Sign in

Facebook Marketplace

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Facebook Marketplace? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Facebook Marketplace Reports & Reviews (31)

• Nov 02, 2022

Victim Location 38229
Type of a scam Other

Had me to send a verification code and then was able to hack my phone, I'm not sure what all information they received of mine

• Oct 11, 2022

Victim Location 16354
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I listed some tires on FB Marketplace. Later that day, I was messaged through FB from a seller of the name Ricardo Miguel Bras.

(Later I saw that he has a FB page under that name, which is minimal. He does have another more detailed and more legit page under the name Ricardo Miguel Peres Bras. He apparently lives in Odivelas, Portugal and works for Remax.)

He asked the usual questions about the tires, then said he'd be willing to pay $400, but through Zelle (which I was not familiar with). I asked if he was local to Titusville and he said 'yeah'. His cousin would come get the tires immediately after we'd exchanged money. (I have the full transcript copied to a Word file.)

My wife set up an account through our Bank's app, which recommends Zelle. I sent him the associated tel. number, but he asked for the email address and messaged a screenshot of a "Zelle" webpage saying this was the method to transfer money to an individual. I sent it to him.

He supposedly transferred the money and my wife received an email supposedly from Zelle (but actually [email protected]) saying teh money was transferred but we needed to set up a business account, which would cost $300. The buyer messaged that he was willing to add the $300 to the account, plus there was a $100 gift for the hassle, as long as we send him $300 to cover it. At this point it was clear to me this was fishy. The money was going to come from our bank account to guarantee we'd get $800!

The buyer was very pushy, but I resisted and said I'd need to investigate further and he needed to wait. Zelle could not be contacted that late in the evening. He kept pushing and said we were trying to defraud him.

Then we started to get fraud alerts and threats that we'd be reported to the FBI and our information published, supposedly from Zelle (actually [email protected]).

I insisted we'd get back to him the next day after further investigation and eventually he did not reply, other than a later message when I was online, which asked if I'd sent it.

I found an online article that mentioned this exact scam ("Zelle Facebook Marketplace Scam: How to recognize and avoid this scam" at Gobankingrates.com

• Sep 05, 2022

Victim Location 49085
Type of a scam Identity Theft

I’m selling my vehicle on Facebook Marketplace. People are sending me google verification codes. I didn’t realize this was a scam and sent the codes to a couple of people. I read that scammers can use my number to set up google voice accounts under my name

• Aug 07, 2022

Victim Location 54467
Type of a scam Other

I was selling shorts in Facebook marketplace and received an immediate response from someone saying she’s very interested and asking if we can we meet now. She then asked for my phone number. This is the 2nd time I had this happened to me. The first time it happened, the lady asked to send me a google verification code, which I never received to.

• Aug 01, 2022

Victim Location 55438
Type of a scam Online Purchase

Asked me to text them and verify my number after replying to a Facebook marketplace item for sale. Asked for a google voice verification code

• Jul 21, 2022

Victim Location 80015
Type of a scam Identity Theft

This was on FB Marketplace. They said they were interested in my item and they asked me to text them at 720-791-9361 and then said they would send a 6 digit code to make sure my post was real. They sent the code and I (like a fool) replied and sent them the code back. What is my recourse now?

• Jun 15, 2022

Victim Location 23421
Type of a scam Identity Theft

GOOGLE VOICE verification code. The person shows interest in an item you’re selling and wants to verify your identity by texting/sending you a code you give YOUR CELL PHONE NUMBER (DO NOT DO THIS) you get the code then send it to THEIR number & now they are setting acts up with your info

• Jun 13, 2022

Victim Location 29445
Type of a scam Phishing

The scammer asked for my cell number and then once I gave it to them they sent me a code and asked me for the code and I gave them the code which ended up being my Google

• Jun 13, 2022

Victim Location 35022
Type of a scam Online Purchase

So I contacted her regarding a car posted on Facebook Marketplace for $1,200 she made me buy 6 gift cards from eBay and put $200 on each, and then she was asking for more money, when I requested the refund of my money, she never responded, it’s been 48 hours

• May 25, 2022

Victim Location 43452
Type of a scam Identity Theft

I was selling an item on Facebook Marketplace, scammer said they were interested and wanted my phone number to send me a message. I sent it to him/her and then they asked me for a verification code for voice google. I didn't get it immediately and they kept asking me for the code. I didn't pay close attention to the warning, "don't share it with anyone else" and sent the code. Google, is saying that scammers are using your phone number and verification codes to create a voice google account to scam others. I am not sure what they are able to do with this and that is what makes me nervous. Saying they are using it to portray others acting as it is me.

• May 24, 2022

Type of a scam Online Purchase

Facebook marketplace ad for used engines at discount prices. Will not disclose any info online and only via their phone number. The questions I asked did not receive logical answers and blatant scam tactics.

