Sign in

ATT Imposter

Sharing is caring! Having problems with ATT Imposter? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

ATT Imposter Reports & Reviews (30)

• Apr 21, 2022

Victim Location 76365
Type of a scam Tech Support

Call received from individual claiming to be with AT&T @ 3:47 on 4/21/22. Caller stated our Internet and home phone will be shut down within 24 hours.

We don't have a land line.

It was very hard to understand caller d\t foreign accent.

I asked how I could be sure this was legitimate. Caller was unable to understand "legitimate".

Caller requested I turn on my computer so she could show me.

I told her I didn't have time, she said she would call back in one hour.

I has now been greater than an hour, she has not called back.

• Apr 21, 2022

Victim Location 76354
Type of a scam Phishing

caller said they were from ATT and my internet and phone were about to be shut off for fraudulent activity and I don't have ATT

• Mar 03, 2022

Victim Location 75243
Type of a scam Phishing

Called and stated someone placed a new cell phone order for $1.125.99 from att

• Feb 08, 2022

Victim Location 94591
Total money lost $3,157
Type of a scam Identity Theft

Elderly parent has moved to an independent living facility 2 year's ago. AT&T won't cancel the U-verse service associated with former home, now turned into a rental property. Someone has opened an account using parent's name, social security, old address since 3/5/2021. Called AT&T fraud department and customer service, they won't close the account. Filed police report.

• Dec 09, 2021

Victim Location 94122
Type of a scam Phishing

I received an unsolicited text message about receiving a little gift. I have no ATT accounts for billing so knew it was a scam.

Victim Location 33032
Total money lost $200
Type of a scam Other

Acted like they were from AT&T and were checking to be sure I had received my AT&T rewards card. One I had redeemed but the other one I had not. Told me they would take the funds of the nonredeemed card and add the funds to the other card. Instead the took the funds from the redeemed card. I feel like an [censored] and hope this helps someone else.

Victim Location 04101
Total money lost $49
Type of a scam Phishing

After I paid my AT &T bill in person, I got a text saying, "Thank you for paying your recent bill. We'd like to offer you a treat."

Since it said AT& T, I believed them. There was a choice of 3 items, and it said you only had to pay for shipping. I chose what I assumed was a knock-off of a Smart Sports watch.( It was mailed to me by Slim Nutrional, with Support @Activcitigadgets.)

I used my debit card to pay for shipping, and lo and behold, I later got a charge for $49 on my debit card.

I went into A T &T to inquire, and sure enough, it was a scam.

I called the California number and did speak to a person who told me they would refund me $20 and cancel the next installment. Of course, they didn't. I also asked about sending it back, and she said there would be a $25 restocking fee and wouldn't give me their address.

She also said it was a $200 watch.

In the meantime I cancelled my debit card and will get a new one so there will be no additional charges.

Victim Location 94118
Type of a scam Phishing

Text message received. Did nothing but come to you to address. I know better. NEVER address directly. Always a scam. Contact AT&T directly if you have questions. They are NEVER This generous with their money. I worked for them for de decades aa an Electrical Engineer.

Victim Location 97862
Total money lost $104.63
Type of a scam Phishing

I received a text message from AT&T saying “Thanks for paying your bill enjoy this free offer”. Offer was for free airpods and a smart watch just pay shipping $9.99 and insurance $9.96. These charges showed on my account from “ Elite Air Pods”. Products never arrived. A month later I was charged $84.68 from a different company “Group Air Pods”. No phone number or contact information was given. After filing a claim with credit card company I found a number to reach this supposed company. They said he can only refund me if they get the product back, even though I told him I never got it. He would have to charge $20 to process this refund and would be charging the account. Very fraudulent. Not counting it was originally from AT&T, and then it was a different company , who then gave my information to a third company who charged without my consent.

Victim Location 38111
Type of a scam Phishing

Received a text saying that I overpaid a bill. Click here to be compensated.

Looks as if they got some info from FB.

Victim Location 72501
Total money lost $259
Type of a scam Phishing

Received text message saying I had been overcharged on last bill and for refund please click on link. I did and it was reward from AT&T for iPad for being loyal customer. Paid for shipping. It wasn’t AT&T and it wasn’t for shipping. $49.95 was charged to my bank account 5 times over 2 months. The text link looked exactly like AT&T billing .

Victim Location 23112
Type of a scam Phishing

Received a phone call stating that if I paid $300 in an Apple gift card to them, they would take money off of my AT&T bill every month for one year. When I hung up the phone, they sent a text message threatening that my phone call had been recorded.

