1 Craigslist 2021 Reports & Reviews - ScamPulse.com
  Sign in

Craigslist

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Craigslist? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Craigslist Reports & Reviews (47)

• Jul 06, 2021

Victim Location 83325
Type of a scam Rental

A scammer is using Craigslist in the Twin Falls, ID area to try to rent out my recently purchased home. It is not for rent. He copied the listing from Zillow. Two different people have stopped by saying they wanted to or had rented our home.

• May 18, 2021

Victim Location 75025
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I posted some chairs on Craigslist. Within 4 hours I received 4 scams to my cell phone. See scam phone texts below:

737-404-1735 SCAM Text: i got your post, but if you don't mind, can i send you 6 digits number to make sure you are real? then i will call you." (I received the same text another time I posted and this was the same phone number used by the scammer)

704-247-1911 SCAM Text: Please can you accept payment with a cashiers check? We are not in town. Moving company will pick up when check clears."

804-390-5666 SCAM Text: "i'm interested in buying the furniture but we're just moving in , but if you won't mind i cam make the payment through cashier's check and once the check is cleared I will have movers pick it up." (notice they say "it" and not the chairs, plural."

210-503-9006 SCAM Text: Can i pay with certified check and have movers pic up after check clears? Willing to add extra $50 for you to keep for me." (notice that this text is very non-specific. Real buyers want to see the furniture first.

These texts all came to me within the firs 4 hours of when I posted on Craigslist. I know these people must scam successfully some people. Please investigate these scammers. Thanks, ****** Also, could you suggest to Craig's list post on their search engine website in bold letters to look out for these types of scams and say, "Report these scams immediately and we will have an investigation."

• May 11, 2021

Victim Location 85044
Total money lost $2,000
Type of a scam Rental

I am a 52 year old single mother with 1 daughter who is type 1 diabetic, at the same time my soon to be ex husband abandoned us last year during Covid. So l filed a divorce in January 2021, after a few weeks my landlord put his house on the market for sale. I was given til the end of March 2021 to vacate. I was looking for a home. And March 14, 21 my daughter primary pediatrician had called me to take my daughter to emergency hospital at Phoenix children’s hospital. We had to stay because it was confirmed the she has T1D.,so l had to put off looking for a home, to learn how to management. For about a week just to learn how to manage my daughters T1D because it can be fatal. When we were discharged, I was so consumed with management, viewing, other children packing stores labeled , pareading and so much more. I have been so exhausted and consumed to find a home. That l was told to look on Craigslist for a home and l did. Stress, overwhelmed and very exhausted.I to suffer from Disabilities. So l met a realtor who responded to a email that was sent! And he said the 2 homes I inquired were rented, but he had another one. He gave me address and security code to the home and ask if l was interested. Be mindful lm at the end of March just about! So l viewed l accepted, he sent application $100 fee. And a holding deposit $ 1000. And because he had everything as a realtor l Zelle over $1100 dollars after l submitted the paperwork. He keeled on asking for my searching paperwork l also have become I’m on a housing choice voucher of for a 3 bedroom at the time. That being said l did not because l contacted him after l sent money, he did not respond and l kept on and on. No answer. He has my social security number and my children, knew where lived and everything on the application. I’m know at family promise shelter to because l did not meet the deadline and the rental l lived in is sold. . And he has all my personal information and identity along with my 3 children . I have been getting emails constantly from a scammer, he uses the same teqiniques and statements, and l reported it to section 8 l reported to police they gave me the Attorny general number nothing. I need my identity protection and my children’s. I had to buy LifeLock for myself just to find out my information identity has been getting hacked since 2008. This person or persons need to get caught. I’m in a homeless shelter because he took mine and my children’s money for a home!!! It makes me so angry that nothing is being done , by invitation homes, police, Quadel housing authorities , or the Attorny general, Zelle, or Az Federal Credit union!! He’s out robbing a lot of people like myself that are really trying to survive especially in this crisis that Covid hit. ******* *******

• Mar 28, 2021

Victim Location 98115
Type of a scam Online Purchase

Posted listing to sell a Cavapoo dog on craigslist. Location showed as Greenlake Seattle. Listing said there were 3 dogs left. They claimed they did not know how to use the location function and when asked if we could meet the dogs they told us they are in sacramento. There was also no mention of multiple dogs in our exchanges... Just 1 and a round about story about their wife having a new baby and their reason for rehoming this puppy.

