Sign in

Imposter Lending Club

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Imposter Lending Club? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Imposter Lending Club Reports & Reviews (75)

• Jul 22, 2022

Victim Location 97527
Total money lost $30
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

I have been trying to find debt consolidation to get out of a bad financial situation. I applied to several accredited companies. I got a call from a woman posing as a loan officer from lending club. I had been trying to get a loan from that company so I took the bait. I gave bank information to receive the loan. Luckily my bank caught it and shut the account down. Now I have to speak with a manager to see if they will allow me to bank with them anymore. This is not what I needed at a time of financial crisis. These people prey on hard working individuals when they are at their weakest. Now I have to tell my daughters we probably won’t get to go anywhere this summer.

• Jul 05, 2022

Victim Location 35120
Type of a scam Phishing

Scammer offers a loan of various sums, with a low APR. In signing the agreement, you are required to give your bank user name and password. Th e-mail comes from a John Adams, but the loan officer is Jerry Brown.

• Jun 04, 2022

Victim Location 75248
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

So as you all know when we are down and need a little bit of help these people come out of the woodworks like nobody's business. It is company's like these that put a bad name out for the good ones. Lending Club is a joke and a scam artist they sound and act like they are in it for your best interest but they are not. This company told me that I needed to send them back the loan documents signed then when calling Alex Cooper back which is the gentleman to whom i have been speaking with to confirm he received singed documents he told me that i needed to send him a copy of my drivers license. After completing that task he informed me that he needed my login username and password into my business checking account which is the account i was going to use to deposit the funds into . In doing so they managed to file a claim to have three of my transactions reversed on my account for items that have been paid to these company's just to tell me that i needed to send them on $1,000 of the $1143 they managed to get reversed. So when confronting Alex he transfers me over to his finance manager and he tells me that they reversed the charges because the company has been paid twice and to just send them the money via cash app lol oh and to then threaten me over text message! Not only did i change my password i deleted their device off my allowed devices list reported it to my bank but also reporting it here as well as the FTC. Please everyone be aware that if it sounds too good to be true more than likely it is, but that's not entirely true for all things in life keep that in mind as well. Hope this helps and as for lending club i will not just stop with just the bbb and the ftc i will shut you down for what you are doing and yall should be ashamed of yourself trying to get over on people.

• Apr 26, 2022

Victim Location 48433
Total money lost $24,000
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

MY CREDIT IS RUINED. I replied to an email offer for a loan. I received an email stating I was approved and would get the money in 2-3 business days. On April 17 Lending Club sent me a "congratulations, your $24,000 is ready to spend!". It was NOT DEPOSITED INTO MY ACCOUNT AND I'VE SENT EMAILS DAILY TELLING THEM. I get a "thanks for contacting us. We'll get back to you soon". They will commence taking $730 a month from my checking account to "repay the $24,000". They have no phone number. You can't cancel the loan. My credit is ruined.

• Apr 12, 2022

Victim Location 77021
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

I was notified that was approved then threatened and harassment and they kept trying to pin point Mt location and and was told that if I didn't give my location that the police would be called so I

• Jan 11, 2022

Victim Location 14051
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

Over Christmas and throughout New Years and ending in the first week of January I was in search of a small personal loan. I used Lending Tree to check a broad range of offers. I didn't receive many but received a phone call from an alleged associate of Lending Club. The address matched, his phone number was local and he even sent documentation for me to fill out and apply. They initiated an initial deposit into my checking account and once I made 6 consecutive loan payments they would deposit the second half of the loan, "helping me build my credit and establishing a good faith relationship". I will say I had some doubts but looked into the phone number address and question this lender for his credibility. Everything kept checking out and so I agreed and they deposited the first installment. Lucky for me my bank caught it as suspicious activity and locked me out of my account. The funds were never there and the individual deposited a check into my account using my credentials and or reset my username and password for my online banking log in. Either way it was fraudulently deposited check and they now have my personal information that I have since pass protected and locked as much as I can.

• Nov 02, 2021

Victim Location 67114
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

Was looking for a loan to pay off a few things and get ahead, now have been taken advantage of, bank accounts got closed. Have no money, til bank decides what is mine..and what they took.

