Sign in

Homestead designation services

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Homestead designation services ? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Homestead designation services Reports & Reviews (36)

• Feb 10, 2022

Scammed out of several hundred dollars in Southeast Texas

I received a letter in the mail 3 times from
this company asking for $49 then another $52. Somehow i accidentally mailed the last money order to myself and was told to call sue to this not being right. Law and behold told it was a scam. I was scammed out of $303.00 not including my stamped envelope and Notary fee.
Scammed out of several hundred dollars in Southeast Texas

I bought my first home in August 2019. I believed that I could always catch scams and would never fall for one. This one got me. I didn't know about filing for homestead exemption was done online, for free. I sent them $49, then just three weeks later, I received an identical form, but the fee was $39 now. Strange. That same day I noticed that our mortgage payment went up almost $180 per mo. Finally, that was the red flag I needed to google the company. I feel so stupid!

This company helped me with my homestead designation. I had several questions they answered for me. Someone might mistake the form for something else if they do not read it.

+1

Victim Location 75126
Total money lost $49
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

To whom it may concern,

I got multiple requests for money to register for a Homestead exception on my property. I filled out a form sent to the mentioned place and they asked for a money order in the amount of $49. Then they send me a 2nd request in the mail for the amount of $52. When I contacted Kauffman County CAD directly they made me aware that the application and process were free of charge. They were also aware of this business attempts to collect on their behalf with the address from Austin Texas. They assure me that they had no link between the place mentioned and their offices. Please look into the matter and give me an update.

Victim Location 77539
Total money lost $49
Type of a scam Phishing

Received this form in the mail thinking that it was legit to file homestead, but got concerned so I looked up on internet. I should have looked them up before I sent first payment of $49.00. I was about to send another $52.00 for recording but was Leary this wasn’t proper since it was stating not official document even though they name Galveston County’s Clerks office recorder division. P,EASE VE AWARE!!!

Victim Location 78757
Type of a scam Phishing

SCAMMERS: Homestead Designation Services is STILL sending out official looking forms related to Homestead tax exemptions. They ask for $49.00 for a service that is free from the government. Also, they state that there is no Homestead filing on record in the state when one has already been declared. Everything about the form looks official, but this is 100% SCAM.

Victim Location 77521
Total money lost $35
Type of a scam Phishing

I received mail from homestead recording services asking me to register for homestead which well all know is for tax exemption.paid 35.00 dollars with my debit card that was withdrawn from my bank this company scam me they try to mislead you and just take you money and don’t do anything for you but scam you.

Victim Location 79369
Type of a scam Phishing

I received an unsolicited mail from this company citing my County of residence “Lamb Designation of Homestead Request Form” in an attempt to up its legitimacy. They further printed a $49.00 fee for document preparation FILED FOR TAX EXEMPTION. Yet further offers “An optional $52.00 recording service will be made available to you which includes the County Clerk’s $13 to $36 recording fee.”

Victim Location 77510
Total money lost $49
Type of a scam Phishing

I received a letter telling me to file for “Designation of Homestead” shortly after purchasing a new home. It looked official so being a new homebuyer, I went ahead and filled the homestead exemption forms. The letter said to pay $49 to process my application. I paid the fee with a check on 10/25/2020. I received another letter shortly after to pay $52 for recording and delivery. I also received two similar letters requesting money. Now I have learned that this is a SCAM! I am requesting to get my money back!

Victim Location 78260
Type of a scam Government Agency Imposter

We just purchased a home and are in the process of filing paperwork for a homestead exemption. So I opened this mail expecting it to be from a legitimate government agency, regarding same. Instead, I found a suspicious form asking to be sent back with $49 so we could obtain our exemption! I immediately went to Mr. Google and put the name of the company into the search bar at which time I discovered this is happening to a lot of people. Don't be fooled by this bunch of rip-off artists. This is a scam.

Victim Location 76084
Type of a scam Phishing

Homestead Designation Services sent us a very convincing looking letter asking us to fill out and return a Designation of Homestead Request Form and to also remit a payment of $49.00 for our new home. This can be done for absolutely no charge if you go through your local county. These people just cash your check and never send your request form in.

Victim Location 79098
Type of a scam Phishing

My elderly mother received a letter in the mail that was very official looking from Homestead Designation Services in Austin Texas. My dad passed away 2 1/2 years ago and her home was placed in her name about a year ago. This letter stated that she was to pay the state of Texas a Homestead payment of $49 and was due by Oct. 30, 2020. I called the Randall County clerks office and confirmed this is a scam. The scammers get the information from Potter/Randall County Appraisal District because the information is open to the public. Please be aware!!!!

