Sign in

American Sweepstakes

Sharing is caring! Having problems with American Sweepstakes? Use ScamPulse to make a complaint

American Sweepstakes Reports & Reviews (19)

• Feb 25, 2020

Victim Location 43078
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I got a phone call from Todd Sloan of American Sweepstakes saying I had won $7 million but that I had to pay $350. He said he had driven from New York, and was waiting at a local hotel waiting with a camera crew. He asked for my credit card numbers, I told him they were maxed out. He asked for my credit card's phone numbers, which I gave him. He called them and called me back to ask for another form of payment. I'm on Social Security disability due to an accident and lost my leg. I gave him the last 4 digits of my Social Security number.

• Dec 23, 2019

Victim Location 75652
Total money lost $700.25
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Sent $675 money order to Alan Espes (gov't agent) @1326 Wagon Road, Wallis TX 77485 (Post Office postage was $25.50) on Friday, Dec 20, 2019 to be received on Sat, Dec 21, 2019. The warehouse ph# 866-978-6536 and his winning# is 03325US. Sweepstakes phone# is 702-487-3758. Michael Petterson's ph# 786-235-9666 and he's the sweepstakes representative who called Vanlear Jackson who reported this scam. Michael is now asking for $3600 for insurance for the amount of money Vanlear is to receive (saying anything over $250M has to be insured). The Sweepstakes money is to be delivered by noon today IF he pays the $3600. He's winnings are supposed to be $1.2MM.

• Oct 09, 2019

Victim Location 45011
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I received a call today that said I won a prize from American Sweepstakes and he would deliver a certified check today, was I home and did I want it published or private. I said I didn't believe him because people don't give money away. He said it was a certified check but he needed my permission to publish it. I said if it really was a certified check, he could publish for advertising and I would be home from work after 3pm. Then I got worried and looked up the number and saw it originated from Jamaica and new I was scammed. Not sure what will happen.

Victim Location 44122
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I received a call on my cell phone from American Sweepstakes & Promotion. The callers name was Angel Costello. He had a thick accent. He said he was in Las Vegas, NV. He said I won $850,000. He was going to call me back in ten minutes to tell me how much I had to pay to US Customs. I kind of figured it was a scam. They wanted me to pay money to get money. I wanted to check with Better Business Bureau. I have been entering a lot of contests on my cell phone. The phone number in my caller ID was 202-391-0982

Victim Location 54101
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

On Oct. 22 my mom received a call. Michael Washington claimed she won a Mercedes Benz and $150,000. She'd have to send them a check for $6,500 for taxes on the car.

She's elderly.

Her family tried to tell her it was a scam, but she was bound and determined to send it anyway.

I alerted her post office, since it's a small town. She sent them a $20 check on Oct. 23rd. They Postmaster in NC was notified and we were able to get that back. Again she attempted to send them $150. I tore up the check.

They had my cell phone number, I had called him to say you're not getting on dime of my mother's money. We had two conversations.

His boss, George, called, asking what did Michael promise my mom. Eventually he got very angry and hung up. He called back within the next min. & I finally got out of him who he worked for. He wouldn't give his last name.

On the 24th I was at her house & some other guy called on her phone. He told me I was selfish & that I wanted her money. Once again, he became very irate.

My mom got call blocking on her phone. My mom's first instinct is to just pick it up. My dad now makes a point to screen the calls, because they used a different number last time. It's 800-234-1223.

My mother & father are on the Do not Call list both nationally and in our state, WI.

They have no online presence. The have emails & my dad has a Facebook account that he doesn't use.

He had an accent, I think it was an African accent. I have some of the calls recorded.

Victim Location 73139
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Mark Johnson, an attorney, $750,000 since 2015. They want me to call 1-866-224-2143. AFSN29405.gov. They told me to call and register and they will meet with me in 24 hours.

Victim Location 76014
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Received a call from a Sandra Wilson telling me that i won 2nd place in a sweepstakes drawing. She gave me a tracking number and told me that i would be receiving a package from fed-ex and that it would be a cashier's check from Bank of America for $1,200,000 and some other tax forms like 1099G. She gave me the number to the storage facility where it was being held and told me to call them and call her back. When i called the storage facility that is when they said the state of Texas requires me to register and get a declaration to be able to release my package and that would cost $980, and that it would be refunded afterward. I don't have $980. and I told the guy that and he asked me to try to raise the money. I asked the name of his company and he said all he could say is he is a federal storage facility. I called the Sandra lady back and she gave me another number trying to prove that everything was legit. They told me that my name was drawn on March 19th. I don't think this is for real.

Victim Location 63113
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I got a call saying I'd won $75,000 in a sweepstakes but I have to mail them $1000, via check, overnight express. At one point, they tried to get my credit card # (they said I had to pay for something, I can't remember) but I refused to give it to them. They called back pretending to be an Officer David Young from the Sweepstakes bureau at the IRS. They asked me to send the check to a Diane Plum of New Brighton, PA who is supposed to be the insurance agent

Victim Location 34243
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I was contacted by someone claiming that I won $585,000 but I would have to pay an airport tax of $1800. He said they would pick up the tax when they came to my door.

