes if I didn't pay a fee via pre paid Visa card

• May 29, 2020

Victim Location 83638
Type of a scam Utility

Call threatened power cut off due to delinquent account. Asked for immediate payment.

• Jan 30, 2020

Victim Location 83401
Type of a scam Utility

I recieved a phone message from 'Idaho Power' that stated payment was due on electric bill and that within 30 minutes our power would be cut off. Called my boyfriend at work who then immediately left work to come home and check his checking account to see if payment he made online to Idaho Power had cleared bank. It had cleared the bank 5 days prior. He called the phone number left on answering machine and spoke to a male that had a foreign accent. The male asked for the amount of payment made, name, address, phone number, and account number of Idaho Power. Boyfriend again told this male that payment had cleared bank and there was no balance due, boyfriend got suspicious and asked the male, "is this a scam or what?" The male then hung up ending the call. I then called Idaho Power myself to report this, giving Idaho Power the phone number this scammer had left on answering machine.

• Jan 25, 2020

Victim Location 83605
Type of a scam Utility

I wish I had a means of recording the recorded message I heard when I answered the phone.

The scammer indicated my power would be shut off within one half hour unless I called (697) xxx-xxxx. Unfortunately I did not have a pen and the only part of the phone number I could remember was the area code, which appears to be New York.

My assumption is they were after money. I did call Idaho Power, however, to insure my bill was paid and they received last month's payment and indeed it was and they had.

• Dec 19, 2019

Victim Location 83340
Type of a scam Phishing

called and said that bill was past due and that it needed to be paid within one hour or they were going to shut off the power. That we needed to go get money packet then call them back and give them the numbers.

• Dec 17, 2019

Victim Location 83330
Type of a scam Utility

I received an automated call stating that my power was going to be disconnected for failure to pay & to press 1 to speak to a rep. I pressed 1, the rep said "This is (I didn't catch the name) with Idaho Power, how can I help you?" I told the rep what the message said & he asked for my name & account#. I told him they had called me, so he should already have my info. He said "Oh, ok, just a minute while I look this up," and I heard a click & he had hung up. I called the phone# back & it is the actual phone# for Idaho Power Customer Service.

• Nov 19, 2019

Victim Location 83704
Type of a scam Utility

Scammer called pretending to be Idaho Power automated message. Told us our power would be disconnected in 30 minutes due to a balance on our account. Our bill is paid automatically so I knew this to be false. They told us to call back to 1-800-705-6087 which reverse directory shows is some love your skin place in California. Do not respond to this call. It is not Idaho Power.

Victim Location 83705
Type of a scam Utility

They called acting like a technician from Idaho Power with a work order number and was saying that they was going to turn my power off and to call 888-982 5482 to make payment arrangements. I don't have a missing payment. They was using an old business business that I had. They couldn't identify my name, just my old businesses name *** *** ***.

Victim Location 83642
Type of a scam Utility

"This is an automated message from Idaho Power billing department. Your service will disconnect in 30 minutes due to lack of payment on your account. Call 844-299-3599 to arrange payment."

NOT from the power company.

Caller ID that comes up is 800-488-5168

Freaking Liars...

Victim Location 83616
Total money lost $897.75
Type of a scam Fake Invoice/Supplier Bill

Call with message stating it was Idaho Power letting me know my power was being turned off in 30 minutes. I was to call the above number, which when I did, the actual Idaho Power menu came up, I then talked to Michele B and was given the addresses of 2 of our spec homes and given amounts of $498.32 and $399.43 past due on the accounts. It was almost 5 PM. I was told to go to Walgreens and purchase Money Pac cards and then to call the technician who was sitting at the jobsite to turn the power off and give him the card numbers. I did.

The same recording came in the very next morning but I called the local Idaho Power number to go over the account as I had a current bill with no late charges. It was then I was told that it was a scam. I have reported it to the Ada County Sheriffs office. I was informed by Idaho Power that most stores are told to ask people why they are buying these cards and inform them that often it is a scam. i went to Walgreens and the said they ask on Western Union cards but not Money Pak or others. You can still call the above number and get the Idaho Power menu as of July 16, 2019 at 2:16PM.

Victim Location 83709
Type of a scam Utility

We received a call from (703) 634-6469 at 2:00 pm on 7/5/19. A male voice, with an accent which appeared to be from India, began speaking in a rushed tone, which was very difficult to understand with the language barrier and enhanced by what appeared to be a poor telephone connection. After having him repeat the information a second time, to verify I understood his call, I determined the following:

The man's name was Alex, who was a field technician for Idaho Power, and he had received a notice from the billing department to disconnect our power in the next 30 minutes. He gave me a number to call billing to discuss it (877 345-4671 and press #2 for billing) along with a case ID# 8753214C, which I was to provide them with, to learn more about the power disconnection.

I never called the phone number given, but called Idaho Power directly and provided them with the phone number and case ID# from the scammer.

Victim Location 83705
Type of a scam Utility

On 06/17/2019 I received a phone call; it was a computer-generated message that said something close to "due to nonpayment the electrical service would be disconnected within 30 minutes". The payment was in fact a couple of days late. I went on Idaho Power’s Website made the payment and got a confirmation number. Like an [censored] I did call the number they left behind. I was told because it was an EFT/ACH payment it takes 24 to 48 hours to process and I need to pay right away cause the technician is on his way to turn off our power. I was told I needed to be cash only, he gave me the address of a nearby Albertson’s and Walgreen’s. I was told to get a Green Money Pack card. Pay the fee’s and not to attach any Idaho Power Account information on the purchase. I was told I had 45 minutes to call back with the card number and hopefully the technician could be reached before the power was turned off.

I was shocked when he asked questions that I was giving him information that he should have known. Sadly, I gave him that information before I realized how strange the situation was.

It seemed strange, so I contacted the local Idaho Power number. Spoke with an Idaho Power representative who said it was a scam and to expect more phone calls in the following months. She was able to pull up my confirmation number from the payment I just made and said the payment was accepted just fine. I was also informed that Idaho Power would make multiple attempts to collect payment before shutting off power.

About 35 minutes after the original conversation with the individual looking for payment, I received a phone message wondering if I had made it back to the office with the Green Money Pack card. Lucky for me, I realized it was a scam and never left the office or got the money.

Victim Location 83702
Type of a scam Utility

Received a telephone call from a 208-_701642 - Caller ID UNAVAILABLE. Saying that This is Idaho Power Company and your power will be turned off in 30 minutes for unpaid bill unless you call 800-219-4011. We are a commercial account of Idaho Power and are not delinquent. I know when Idaho Power calls and it is not for collections such as this.

Figure out who is doing this scam. For Idaho Power's sake and the businesses or individuals they are calling.

Victim Location 83835
Type of a scam Utility

Received a call from 800-460-0849 claiming to be Idaho Power and threatening to disconnect power if balance not paid within 30 minutes. We are not Idaho Power customers because they don't service our area. Idaho Power does the Treasure Valley and SE Oregon not North Idaho. Called back to see if there is some mix up but they were adamant that we owed the money. Do not pay them.

Victim Location 83402
Type of a scam Utility

They called saying they were shutting our power off in 30 mins if we didn't pay our bill in cash.

they had no account info. We don't even have an account with an Idaho power.

Check fields!

Report Idaho Power Imposter


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Idaho Power Imposter Contacts

If you know any contact information for Idaho Power Imposter , help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New