• Mar 18, 2021

Victim Location 43213
Type of a scam Fake Check/Money Order

Let me start from the beginning. I placed a Craig’s List ad about one week ago selling a patient lift. The next day I received an email saying they would like to purchase the lift. They agreed to the price and asked to take the listing down and said they would send a certified check in the next few days. I tried to send a reply back but the email would not go through. I tried again but it still would not go through. I decided to repost the ad and figured they changed their mind re the purchase. Two days ago I received an email that I would be receiving a fed ex delivery from Smithco meats. Today I received the fedex envelope. Inside was a smaller brown envelope with my name printed on it. When I opened the brown envelope there was a check made out to me from Trystar LLC. I telephoned each of these companies to ask them about this. Smithco Meats was unaware of any of this and when I phoned Trystar LLC they informed me that fake checks were being sent out all over the country for some time. I did not put it together at first but when I thought about the Craig’s List posting it all came together for me. Please be aware. The Craig’s list add I placed for the sale of the patient lift was $275, the check made out to me was for $2,7500

• Mar 02, 2021

Victim Location 75056
Total money lost $2,000
Type of a scam Phishing

I BASICALLY MET THIS MAN FROM CRAIGSLIST ROOMMATED WITH HIM FOR A FEW MONTHS ALL TO FIND OUT HE WAS TRYING TO ATTEMPT TO TAKE MY MONEY BY HACKING INTO ALL OF MY BANK ACCOUNTS HE TEXTS ME FROM FAKE #S FAKE EMAILS PRETENDING TO BE SOMEONE ELSE HARRASSING & BULLYING ME SOMETHING IN MY MIND SAID GO ON CLASSIC KIA WHERE THIS MAN WORKED AT TO SEE IF HE SCAMMED HIS CLIENTS & SURE ENOUGH BAM EVER MET SOMEONE THAT WAS JUST BAT [censored] CRAZY HE WAS THE FINANCE MANAGER IF YOU MEET HIM REPORT HIM TO POLICE HE IS A CYBER STALKER, CYBER BULLY, HACKER, SCAMMER ETC ...A CRAIGSLIST SCAMMER IF HE FINANCED YOUR CARS AT CLASSIC KIA IN CARROLLTON, TX OR AT IT'S A NEW CAR DEALERSHIP CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM IDK WHICH ONE IN TEXAS MAKE SURE YOUR BANK ACCOUNTS MONEY $, SS#, CREDIT HAS NOT BEEN STOLEN MAKE SURE YOUR CELL PHONES WERE NOT HACKED INTO REPORT HIM TO POLICE & FBI ASAP IMMEDIATELY HIS NAME IS ****** ******* ***** ** *** *** ***** ** ************* ***** ****** * ***** **** ***** ***** * *** **** ****** ** **** *** ** ** ********* ******* **** ******* ** *** **** *** ******* ** **** ********* ******* ******** * ***** * *** **** ** ** ***** **** * * ******* *** ** *** **** ******* ********* ** *** ***** **** **** ****

• Jan 23, 2021

Scammer's email [email protected]
Country United States
Type of a scam Other
Initial means of contact Online classifieds (e.g., Craigslist)

Posts fake ads on craigslist for a cargo trailer they do not have. These scammers use emails with domains ending in .live (which have no websites), also including [email protected] The scammer will claim to be in the military about to be sent overseas, or working as a flight attendant. They will ask you to buy gift cards to pay for the trailer, something only a scammer would do.

• Jan 08, 2021

Victim Location 35055
Type of a scam Credit Cards

I was contacted by email response on Craigslist about a truck I was selling. This person wrote a lot about how interested they were and wanted to know if there were any problems with the vehicle. Then they gave me a website for auto reports that they said is the ONLY site they trusted because they’ve been screwed over before (ironic, I know). They said they’re loan officer needed the report and that if they bought the vehicle they’d add on the $25 for the auto report. This site is run by them and when you put in your credit card information, it goes directly to them. Do not do this.

• Dec 21, 2020

Victim Location 63134
Type of a scam Rental

There are fraudulent postings on Craigslist site for homes in florissant and surrounding areas. I have found 5 today in less than an hour.

• Sep 01, 2020

Victim Location 27532
Total money lost $1,000
Type of a scam Online Purchase

here are some tips the next time you buy anything from anyone meaning add' website ask the seller to take a photo holding his or her drivers license! if she send you that info make shore you use photoshop to large the image i bet they wont respond because they know you going file police report or file www.ic3.gov enter all the info as much as possible we work very hard for our money. just to get a little puppy. real sad.

i hope this info will help you!

• Sep 01, 2020

Victim Location 63090
Total money lost $1,100
Type of a scam Counterfeit Product

We answered an ad on Craigslist for a house for rent. We replied back through Craigslist via their reply button to answer the ad. When the person replied, he asked me to send email via his personal email address, which I did. We are across the state, wanting to move, so we looked at the photos he sent and liked what we saw. We replied that we were interested so he sent us a rental agreement to sign before asking for funds. Once we signed the lease agreement, we wired the $600 for deposit with the agreement he would overnight the keys so we could go ahead and take possession to clean. Then he came back and said his lawyer advised him not to send the keys until he received the first month's rent. So on 8/28/2020 we wired the $500 for the rent payment. Now, at 6:25pm Central time, on 8/30/2020 he has stopped communicating. We researched the property and found out that it belongs to someone else who had bought it from an LLC about 5 weeks ago. We found out about the sale part from one of owners of the LLC who we found online and contacted today--***** ****** ** ******* **. The LLC contacted Craigslist after they sold the property to tell them this house was listed for rent and that the ad was not real, as their company had just sold the home but the ad was never flagged or removed. We also believe the name he gave us is bogus, as the name in the body of the lease says one thing, and the signature at the bottom belongs to ***** ******. All in all, the scammer used Craigslist, Cashapp, Gmail, and TextNow to carry out this scam.

