Sign in

Readers Digest

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Readers Digest? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Readers Digest Reports & Reviews (20)

• Jun 05, 2021

Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Had a call saying won a Chevy Malibu and $275 000 cash from Readers Digest.. . wanted to arrange a place to present same... was gonna call back later for more info. John Anderson

Used badge #Ja44041

Claim #058676008174CA

• Apr 16, 2021

Victim Location 61603
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I received a call and said they were with readers digest and they said I won a cashiers check - and that I would need to go pick up a $100 gift card. I believe this to be a scam

• Apr 14, 2021

Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

told i won 17 million.have to call3233425322 pressoption 2.wii be asked for a bar code that was supplied 888 009921 additional pg289 827 654 001ca name given of caller John Mason would receive money from wells fargo

• Mar 22, 2021

Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

David Cooper called and said that I had won a a prize from readers digest. I never was asked for any info. I asked him to email me the info but never received anything. He said he did. I hung up. He called back a couple of days later. I asked to talk with his manger and I was passed to Benjamin King, badge #BK6160. I still never gave them any info. In the end I called ScamPulse.com in Saskatoon and was told it was a scam..I guess I have to cancell the helicopter, lol

• Mar 12, 2021

Victim Location 43056
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I got a voicemail today from a woman w/Readers Digest saying that I had won $8millionfive hundred thousand, and if I didn't call back, the money would be turned over to the state.

• Jan 11, 2021

Victim Location 43055
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Charles Wilson, badge number 132 US, from Readers Digest called, said I had won $2.5 million dollars because I pay all of my bills on time. It didn't really sound like it was Readers Digest. He asked if I was close to CVS and to pick up a Vanilla Card for $100. Then call him back at 516-268-1572. He had an accent.

• Jan 06, 2021

Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I received a phone call from this number +1-585-386-1831 at 9:16am Jan 6/21. The guy questionably said my name then so stupidly I said yes at which point I suddenly remembered reading or hearing about a scam awhile back where when they say your name, you are NOT to say yes as it seems they can do something when you say yes by using my voice somehow, whether its about using my phone for charging calls, buying goods, or doing other nefarious things. Then he said he was from Readers Digest at which point I said there is no one here by that name, he said again he was from Readers Digest so I hung up the phone without saying anything else. Although his English sounded good I believe this was a scammer from India or a similar country on the basis of his accent. I know Readers Digest does have some kind of contest which they advertise stating millions of dollars as the prize, this person likely wanted to get bank & other info from me to scam me, do other scams, etc etc. I can tell from the phone number it is from overseas someplace.

• Aug 06, 2020

Victim Location 76309
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I got a call from someone saying they were with Readers Digest and I had won $2 Million Dollars and a new car. They told me I had to go to Dollar General and buy 2 $500 Visa Vanilla Gift Cards and then they would meet me with my prize.

Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Callwd on phone said I won 2.4 million and had to send them 2000,00 processing fees through Bank of Montreal He said he was CEO of Publishers clearing House his name was Richard Greene. Can you tell if this is legiment.

Victim Location 75783
Type of a scam Phishing

Damian Cassidy & Jody Smith (800# & mgr at Readers Digest) called claiming he won $1.2MM and 2020 GMC pickup (any color he wanted). They are using First National Bank of Paris TX as their bank. Pkg code# 1331 + 1st & last initials of his name, Claim# 53769 + Paris TX, Approval # 639099 + USA

Our caller could hear Damian in the background telling her what to say and he let her know & then hung up. Jody asked if he received their package they sent 4 wks ago and he told them no.

Victim Location 60035
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Consumer was contacted by the a man named Michael. They claim consumer entered a lottery in 2008. They claimed consumer had $1,000 in winnings but to collect said winnings consumer would need to send business $760.

Victim Location 45206
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

First call from "Ohio Lottery Commission" verifying it was me who once lived in S Carolina, said I won a Ford truck and gave me a claim number

and a number to call Readers Digest special number

Called and spoke to James Cory Carson who said he was Johnny Carson of TV fame, son. Said I won third prize a Ford Explorer and $150,000

They would take the 1% state tax out of my winnings leaving me $138,500.

Said I would be in NYC August 3 and would stop by their office to pick up my winnings. In conversation he said the office was in Time Square, when I asked for a physical address he gave me 60 W 23rd, this confirmed it was scam, the address was not close to Time Sq.I also requested mailing my check. When he asked for information I gave only my PO Box address and of course he had my cell phone number.

When he began to talk about other taxes etc I said he needed to speak to my accountant who handles all my financials and asked if he wanted his phone number, the conversation ended quickly.

Victim Location 32503
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

My elderly mother has been repeatedly targeted over the last few weeks by a male caller identifying himself as affiliated with the Readers Digest sweepstakes.

He asked an initial series of questions to "confirm" her identity which resulted in her address and other details to the caller.

He then provided details of a prize package including a Mercedes and multi-million dollar award, and said she needed to pay $250 to claim the prize.

When she told him she did not have the money, he asked when she would have it, and if he could come to the house to collect a check from her.

He has targeted her multiple times, with multiple phone calls per day to the extent that she has had to avoid answering her phone.

I am sharing this information to prevent other elderly residents to avoid falling victim to these types of scams.

Victim Location 92123
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Paul Snider called to inform me that I won $950,000 and that money would be deposited into the my chase card but that first I would open a savings account with Bank of America #***. And he told me to call him after I set up the bank account and I will get $5000 a week or a month and he would send me $15,000 today.

Victim Location 83401
Type of a scam Phishing

Asked if I still resided in the city I was in and then told me that I want a prize from Readers Digest

Victim Location 43469
Type of a scam Phishing

I received a call on my home phone today from Readers Digest. I don't think they were Readers digest. That is what I told them. Wanted to sell me a three year subscription so I could get in before the rates increased. I refused. I felt good telling them they were not from Readers Digest. I was not able to get their phone number.

Victim Location 32726
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

A Victoria white called saying I had won 3 million dollars and a pure white Mercedes Benz. Explained that all I had to do was go to Walmart and send A money gram for the shipping of the vehicle and money. She said to send $199. When I told her I didn't have $199 she said how much can you send? I said I don't have any money. She said I could send $150 and the rest when I got my millions. She even gave me the check number 662717229 and that my package number was ek96922261245uf and her badge number is F696.

Victim Location 45840
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I received a telephone call on 9.12.2016 from a caller stating I had won 2.5 million in Readers Digest Sweepstakes. I do not have the number that I was called on. The gentleman stated he could have the money to me within two hours and I would have to pay 1% of the taxes but I do not remember how much that was. Gentleman got irritated. I then called the CEO/Jessica Thompson who stated that I had won 2.5 million but I realized that it was a fraud. I then hung up as they said they would have to give the money to charity. I hung up the telephone.

Victim Location 30075
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

The consumer was called by Joe Black 876-897-9633, claiming to be Readers Digest. He stated that the consumer had won $5 million tax free, and a new car. In order for them to deliver the money, they needed to be sent $500 via Western Union so that they can buy a 'Golden Eagle Stamp' from the BBB in Utah. This will be attached to the paperwork and allow the government to escort the prize to the consumers residence. The Western Union was to be picked up in Fairview by someone that had the same name as the consumer. The consumer did loose connection during the call, and called back at the above number, it was answered by Joe Black.

Submitted via phone to BBB/Utah KPB

Victim Location 47345
Type of a scam Fake Check/Money Order

Received a letter in the mail with a $3940.00 check, stating to call a number to receive the final prize of 535,069.00. This letter was alledgedly from Readers Digest. I have not called the number.

Check fields!

Report Readers Digest


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Readers Digest Contacts

If you know any contact information for Readers Digest, help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New