Reported multiple times via Facebook and yet ad is instantly back online with a new user profile.

• May 15, 2022

Victim Location 38134
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I posted a dining room on Facebook Marketplace, specifically a closed group. I was messaged by 3 - 4 "different" people all within the span of 5 minutes. I was asked if the item was available, then told to give my number/give them a call.

When I called one person, they didn't answer, and I was told to give them the 6-digit google verification number they had texted me. When that didn't work, I was told to provide another number.

At this point, I no longer felt comfortable and ceased all communications.

• Dec 02, 2021

Victim Location 38114
Type of a scam Rental

If your looking for a house on Facebook marketplace there are alot of scammers on there pretending like they are the owner of the properties your interested in mostly they will have long distance numbers fake profile pics or no profile pics they asking you for i.d pictures and fill out an application online website that's looks legit but isn't they also give you a code to get in the house you trying to view they have you sign up for before you view the home it's not legit..

Scammer's address 5215 south Boyle avenue
Country United States
Type of a scam Online Purchase
Initial means of contact Not applicable

Ordered 4 hand mad wire fairy on a post with dandelions. Number one you can see part of a label underneath it is from China. Face book ad showed all man made.. very upset of cost I paid one was to get a free one if bought 3. Did not. The fairy is a cheep piece of medal stuck tight to other metal. Unable to assembled. I have looked for the Facebook post and Unable to find. They were Christmas gifts.

Amanda Larson
[email protected]
2008 land Rover range Rover
Milage 59350
Omaha Nebraska
909_255_0733
Facebook marketplace
Wanted me to buy 4 gift cards it's a scam

Victim Location 37207
Total money lost $1,200
Type of a scam Online Purchase

An add was listed for a 2017 food concessions trailer by someone under the name of Gladys Beecher. She claimed she was selling the trailer because her husband had passed away and she moved back to her home town and had no use for it. She said eBay would send me an invoice on the product, which an email was sent from an eBay like email. It gave descriptions on how to make the purchase. It asked that the purchases be made with eBay or Best Buy gift cards. After I made the purchase yesterday, they sent me an confirmation number and email & said that someone would contact me tomorrow, which is today with some delivery information. I received an email asking that I pay $1,000 for some transport insurance & that the insurance would cover the trailer if any damage was done to it while being delivered. That’s what caught my attention that a scam was being conducted. They also stated that if nothing went wrong with the delivery, that I would receive my $1,000 insurance payment back in cash upon delivery. I called the number that was attached to the email, no one answered but they called me back. I asked if I could pick up the item, they said that wasn’t an option. I then asked for a refund & the caller disconnected the call, along with the number.

• Feb 17, 2022

Never deal with anyone asking for gift cards. It’s a dead giveaway you are being scammed.

Victim Location 40212
Total money lost $2,000
Type of a scam Online Purchase

On Oct 27,2020, I found a 2008 Land Range Rover Sport MHSE for $2000.00 on Marketplace Facebook at that time I message owner, Mary Lopez. She messaged back that she is in the military and she would be deployed out of the country in the next month. She stated she wanted to sale her Land Rover. She stated that Marketplace Facebook would be contacting me with the necessary details. I asked Ms.Lopez the following questions:

1. Where is the vehicle located? She stated in Nebraska.

2. I asked her who is responsible for shipping and delivery? She stated she would cover all shipping and delivery cost.

3. I asked her how that Marketplace Facebook worked since this is the first time I had used it. She stated that someone from Marketplace Facebook would contact me. I gave her my cellphone number 502-716-3734.

4. I was asking about how payment would be made? She stated that Marketplace would explain more of the details when they contacted me.

5. I asked if I didn't like the vehicle or the vehicle is not what I wanted what happened? She said she wasn't sure but she knew Marketplace could answer that question.

I received a call from John Morris from Marketplace in approximately 30 minutes. Mr. Morris stated Ms. Lopez had provided him with my information that I was interested in 2008 Land Rover Range Sport. I asked him the same questions I had asked Ms.Lopez. He stated Ms.Lopez is responsible for shipping and delivery. He also stated that Ms. Lopez has chosen payment to be made thorough American Expresss gift cards. He state she would not receive payment until after 7 days after I inspected and drove vehicle.

On Oct 28,2020 , I purchased 4 American Express gift cards with $500 on each card. (provided copy of cards and receipts). On Oct 28,2020 at approximately 7:40pm I contacted Mr. Morris at 909-255-0733, he took all the information on all 4 cards. He stated the vehicle would be delivered on Sunday at 4:30pm.

I received an email that I needed to provided an additional $1000 for insurance. I immediately contacted Mr. Morris at 909-255-0733, he stated that the $1000 would refundable, and that I needed to contact seller I immediately contacted Mary Lopez through the email she had previously contacted me from which is [email protected] After I emailed her, she immediately responded and she told me i need to do the additional insurance. I stated that nothing had been mentioned about insurance and I wasn't doing it. I immediately contacted Mr. Morris @909-255-0733, I informed him that I wasn't going to given them another penny. Mr. Morris stated he would refund me my money back. It try to call him back and the number was no longer in service. I went to printoff my emails and all my mail from them had vanished.