• Aug 08, 2020

Victim Location 70117
Total money lost $1,400
Type of a scam Counterfeit Product

His names is Larry Barton he told me to fill out an application and he said he’s in Chicago he only accepts cash and zelle he said he was going to fedex the keys because they were with him in Chicago and it takes 24hrs to get the keys . Next day came, no answer, no text back and when I called his phone said the number I was calling is no longer in service and I sent him $700 for deposit and $700 for first month rent 1400 all together

• Aug 01, 2020

Victim Location 54302
Type of a scam Rental

Ad for renting a house at *** * ******** St., DePere WI. I googled the address and found that it is up for sale. Looking for someone to take care of the house as if it was their own. All utilities included. When asked to see inside of the house said moved to California to be with sister that has Covid-19. No one to leave the key with. Just walk around the house and look in the windows. I have run into at least 6 of these properties trying to find a house to rent. They are all very similar, looking for someone to take care of their home, all utilities included, moved to be with sick relative, or take over business of a deceased relative, no one to leave the key with.

Victim Location 78640
Total money lost $150
Type of a scam Online Purchase

Will offer the puppy for $400 and then say there is 4 left but are going quickly and ask for a puppy deposit of $150 dollars paid through online service to reserve the puppy. Then $250 upon pick up and the day of they will message you that its a scam and not to come to their place.

Victim Location 32577
Type of a scam Rental

A home we recently sold on Pensacola Beach, FL is listed as a rental on Craigslist. When the person listing the house is contacted he gives the names of both my wife and I and contacts interested parties from the number (850) 888-5781 via text. He states he is in the Air Force and bought the home for his spouse but she no longer wants to live there. This person is NOT the owner of the house and we no longer own the home. It is occupied by the current owners. Here is the Craigslist link https://pensacola.craigslist.org/apa/d/gulf-breeze-amazing-sound-front-views/715...

Victim Location 97214
Total money lost $600
Type of a scam Online Purchase

Scammer told to pay through zelle app $200 for ownership transfer for puppy. Got it. Then another $200 for flight from portland oregon to san antonio texas. Gave transexpresslogitics.com as agency and gave a tracking number. Lastly, the crate for the puppy wasnt enough for the weather so additional $200 to upgrade crate. Told me the puppy will arrive at 830am never did arrive. Lost all that money!

Victim Location 19971
Total money lost $3,200
Type of a scam Rental

Craigslist has a fraudulent listing that has my home for rent. It is a fraudulent ad and they are renting my home and collecting money for the rental. They have no connection with me. I have contacted Craigslist 4 consecutive days by completing the contact form on their website and nothing is done by Craigslist to remove this fraudulent scamming ad.

Victim Location 65080
Type of a scam Online Purchase

On Craigslist there’s a listing for a 1998 Honda Recon ATV for $500 from Russellville MO. The lady said it’s still for sale and in eBay storage in Kentucky. They want you to buy eBay gift cards to purchase this ATV. They send you a fake eBay email explaining what to do. Then they send a fake PayPal email saying your account needs to be retrieved do to security reasons. Don’t do it. They want you to login so that they can get your PayPal login information. I caught what they were doing before I did anything else.

Victim Location 45405
Total money lost $1,350
Type of a scam Investment

Basically this man made it seem as if all I had to do was pay 2 months rent and the security deposit and he would send me the keys to my new home in Dayton . Once I sent it to him he kept telling me money didn’t get threw and that he’s gonna put a hold on the keys until he gets the money . I figured it was a scam after I looked up information about the house online and it said it was sold in August. I spent 1350 for absolutely no reason .

Victim Location 38930
Total money lost $2,400
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I went on craiglist in found a 2010 Nissan maxima Sv and they had it for $1435.00 and a woman named jessica braun emailed me and she said the car was $1400.00 and sent me pictures of the car and she told me to go through ebay motors so eBay motors emailed me and told me to call the number above and a man answered the phone and every time we call he was the only one to pick up the phone.and they had me going to buy 12 $200.00 gift cards. they said it was gone ne here in 3days and I called he said it was gone arrive Saturday , I called again today and he didn't send me the shipping address and he said it was gone arrive Monday at 10:00am but when I found out it was a scam I called back and he hung up in my face and stop answering the phone.

Check fields!

Report Craigslist


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Craigslist Contacts

If you know any contact information for Craigslist, help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New