Victim Location 77494
Type of a scam Phishing

About 1 year after the purchase of our home we received an official looking document called "--name of County-- Designation of Homestead Request Form". The document is from Homestead Designation Services in Austin, TX and wants us to send $49.00 by check or money order. At the bottom of the form is an explanation that the designation of homestead under the "Texas Property Code" is different than the homestead tax exemption. A recipient has to read all the way to the bottom of the form to see that this "product or service has not been approved or endorsed by any governmental agency" and that "This document is an advertisement of services, not an official State of Texas form". The document is very misleading and had I not reviewed it carefully I would have sent in the money, for nothing in return. This is not a legitimate service from what I can research.

Victim Location 75442
Total money lost $49
Type of a scam Moving

This company had me send them a check for $49 to file my homestead. I talked to the county clerk and it’s a scam.

Victim Location 76230
Total money lost $49
Type of a scam Moving

My husband and I just bought our first home he received a letter stating to send a recording fee of 49 dollars for our homestead back in January 2020. After we send it we received a letter from the Montague appraisal district about our homestead and they do not require a fee to do so. right then we find out after a phone call with them that the letter was a scam. Now here we received another letter from them again about the same thing asking for 52 dollar fee for the same thing just stated differently and also we found out more people have been scam from them for the same thing around our area but no one has reported it to the news or at least notified first time home buyers abut this scam. which is irresponsible from our state not to let people know about this before it happens.

+1

Victim Location 76502
Total money lost $49
Type of a scam Phishing

In the summer of 2019, I closed on a home in Central Texas and was sent a letter from Homestead Designation Services. I assumed it was a legitimate letter sent by the state from Austin and sent the requested payment. My husband was recently added onto the home loan and also received a letter. He didn't think it looked legitimate so after some research, we realized it was not and that I sent money to an illegitimate company for services not rendered or needed.

Victim Location 78676
Type of a scam Phishing

Received very official looking postal letter indicating pay $49 for obtaining property homestead exemption. Letter had all my property information accurately listed. Even had Texas Constitution pertaining to property information printed in tiny type on back of letter. I was skeptical and called my county property tax office for accurate information on my account. I am already homestead exempted and homestead is not ever having a charge through the state per the county property tax office. Upon closer investigation, I realized the address is in a large Austin bank/office building which has a service(s) / company which rents office space with mail box service. The address on letter I received from Homestead Designation Services is using a postal box through said rental type setup.

I then read on ScamPulse.com website this information: On July 26, 2018 ScamPulse.com requested Homestead Designation Services LLC modify or discontinue their direct mailer advertisement as to clearly disclose that they are not associated with the state or county and that their mailer is an advertisement for services.

I want to add a complaint against Homestead Designation Services as they have apparently have not followed the 7-26-2018 request from BBB. I am personally classifying this company in the bounds of scamming people for $49 with official looking mail fraud. I am glad I was suspicious and checked with my property tax office who stated the office does receive calls about this company and verified there is no fee through their office for homestead application. Homestead Designation Services does not make it clear on their correspondence their purpose, but seem to hope to receive $49 from any and all who get their letter whether homestead or non-homestead property owners.

Victim Location 78701
Type of a scam Fake Invoice/Supplier Bill

This notice asked that I mail to them $49.00 to have my homestead exemption prepared and then another $52 for the County Clerk recording fee after the document has been prepared.

Victim Location 75605
Total money lost $45
Type of a scam Fake Check/Money Order

This company made it seem that we had to send a $45 check to have our homestead set up or we would be in trouble with the county clerk's office. After paying the $45 they asked for an additional $52 for a recording fee. At that time I called the appraisal district and found out it was a scam, that I already had a homestead designation and that it is FREE!

Victim Location 78722
Type of a scam Phishing

We recently purchased a home and received an official-looking mail form from this company asking us to return the form along with $49 if we want to have our home designated as our homestead for tax purposes. Only if you read the very last line will you read "this document is an advertisement for services. This is not an official state of Texas form."

Check fields!

Report Homestead designation services


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit

Homestead designation services Contacts

Homestead designation services associated photos:


If you know any contact information for Homestead designation services , help other victims by adding it!

Add new contacts
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New