Victim Location 94085
Type of a scam Tech Support

Last Monday, March 08 around 5:40 pm, I was browsing on the AT&T website about a new package for internet and TV for my home. After I select the new deal and started filling out my info, my internet signal dropped. At this same time, someone calls me from the phone number +1(855)258-8229 telling me there was from AT&T and could help me to finish filling out the online form. Due to the call was at the exact time that I was browsing on the AT&T website, I believed she is from AT&T. The person asked for all my personal information, and unfortunately, I gave everything to her (Credit card, SSN, address, etc.). After a couple of minutes, she tried to tell me what is my account information, but of course, everything was fake. After three or four times that the information did not match and I was not able to join on the AT&T account, the call fall. Then, I realized I fall into the scam and after I search the number +1(855)258-8229 on google, I saw it is a huge scam from India. At the same time, I took AT&T phone 800-288-2020 on their website and called to ask about some help and try to understand what was happened, because someone from AT&T gave my phone to the scammer, next, due to the time was after the customer care time, the automatically call drive to hit "9" to talk with the operator, and for my surprise, my phone number had a "lookup", consequently, I talked with the scammer again that asked all my personal information again. Luckily, my wife called from her cell phone to the AT&T phone 800-288-2020 and in her call did not have the option to call with an operator, thus in this time, I did not give any information. Immediately I hang up the call and called my bank to cancel my credit card and I set up "fraud alert" and made a "freeze credit" with Equifax and TransUnion, and also I sent an email and fill out an SSA Scam Reporting Form to set up a kind of red flag with my SSN. To be honest, I'm feeling scared and afraid of how my data were breach and leaked. I hope AT&T has been doing something to avoid issues like that.

 

Victim Location 99504
Type of a scam Phishing

I received a call from AT&T stating that I had a fraudulent activity on my account. A person was on the phone wanted to verify my zip code then he said that he will text me a code to verify then hung up. I never did receive a text message to verify code so I called AT&T to see if there were any fraudulent activity. I called AT&T, the AT&T representative said that it was a scam.

Victim Location 20755
Type of a scam Utility

I received a call from a 8775902145 offering 50% off promotion from DirecTV for 2 years. The promotion was to cut my bill down to $115/month for the next two years. In order to get this promotion, I will have to purchase an eBay card and put $460 on this card, then call 8446749143 to pay for 4 months in advance, which will make me bill free for the next four months. Once paid, my DirecTV bill will be $115/ month for two years. I did called DirecTV to verified this promotion before purchasing and was told it was a scam. Please be AWARE!!

 

Victim Location 87507
Type of a scam Identity Theft

Called to offer 50 % off my cable bill. Asked for my account # last 4 of my ss at that point I had a question and I realized I was taking to a robot. And asked if I was speaking to a robot they robot couldn't keep up so I hung up and call my cable co. Which check to see if my account had been changed and no it hadn't, and there wasn't any specials either. After the call I searched the no and its showing it in Japan. But now I'm worried because they have some of my info.

Victim Location 14437
Total money lost $69.99
Type of a scam Phishing

I was looking at my phone messages and I got one from AT&T and since I have been with this cell service for 30yrs I guess I didn't think much of it they were offering iPads and were making space for new Pro 2021 versions and had 82 units left all I had to do was pay 5.95 for shipping which I did with my debit card. I was checking my account just about everyday since Dec 28th when the card went through was checking my account on the 10th and notices debit for 69.99 was taken for (OneGoalOneDreamBody) this debit is associated with the card I used for shipping of the iPad according to my bank account. when I checked the OneGoalOneDreamBody it went to a web site I didn't recognize at all. I don't know if you can get my money back but it sure would be nice since Im on a fixed income. I feel very stupid for giving my credit card out like that I usually am very careful don't know what I was thinking.

Victim Location 53213
Type of a scam Online Purchase

Tried to upgrade my internet service by hacking my account.

Victim Location 43137
Type of a scam Utility

2 people came to my home to sell me a security system. They showed badges that I took pictures of with their faces. They took my information me and my daughters social security number and was to come back later that day to install the system and that was July 24, 2020. They never returned and I called At&t to report them and no one has never called me back. They have mines and daughters social security numbers. I have pictures of the 2 people.

Victim Location 53150
Type of a scam Credit Repair/Debt Relief

They claim to give you 50% off your direct tv or AT&T bill. You have to pay 50% up front and will not get a bill for a year.. You also get all of this guaranteed for 3 years plus all the premium channels for free. They do not want any money , but they are working a contract with ebay, so you pay with ebay cards.

Check fields!

Report ATT Imposter


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by
adding a photo
Submit

ATT Imposter Contacts

If you know any contact information for ATT Imposter, help other victims by adding it!

Add new contacts
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New