I immediately contacted my bank since I purchased the American Express gift card through my debit card. My bank informed me I had to contact American Express and spoke with two customer service representative : Harvey and a lady that I didn't understand very well. But the lady stated there was nothing I could do until November 5, 2020 and she provided the name of the place that the cards had been used. All 4 cards had been used at Elite Restaurant Equipment ,301-309 Mt Pleasant Avenue, Newwark, NJ 07104. I had googled the place and I found address and phone number (888-886-7279). I immediately called Elite Restaurant Equipment on Oct 29,2020 at 2:15pm. A gentlemen answered the phone Elite Restaurant Equipment and he stated his name was Phillip, he said he was working from home since the covid. I explained that I didn't purchase any restaurant equipment. He took my number and said that someone from accounting department would be calling me back within 24 hours. I called back on November 2, 2020 at 1:16PM, a lady answer the phone with Elite Restaurant Equipment. I had ask to speak with Phillip. I informed Phillip that I hadn't been contacted he assured me that the transaction takes like 7 days to go through. Still to this day I haven't received a return call. When I call the 888-886-7279 number it rings and then it seems like someone picks it up and hangs it up.

I contacted American Express gift customer service on November 5, 2020 and started the dispute the charges. I had authorized for a purchase of a vehicle and I never authorized for restaurant equipment. I am in the process of contacting Better Business Bureau regarding this scam.

Victim Location 36582
Total money lost $2,600
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I saw a motorcycle on FB Marketplace, messaged the seller, Ana Turner, email [email protected] gmail.com. I agreed to purchase the item. I received an invoice with FB Marketplace at the top and EBay on the bottom, sellers name and address , item description, cost and other info about trying the item for 5 days while Marketplace held the money, Supposed to have 20,000.00 worth of fraud ins. Everything seemed legit. The bike was supposed to be delivered today. I paid with EBay gift cards 2600.00. I am retired, have stage 4 cancer. This trike was on my bucket list. I borrowed money to purchase it and people with no concience scammed me. I have to pay this back out of my small social security check and no trike to enjoy. I am devastated. I feel like the most stupid person in the world. Pay attention, if it sounds too good to be true , it usually is.

Victim Location 80634
Type of a scam Online Purchase

Scammer: selling a 2001 white jeep.

Right now I'm in a military base in Omaha, NE, we are training, getting ready for deployment. My Jeep is sealed and stored in our Military Deposit here in Omaha, ready for shipping. Also, I want to told you that my incoming and outgoing calls are restricted, so I can't call you. I am only allowed to check my email several time a day. Hope that you understand. Due to the fact that this is a large transaction I would like it be handled by Marketplace. They will send you the invoice with all payment details. I will manage the shipping and all delivery fees so the total price is $1.400, no more, no less. After you make the payment to them, in 2-3 working days you'll get my Jeep and you'll have 5 days testing period, time in which you can inspect and drive my Jeep. After those 5 days, when you decide to keep it Marketplace will release the payment to me. I need to know if you are still interested, so I can ask Marketplace to send you the details on this deal. If you are interested, please include in the next email your contact information for Marketplace invoice (full name, shipping address and phone number), so we can start the procedure.Thanks, hope to do business with you soon! I attached you some pictures

The shipping is covered by my Unit so it can be shipped anywhere in US territory.

Me: a few emails back and forth.

1. Morning. Does the Jeep run? Where are you located?

2. Hi. We would like to see the Jeep. We're interested. When can we see it? Where are you located?

3. We are in Greeley Co. Can you ship to that area?

4. Can we see the Jeep in person. We are willing to drive to meet you and see the Jeep in person. Can you give me the VIN#as well. I'd like to run it by my insurance.

NEVER HEARD BACK FROM THIS PERSON. We waited a few days.

Me to BBB: Concerned citizen. We believe we were being scammed. We have lots of military family and dont believe this would actually happen. We are sad to hear that someone would use our brave men and women to do such a scam.

Victim Location 17366
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I was looking at FB Marketplace and saw a car for sale. When I messaged the seller she said to contact her Mother as she was selling it. I contacted her by email and the seller said she was going through ebay motors to sell it. So when I agreed to buy it, she said that ebay would send me information. I did get information from ebay, which looked legitimate. However, I called ebay to check on the transaction # and how payment is usually made. Ebay told me that the transaction # did not exist and that they don't use ebay gift cards as payment. They said that this was probably a scam.

Check fields!

Report Facebook Marketplace


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit

Facebook Marketplace Contacts

If you know any contact information for Facebook Marketplace, help other victims by adding it!

Add new contacts
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New