+1
• Oct 27, 2021

Victim Location 07843
Total money lost $1,995
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

A scam company pretending to be the lending company lendingclub told me I was approved for a loan of 3000, 5000 or 8957. They sent documents to sign and I was told that since my checking account balance was overdrawn, they would put deposit a check of $1,995.00 so it would boost my credit score and give me a better chance of getting a loan approved. The loan was supposed to be for 5000. It turns out they deposited a bogus check in the amount of $1,995 in my checking account which I was immediately flagged for and now my checking account is currently closed and under review. I was told I have to get a new checking account now because of these scamming individuals who put a bogus check in my checking account. He said his name is Charlie Adams. He has 2 different phone numbers. 1-888-651-2257 and 1-845-277-7917. He and others who work there were trying to access my checking account while I was on the phone with them. I reported them to my bank Santander. I provided all the documentation they sent me. I do not want them getting away with this. They scammed me and have caused a great deal of stress and anger. Again, I reported this to Santander Bank but I wanted to report this to you as well. Thank you for your time.

• Sep 09, 2021

Victim Location 23234
Type of a scam Phishing

he just asks about your bank account Info

• Sep 01, 2021

Victim Location 96814
Total money lost $887.86
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan
Initial means of contact Not applicable

On August 10, 2021, received an email & loan document with loan officer signature & emblem of BBB.com & FDIC on the document from [email protected] of lending club, telling me that I have been approved for a loan & tocall #1-845-377-0221 or 1-934-888-3040, so I emailed back saying I was interested & gave my phone#. Kevin Roger called me back, telling me I was approved for an $8,786 loan @2.99% interest for four years. I was so happy &thought this was an answer to prayer that I can finally pay off my credit card bills. The loan document looked so legitimate. Kevin Rogers told me they need to make a deposit in my bank account to see if I have a legitimate account& I can be trusted. The deposit will be made tonight & tomorrow I can wire them back the deposited amount. So, being so naive & gullible, I gave my bank information. The next day, August 11, 2021(Wednesday), I checked my bank account & there was a deposit of $887.86. Kevin Rogers called me to tell me to go to Walmart to buy gift cards. I asked why am I not using Western Union to wire him back the money, he said it’s not working on their side. I asked a Walmart cashier for gift cards to buy, the cashier told me there is a scam regarding gift cards. All this time I was on the phone with Kevin Rogers, he assured me this is not a scam & Walmart just want to make money out of their other financial services. I was so stupid to believe him. This should have been a red flag for me & believed the Walmart cashier. I was able to buy play store gift cards at Foodland (Ala Moana, Hawai’i). I gave him the PIN numbers on the gift cards & told me in one to two hours a loan deposit will be made in my account, which never did happen & never heard from Kevin again. When I called the numbers they called from, I could not talk to a live person, only voicemail. So I closed my bank accounts that I gave to Kevin. On August 17, 2021(Tuesday), an employee of my bank notified me that the deposit of $887.86 that lending club deposited in my account on 8/10/2021 was returned & not paid. Also, According to the bank, the check was fictitious & altered. The check was under: (Travel insured international, inc.). The check was made out to me & someone signed it for me. I had to pay the bank the $887.86 because I bought the gift cards for 887.86 thinking it was to return the money, so I can get the loan. I will be more careful now in giving out my personal information. This really affected me financially because I live on a fixed income of $800 a month & now I am left without any savings or extra money for emergencies which I was saving for. I pray no one like me who is poor will be victimized.

Victim Location 76504
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

I applied on line for a loan that checks numerous loan companies and I was matched with the lending club. Which I checked prior to giving my information and their reviews were good. I filled out the information that was sent to my phone, including bank information and social. They then had me sign a loan contract and said they would send me 1000 and I was to send it back if I didn’t they would take 3000 out of my account. I told them I wanted to cancel the loan, and they said no. When calling the number they called me from they were rude, barely able to speak English, I mean no offense, they definitely were not from this country. Luckily I didn’t follow through not only would I lose a initial 1000 I would have lost another 5000 after they deposited it my account and were able to withdraw as they had all of my information. They also wanted 2000 for credit repair. I realized a little to late it wasn’t the real Lending Club.

Victim Location 56475
Total money lost $409
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

They use the Company TheLendingClub I am concerned that they are scamming people they had me buy an apple I tunes card and then sit in a Walmart parking lot and wait for a confirmation number

Victim Location 19702
Total money lost $500
Type of a scam Bank/Credit Card Company Imposter Scam

I was contacted by Jacob ********* from Lending Club stating I was approved for a up to $40,000. I given my information and he continue to state they are a reputable company. I reviewed the website and it seemed legitimate. I continued on. He stated I need to pay $200 in insurance to proceed with the loan. It had to be paid by a pre-paid American Express credit card that I should not register, they would do that. Then, received a call from him stating that I need to pay the taxes ($300) the same way. Last night, he stated it would be deposited this morning. It was not. He called to say I need to pay a debt to Speedy cash in the amount of $500 for the loan to be released by the FDIC. When I all Speedy cash at the number on their website, they stated I had no business with them. I called the police to file a report. I am out the $500 that was already given to them.

Victim Location 72364
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

Vincent Parker that supposedly works for Lending Club called me and acted like I was getting a loan I applied for. Then he asked me for my online banking codes to get in my account. That is a No, No.

+2

Victim Location 82514
Total money lost $300
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

This company stated that I was approved for a loan up to $10,000.00 to assist with payday loan sharks. However, the loan process required an initial fee of up to $200 and then another $200 for insurance protection on the loan. Payment had to be made via American Express Gift cards. Once the fees were paid there was another fee for improving my credit score so that the deposit could be made for the loan amount. However, that fee was $500 to the Credit Bureau or the Lending Club would pay $200 and I could pay $300 directly to the Credit Bureau separately. I cancelled the transaction and asked for a refund of the $300. I was told it would take 30 days for the refund.

Victim Location 00976
Type of a scam Bank/Credit Card Company Imposter Scam

Copy the scam message

I'm not reguest money and they reguest me to pay overdraft not caused for me.

Hello Michelle,

Thank you for contacting us again!

This is to inform you that LendingClub Bank has processed your request to close your account. This closure effective 7/19/21.

A check number 3968 of $80.00 mailed to your address on file confirmed below, and will deliver on 7/23/21. Thank you for being such a valuable customer.

If you have any additional questions, please let us know!

LendingClub Bank

800.242.0272

[email protected]

www.lendingclub.com

Victim Location 77449
Type of a scam Credit Cards

Impersonating a representative from a loan company Lending Club. Stated bad credit score can be raised with extra fees. Promised a loan with low interest rate and low monthly payments after credit repair fees were paid via gift card exchanges. Ensured that loan would be processed by wire transfer, after verification fees were processed.

Victim Location 99712
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

This is too Inform others that I received a text message from a loan company and I

looked at it to try to get a loan. Do Not try to get a Loan from this company because they ask for Username and Password and your Routing Number and Account Number too.They tried to get Money out of my account by calling the Bank and requesting a Dispute on three of my Transactions thanks to my bank they called me to tell me about the Issue at hand. PLEASE BE CAREFUL WHO YOU DEAL WITH..

Victim Location 02170
Type of a scam Phishing

I received an email from Lending Club stating my application was not approved. I never applied for a loan so I called a number I found on Google to ask if the company is aware of fraudulent emails and if they have been hacked recently. I was told I couldn’t be helped unless I provided my date of birth and last four digits of my SSN. The man said if I provide that information he would be able to confirm I am who I say I am and he will be able to transfer me to the right person. I told him confirming who I am is irrelevant since I never applied for a loan so he has no information to compare my information to and all I want to know is if this is a scam/phishing problem. I noted I do not feel comfortable providing additional personal information because I’m calling to ask if this is a scam in the first place. The conversation was condescending. I am deeply concerned about my personal information now.

Victim Location 85281
Type of a scam Advance Fee Loan

Scammer said no upfront fees then proceeded to ask me for $150 upfront and says it"ll be refunded at the first months payment. The other Redflag was he asked me to open up a green dot prepaid card and he'll "wire" the funds on there. Scammer had a thick indian accent.

Check fields!

Report Imposter Lending Club


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit

Imposter Lending Club Contacts

Imposter Lending Club associated photos:


If you know any contact information for Imposter Lending Club, help other victims by adding it!

Add new contacts
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New