Victim Location 43605
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

On 9.20.17, I received a phone call from Jason Carrerra with American Sweepstakes, he said I won $975,000, but after taxes and fees, I would get $675,000. He gave me his phone number 518-478-2796. Yesterday, I spoke to Jackie Franklin 310-598-1829. Then I talked to Robert Henderson this morning, a Federal agent, and his number is 202-846-9201. Then I talked to James Jackson an attorney 202-866-7318. They said it was a Fortune 500 company. They said the reason I needed a bond was to insure my winnings. They said my state and federal taxes would be taken out of that. The said the winnings would be delivered by a US Brinks truck. They told me to pay $1000 by going to the post office and buying a money order, and then call them with the tracking number, them they would take care of all the legal stuff on their end, and I would receive my winnings within 48 hours, then I could cash the money order after that. The money is in a US Bank out of New York that has the money. They did not have any accent.

Victim Location 07704
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I was contacted on my cell phone by a man saying he was representing the American sweepstakes co. He said I was a second prize winner of five hundred twenty thousand dollars. He said he needed my address in order to deliver the package to me. He also gave me another phone number that I had to call to get the case number. I called the second number and the man said he was with the Consumer protection agency and his company was investigating my award and I had to hire an attorney provided by American sweepstakes and I had to pay 5,200 dollars for the lawyer and the fifty two hundred was 100 per cent refundable. I immediately contacted the ScamPulse.com and now I'm reporting this. If I can provide any more info please call me at *** ***. Thank you

Victim Location 48858
Total money lost $7,500
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Mother was contacted multiple times, mainly by a woman claiming to be Gloria Fox a Vice President at American Sweepstakes from 13473528517 and a man claiming to be David Owens with Consumer Protection Bureau from 13479267734. First they claimed she was runner up in their sweepstakes and she had to pay $7500 for insurance to claim her prize then later claimed the winner had been disqualified and they wanted $35000 for insurance to claim that prize.

Victim Location 44805
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

he says I won 2nd place in american sweepstaks

Victim Location 99515
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Received a call from: James Stewart, indicating that he was an invesitgator for the ScamPulse.com. The call came from: 1.866.978.6353 that I had won $978,000. dated: 2014, from: American Sweepstakes. And that they needed to release it to me or they would get penalized. He said the money was held in escrow with Loyds of London. And after he emailed me or faxed me a copy of the check made out to me and a tax paper, and the paper from Loyds of London, to call him back. Which I never called him back. Found out he does not work with the ScamPulse.com, as he had stated initially. He said his manager's last name was Ross. He also said my information was sold. He wanted to wire me money. I also gave James Stewart my Fax#xxx.xxx.xxxx

Victim Location 84629
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I received a phone call from Timothy Vanderbilt with the DCR/US Department of Consumer Regulations (non-existent) at 202-854-0568. he said I had won $850,000 with the American Sweepstakes, and that I was being notified of the authenticity of the winnings, as a result of the Patriot Act, that protects against money laundering. American Sweepstakes had registered her winnings as per the law.

Vanderbilt instructed her to call American Sweepstakes at 855-789-7780 to claim her winnings.  I spoke with Derrick Sandy who congratulated me and informed me that my claim number was AS26592, and that I would need to pay a refundable processing fee of 1%, $8,500. I was instructed to purchase a cashier's check in amount of $8,500, made out to Bobby L. Coleman, 539 Preston Avenue, Lewiston, ID 83501. UPS would be picking up the check tomorrow. Sandy told me that the $50.40 overnight charge would be deducted from my winnings.

Victim Location 36853
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

Was called several times about my million dollar winnings. Never mentioned fee until email. I emailed back saying to take the $395 fee out of my winnings. I got no response.

Victim Location 31036
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

provided reference number stating I won 2.2 Million dollars and that I would need ID reference and registration fee 450.00 before receiving winnings. A lady named Marian Spitzer would be coming to my home to accompany me to any bank of my choice to prove the check (winnings) was a valid check. Then I would need to go to Western Union, Walgreen or Walmart and to send the 450.00 and wanted to know what kind of ID I could provide.

Victim Location 41139
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I received a phone call from American Sweepstake (1-817-210-4060) and was told I won 2nd place of $450,000. BUT I was asked to send $1200 via a credit card - implying I would receive the money back. He also said something about the money having to go through customs because of 9/11. His name was Agent Gordon Pape ( 1-202-558-4608)

Victim Location 28669
Type of a scam Sweepstakes/Lottery/Prizes

I have been called twice this month and was told I won asweepstake! First one was over a Million dollars I gave the person (Rodney Snyder) my info that he needed, he called me many times in 2 days to verify my info and to get my account numbers. He called me back and said there was a problem with the transfer of the money, and he would have to get back to me" These things take time" he said. I waited 2 days and called him the number was no longer in order..

Today I got a call from America Sweepstakes, the lady Nancy Richie from New York told me I had won only I had to paid for the insurance on the Check so it would be good to take to the bank ??? Told her I had been scammed earlier this year and it was all over the news about winning money and NOT having to pay to get the money. I told her I would drive to New York and pick it up for $375 dollars. She said I couldn't do that either! She told me to check and see if I couldn't get the money from someone told her no that everyone said it was a scam and wouldn't give me any money. She said she would call tomorrow and see if I got the money. Nancy number is- 917-475-2810. I asked was there a way to verify this she gave me a number to call the sweepstakes a and it was 7 when I called No answer. Will call in the morning .

Check fields!

Report American Sweepstakes


Upload here Increase visibility and credibility of your review by adding a photo

American Sweepstakes Contacts

If you know any contact information for American Sweepstakes, help other victims by adding it!

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | New