Sign in

Craigslist

Sharing is caring! Having problems with Craigslist? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

Craigslist Reports & Reviews (40)

• Jan 23, 2021

Scammer's email [email protected]
Country United States
Type of a scam Other
Initial means of contact Online classifieds (e.g., Craigslist)

Posts fake ads on craigslist for a cargo trailer they do not have. These scammers use emails with domains ending in .live (which have no websites), also including [email protected] The scammer will claim to be in the military about to be sent overseas, or working as a flight attendant. They will ask you to buy gift cards to pay for the trailer, something only a scammer would do.

• Dec 21, 2020

Victim Location 63134
Type of a scam Rental

There are fraudulent postings on Craigslist site for homes in florissant and surrounding areas. I have found 5 today in less than an hour.

• Sep 01, 2020

Victim Location 27532
Total money lost $1,000
Type of a scam Online Purchase

here are some tips the next time you buy anything from anyone meaning add' website ask the seller to take a photo holding his or her drivers license! if she send you that info make shore you use photoshop to large the image i bet they wont respond because they know you going file police report or file www.ic3.gov enter all the info as much as possible we work very hard for our money. just to get a little puppy. real sad.

i hope this info will help you!

• Sep 01, 2020

Victim Location 63090
Total money lost $1,100
Type of a scam Counterfeit Product

We answered an ad on Craigslist for a house for rent. We replied back through Craigslist via their reply button to answer the ad. When the person replied, he asked me to send email via his personal email address, which I did. We are across the state, wanting to move, so we looked at the photos he sent and liked what we saw. We replied that we were interested so he sent us a rental agreement to sign before asking for funds. Once we signed the lease agreement, we wired the $600 for deposit with the agreement he would overnight the keys so we could go ahead and take possession to clean. Then he came back and said his lawyer advised him not to send the keys until he received the first month's rent. So on 8/28/2020 we wired the $500 for the rent payment. Now, at 6:25pm Central time, on 8/30/2020 he has stopped communicating. We researched the property and found out that it belongs to someone else who had bought it from an LLC about 5 weeks ago. We found out about the sale part from one of owners of the LLC who we found online and contacted today--***** ****** ** ******* **. The LLC contacted Craigslist after they sold the property to tell them this house was listed for rent and that the ad was not real, as their company had just sold the home but the ad was never flagged or removed. We also believe the name he gave us is bogus, as the name in the body of the lease says one thing, and the signature at the bottom belongs to ***** ******. All in all, the scammer used Craigslist, Cashapp, Gmail, and TextNow to carry out this scam.

• Aug 08, 2020

Victim Location 70117
Total money lost $1,400
Type of a scam Counterfeit Product

His names is Larry Barton he told me to fill out an application and he said he’s in Chicago he only accepts cash and zelle he said he was going to fedex the keys because they were with him in Chicago and it takes 24hrs to get the keys . Next day came, no answer, no text back and when I called his phone said the number I was calling is no longer in service and I sent him $700 for deposit and $700 for first month rent 1400 all together

• Aug 01, 2020

Victim Location 54302
Type of a scam Rental

Ad for renting a house at *** * ******** St., DePere WI. I googled the address and found that it is up for sale. Looking for someone to take care of the house as if it was their own. All utilities included. When asked to see inside of the house said moved to California to be with sister that has Covid-19. No one to leave the key with. Just walk around the house and look in the windows. I have run into at least 6 of these properties trying to find a house to rent. They are all very similar, looking for someone to take care of their home, all utilities included, moved to be with sick relative, or take over business of a deceased relative, no one to leave the key with.

• Jul 22, 2020

Victim Location 78640
Total money lost $150
Type of a scam Online Purchase

Will offer the puppy for $400 and then say there is 4 left but are going quickly and ask for a puppy deposit of $150 dollars paid through online service to reserve the puppy. Then $250 upon pick up and the day of they will message you that its a scam and not to come to their place.

• Jul 02, 2020

Victim Location 32577
Type of a scam Rental

A home we recently sold on Pensacola Beach, FL is listed as a rental on Craigslist. When the person listing the house is contacted he gives the names of both my wife and I and contacts interested parties from the number (850) 888-5781 via text. He states he is in the Air Force and bought the home for his spouse but she no longer wants to live there. This person is NOT the owner of the house and we no longer own the home. It is occupied by the current owners. Here is the Craigslist link https://pensacola.craigslist.org/apa/d/gulf-breeze-amazing-sound-front-views/715...

• May 28, 2020

Victim Location 97214
Total money lost $600
Type of a scam Online Purchase

Scammer told to pay through zelle app $200 for ownership transfer for puppy. Got it. Then another $200 for flight from portland oregon to san antonio texas. Gave transexpresslogitics.com as agency and gave a tracking number. Lastly, the crate for the puppy wasnt enough for the weather so additional $200 to upgrade crate. Told me the puppy will arrive at 830am never did arrive. Lost all that money!

• May 06, 2020

Victim Location 19971
Total money lost $3,200
Type of a scam Rental

Craigslist has a fraudulent listing that has my home for rent. It is a fraudulent ad and they are renting my home and collecting money for the rental. They have no connection with me. I have contacted Craigslist 4 consecutive days by completing the contact form on their website and nothing is done by Craigslist to remove this fraudulent scamming ad.

• Apr 13, 2020

Victim Location 65080
Type of a scam Online Purchase

On Craigslist there’s a listing for a 1998 Honda Recon ATV for $500 from Russellville MO. The lady said it’s still for sale and in eBay storage in Kentucky. They want you to buy eBay gift cards to purchase this ATV. They send you a fake eBay email explaining what to do. Then they send a fake PayPal email saying your account needs to be retrieved do to security reasons. Don’t do it. They want you to login so that they can get your PayPal login information. I caught what they were doing before I did anything else.

Victim Location 45405
Total money lost $1,350
Type of a scam Investment

Basically this man made it seem as if all I had to do was pay 2 months rent and the security deposit and he would send me the keys to my new home in Dayton . Once I sent it to him he kept telling me money didn’t get threw and that he’s gonna put a hold on the keys until he gets the money . I figured it was a scam after I looked up information about the house online and it said it was sold in August. I spent 1350 for absolutely no reason .

Victim Location 38930
Total money lost $2,400
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I went on craiglist in found a 2010 Nissan maxima Sv and they had it for $1435.00 and a woman named jessica braun emailed me and she said the car was $1400.00 and sent me pictures of the car and she told me to go through ebay motors so eBay motors emailed me and told me to call the number above and a man answered the phone and every time we call he was the only one to pick up the phone.and they had me going to buy 12 $200.00 gift cards. they said it was gone ne here in 3days and I called he said it was gone arrive Saturday , I called again today and he didn't send me the shipping address and he said it was gone arrive Monday at 10:00am but when I found out it was a scam I called back and he hung up in my face and stop answering the phone.

Victim Location 30305
Type of a scam Rental

A craigslist post for a one bedroom, one bath was posted on Craigslist in Old Town, Chicago. The person by the name of Colleen Marie Bolton stated she was unable to show the apartment due to being a traveling ECHO tech in Florida. Her landlord Pat Phoenix requested 3 months rent and $350 deposit prior to move in sire unseen by cashiers check. After a little research on ScamPulse.com scam I saw a similar post by the same name and situation. Attached is the drivers license she sent to me.

Victim Location 98201
Type of a scam Identity Theft

Hi there,

Recently I posted my motorcycle for sale on Craigslist / Skagit , Washington State. I was contacted by someone with the email [email protected] The first email to me asked "Has it been in any accidents (which was sent through Craigslist)?" Then the message wrote " Craigslist does not always deliver messages, so if you can, please contact me at my personal email", which was listed below.

[email protected]

I then did so and advised my motorcycle has never been in any accidents. This person then sent me a separate email (assuming craigslist would have flagged it) and I was asked to get a vehicle history report from a specific website (linked in my email); www.motocheck.report, which I have never even heard of. In the email, this person then stated "when I was selling my motorcycle I got one from there to show people that were interested. It was only $19 which is half the cost of Carfax ($40 or more). Then the person says, "let me know if this helps, Thanks!" Pretending as if they care about you. The person also even stated "there are many scams out there."

I then sent a reply asking if this was a reputable website, as I know Carfax is. I was never sent an email back. I even emailed a separate email stating "I would be happy to pay the extra with Carfax, and provide that to you." Again, I was never sent an email back. I ALMOST FALLED FOR THE SCAM, but I outsmarted this person.

Motocheck.report looks like a decent website. However, the vehicle database must have been hacked because if you provide your Vin number, your correct vehicle will pop up. Then it asks for payment...

Victim Location 97070
Total money lost $2,200
Type of a scam Phishing

I was scammed through craiglist. After submitting a rental and a lease agreement, and sending in first AND last month - $2,100! - this person posing as a landlord stopped responding, changed their phone number, and only responded on email to ask me for more money. I unfortunately sent them a check through US Bank, who identifies this a scam and not fraud, so they would not refund my money );

My options are very limited; I know this person has a US Bank account, account #*** and routing #***

I find it strange that US Bank won't help me and won't do anything knowing that they have a customer scamming other customers. Now I am just looking for what my next steps are; can I take this to small claims court?

Victim Location 70802
Total money lost $500
Type of a scam Online Purchase

I was looking to buy a car and a lady contacts me and says she had one for a good price. She said she was with eBay or selling the car through eBay I paid her and now she isn’t returning callls

Victim Location 98828
Type of a scam Credit Cards

I am selling my vehicle on Craigslist and was contacted by this "buyer" almost immediately. He requested that I get a copy of the vehicle report and he would then buy my truck if it was clear. He provided a link to a site that requested the VIN and then personal info. I backed out and then discovered this is a current scam.

Victim Location 33771
Total money lost $900
Type of a scam Rental

This person claimed to have a home for rent via an ad on craigslist. Being desperate to find a home I acted too fast and sent him money even though he was "out of state". Had me print and sign a phony lease and lied and told me he FedEx mailed me the keys. All in all this person got $900 from me before I noticed something was wrong.

Victim Location 85745
Total money lost $1,450
Type of a scam Rental

I was looking for a vacation rental in Tucson and saw this add on Craigslist. We got in contact, and after filling out lease application, and signing a contract, the scammer asked for payment. We paid through with a check on an account and when we got to the rental unit nobody was there to meet us, we got in contact with the person and he said he got delayed and would meet us the next day. It was the same the next day and we got stood up for a second time. He never showed up and then we found out through neighbors that the unit was occupied by someone else entirely.

Check fields!

Report Craigslist


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

Craigslist Contacts

If you know any contact information for Craigslist, help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New